We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Place to Lay Your Head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn at Killington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hillside Inn at Killington to your Saves list
Hillside Inn at Killington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   375 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Gardner, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just a Place to Lay Your Head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very cheap and large room. Modern and clean. We were very active all weekend so truly just left the room each morning and returned well into the evening. So we were at the Inn just to sleep. However, the continental breakfast, thougH free, left a lot to be desired which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Facing the parking lot was noisy especially when a few motorcycles arrived. Face the mountain for q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    34
    5
    26
See reviews for
25
35
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our motorcycle trip. Very cheap $65 per night, and it was very comfortable, and had a free continental breakfast. Just toast and coffee, this was all I needed. There are no frills here for the price, just a place to sleep for the night. We had to drive about a mile up the mountain to get some eats and beers. All in all very good for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night at Hillside Inn for a 5K race we were participating in the next morning. I chose this hotel for the price as it is very inexpensive. The rooms were spacious with kitchenettes and very clean. I was actually really surprised. The room itself is worth more money!
Here were the PROBLEMS: Parking was difficult. They have a small lot and not nearly enough spaces. People had to basically park on top of each other. Very inconvenient.
The front desk woman just seemed angry. I never saw her smile. No please and thank you or enjoy your stay or anything like that. It just leaves a bad taste in your mouth when this is the type of person you see when you check-in and then when you check back out. I hope she isn't the owner. And if she is, someone needs to teach her some customer service skills.
Other than those two issues we were pleased with the price, location, and the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited Killington for a buddies golf trip and we were looking for a cheap place to stay. Hillside Inn worked out well for us. It is just a basic motel. The rooms aren't anything special but all we needed was a bed and we were happy. They provide a continental breakfast for free (bagels, cereal, toast, juice, coffee). It was very quiet there and we didn't have any problems. I would recommend for really cheap rooms and a basic motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was planning to stay for a week. After day two we had to leave. The place really not nice. It was not clean to begin with and housekeeping never serviced our room. When they had not shown up the second day by 11 we decided to find another place. We didn't even have anything else booked we just knew we were not staying there. We went to the front desk and checked out. We had pre-paid through Orbitz, they charged us for an entire extra day even though we were out by 11:30. So in addition to running a pretty lousy motel these people are crooks. But if I had to pay to be let out of that prison it was worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeper
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were late coming in and exhausted. We were traveling with our dog and needed a pet friendly hotel. This was available. Very basic motel. Location and grounds are nice. Rooms need some updating...bedspread are horrible and need burned. Housekeeping could use some major improvement. Locks on doors are quirky. There were were shredded pieces of pine cones in the cupboard. I don't know if they had a pack rat or had a guest leave it but housekeeping should have seen it and cleaned it. Beds and linens were clean. It looked like maybe the place had been closed for a while and reopened. ??maybe new owners?? Maybe undergoing some needed renovation? The place was not the worst I stayed in but also not the best. With new bedspread and improved housekeeping it has the potential to be a pretty decent place to stay

Room Tip: Check cleanliness of room prior to checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was by far one of the cheapest hotels in the area for a 2 night stay in March. It's your basic, run-of-the-mill hotel. It's very close to the slopes which was important and for the price, we weren't expecting anything fancy.

Parking was an issue - they have a very limited number of spots so we had to park in a remote lot about a 5-10 minute walk from the room. It wasn't a huge deal, but just one more thing to think about after a day of skiing. Breakfast was your standard continental breakfast fare - cereals, toast, waffles, fruits. We stayed in a standard room with two double beds for 4 people. It was a tight squeeze but we made do. The toilet was in its own room with a door but the shower was only hidden from the rest of the room by a partial wall which I found a bit odd.

All in all, Hillside is a good option for a less expensive hotel close to all of the activity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Inn at Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn at Killington

Address: 375 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside Inn at Killington 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Killington Ski Area, Killington Golf Course, Kent Pond, Coolidge State Park, Vermont State Fairgrounds, Spartan Arena, Dartmouth College, Bromley Mountain Ski Resort and the Norman Rockwell Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hillside Inn at Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Inn At Killington Hotel Killington
Red Roof Inn Killington
Killington Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn at Killington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.