We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bear Motel

Happy Bear Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Bear Motel to your Saves list
Happy Bear Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

very nice motel, great value for money,clean rooms, good location

Room Tip: The gentelman who owned it. I spoke with and was very pleasant. Theroom was clean and sold me right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Summit NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The reviews of this place are hilarious, and most of them are spot-on. I’m a 46 year-old business owner, and I’ve been coming to the Bear for about 7 years for an annual ski weekend with a college buddy of mine. The ONLY reason we stay here is for the location – the key bars are within walking distance. If you don’t care about walking to bars and/or have a designated driver in your group, then you have NO reason to stay here, period.

The room itself is basically sanitary, but as others have commented, it is far from updated, and there are many drawbacks. It does smell, the heat takes forever to work, it’s fairly loud, and the beds are so-so. The bathroom is no better – fluctuating water temperature, very old décor that doesn’t exactly look too clean, and this has to be the only hotel in the country that doesn’t provide shampoo and related products.

One reviewer commented on the Continental Breakfast, saying he had seen a “better spread at a homeless shelter”.. Clearly this was not a “spread”.. In prior years there was cold cereal. Now there is just coffee in the office, and a card table (for 2 people), where the owner stares at you while you drink your coffee.

Bottom line – if the proximity to the bars and the mountain are your priority, then stay here. Expect the worst, and at least you were warned, and won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a "good room" then stay somewhere else. If you want a good location for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just visit Happy Bear Motel during Columbus Day weekend. I must say the new owner is keeping the place in real good condition as it looked freshly painted inside out. As always had a great experience with our stay. The location and the price of this hotel has always been the selling points for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This no frills motel is a good place to stay on a budget. Keep in mind it is an older hotel and it does show. We needed a place to stay when we cancelled our room with Best Western and the Happy Bear Motel was great about last minute reservations. The area is quaint and comfortable with a number of restaurants to choose from. The bed was very hard and was difficult for my back, but did not bother my husband and he slept well. Would recommend this motel if you are not fussy about needing the most up to date conveniences.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I`m an avid skier and spend much time at Killington. I`ve stayed at many of the hotels there. I choose the Happy Bear as my regular place. Comfortable and close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The only good thing about the happy bear motel is the location. the rooms are small and outdated, the breakfast is just cereal milk fruit and juice, and the front desk guy is not very friendly. he yelled at me when I opened the fridge to get milk for the cereal, and when asked if the heat was turned off at night (because I set it on max and the room was cold in the morning) he said "how do you know?". the walls and ceilings are really thin and there is no way to sleep when you hear every word the neighbors say and hear them walking around above you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

What used to be a nice kept place by the previous owners is now a hole in the wall. Now indian owned. they said continental breakfast.. I have seen a better spread at a homeless shelter. no really it was awful they could just as well say bad coffe and stale cereal. we had a room that was like a $10.00 a night stab and stay. the bed hurt my back so bad I couldnt sleep. kids were partying untill 3:00am when we had to be up by 7:00 to get out on the mountain eairly. NO HOT WATER!!!! NONE!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#1 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#5 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
4.3 mi away
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Bear Motel

Address: 1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Happy Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Bear Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.