We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and that's about it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bear Motel

Happy Bear Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Bear Motel to your Saves list
Happy Bear Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Secaucus, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and that's about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night with a bunch of friends while skiing. The rooms had a strange odor when we first walked into the rooms but later on went away. This place is located across the street from Pickle Barrel and next to a great restaurant (Garlic). The so called "continental breakfast" at this place is a joke. Packaged bagels and toast with 2 choices of cereal. If you are on a budget and need a great location then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
3
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were on a white week right on new year's and decided to focus on location, therefore decided to go to the Happy Bear. It was a great surprise to find out that not only the location was really great (walking distance to many restaurants, bars and nightlife and less than 3 min drive to the mountain) but also the motel was extremly clean,had plenty of hot water, a good breakfast in the morning (muffin, bagels, bread, coffee, juice, cereal etc) and two great people in charge. The couple that is responsible for the reception and management is very pleasant, helpful and kind. They gave us good sugestions for dinner and were always available to help (specially with tips on how to deal with the ice over the car).
Would definitely go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have to say from the reviews I was very worried about what we would find; however, it was a good surprise! The place is a classic old motel with old decor, small bathroom but the room was clean (we checked!!) and the location cannot be beat. It is located directly across from the bars and very close to the mountain. The manager/person who we dealt with was very nice everytime we called and on check in/out. We were two women who just wanted a place to sleep in between skiing and going out at night and for that this place was just fine. If you are planning on spending any real time in the room then this place isn't for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It seems decent enough at first but the hospitality is awful. After a mix up about check up time, the owners moved all of my belongings without permission to their laundry room and threatened to call the cops because I was on the property without permission (I'm 22 and a girl). While I was l was waiting in the lobby, a couple came in saying they had found an unsanitary object in the cot - a dirty diaper. The owner told them they had to pay $25 for the cot since the couple had borrowed it from a friend's room. He never apologized for the diaper and he seemed shocked that he was expected to take any responsibility, instead focusing on the fact that the cot had been moved without his permission. Overall a disgusting experience - it's worth finding something else slightly more expensive to not support this business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After this semester ended, myself and two buddies decided to take a spontaneous trip up to Killington, and when I say spontaneous.. I mean SPONTANEOUS. We weren't prepared what so ever, but we figured we'll figure it out. The three of us squeezed into a BMW coupe (dumb decision) and headed for VT. On the way up we googled motels, and found the Happy Bear. When we got up there, Happy Bear was in the perfect location (right in the center of town, around bars, laundry mats, places to eat etc.) The first night we got about 4 inches, which made the drive up the mountain impossible in the beamer. However, Sam (the owner of the Happy Bear) was there, prepared to help us reach the mountain and shred that day. Don't let the name, of the fact that its a motel stop you, the Happy Bear is the place to be.
HEY SAM! NEW JERSEY CONNECTION!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

had a wonderful experience staying at the perfect location,besides it was a perfect feel being at the country-side and that homely feeling,people who are tremendously fond of the ancient inner surroundings of the country side then,the happy bear motel made that cent percent fulfilled,i was well acquainted that the place runs on the seasonal basis for the guests coming in,as the summer's off for the Killington. I was immensely impressed by the cleanliness in the rooms and the value for money was completely fair against the services that were yielded. Had a memorable time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Okay here is my story.... Just came back from Killington Classic Bike Rally where we booked a room at the Happy Bear Motel from the adverstisement on Killington Classic web page. They offered reasonable rates, close to everything, Free Wi-Fi, Continental Breakfast, A/C and a phone in the room. This is what we got... No A/C, the room stunk! No Phone, No Wi-Fi, they gave us the password but all we got was Error Code, no internet connection. No Continental Breakfast - just coffee. So I brought them their advertisement from the Killington Classic Bike Rally Program book and showed them what they advertised. This is what they said. The A/C rooms are on the first level (well we don't know that from reserving online!!, it says nothing about half the place being A/C'd and not the other half) Continental breakfast... only in season! ???? WTF! You advertised it in the program book, you had the whole motel booked, why can't you run to Walmart and buy some muffins and danishes. He says: We don't want to have to throw food away. Really???? Then the owners kept coming upstairs to the second level and just hanging there like they are watching the cars come down the road but we are sitting there outside our room enjoying the nice weather and we are being watched. Such a creepy place! Bathroom sink clogged, wouldn't drain, no hot water. Beds not so comfortable.

So not satisfied with the Happy Bear Motel!

Room Tip: if you want A/C, ask for 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Bear Motel

Address: 1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Bear Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.