We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want bar food....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charity's Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charity's Tavern
8 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751
802-422-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 41 Restaurants in Killington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you want bar food....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nothing special. We were tired, hungry, and looking for a drink.
The waitress came and went, then disappeared-probably didn't care whether we were there or not. I couldnt tell if the place was clean or not because they sprinkle paper shavings on the floor to absorb water? Looked slippery to me. The burgers are served on an English muffin and they were pretty good and juicy, served with the big steak fries. Overall, food was ok, just nothing to write home about.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great burger on an english muffin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

good burger, good beer, good service. Interior was fun and rustic without contrivance. Go here instead of Casey's Caboose.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best spot for a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a great little bar and food spot. The Spicy burger with Jalepenos and blue cheese was amazing. The staff was friendly and the bartenders were a blast. The drinks were great and the atmosphere was perfect after a long trip up for skiing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Bar With Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great staff, reasonably priced and delicious burgers (try the charitys burger and jerk wings). One of the best spots on the access road for sure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a pretty good meal at Charity's but the service put a bit of a damper on the experience. We got our appetizers quickly (mozzarella sticks and spinach artichoke dip). The artichoke dip was really good and the mozzarella sticks were the usual. It wasn't too long of a wait for our dinners but our problem was the server never came back to check on us after leaving our meals and we waited forever for drink refills. I finally sent my husband to the bar area to look for her and/or order us drinks. The server spotted him and still took a couple of minutes to get to our table. Three of the 4 of us had already finished our meals. My husband ordered a steak special and left still feeling hungry. The food was good but not worth the wait. I sent my family to wait in the car while I again waited for the check. We skipped ordering more drinks and dessert because of the service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charity's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Charity's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charity's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.