We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier Inn

Save Saved
You added Greenbrier Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenbrier Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   2057 Rte. 4, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Killington B&B and Inns
Pownal, Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great place to stay. Clean rooms and very friendly and accommodating staff. The Inn appeared to be family run and they were very friendly and ready to help in any way they could. Also, a wonderful and huge Vermont style gift shop on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

From the arrival to departure the staff provided wonderful service. Tom had our room door open, which made getting luggage for three women into the room much easier. He made a excellent suggestion for a place to eat that evening. The Inn was quiet when we check in, so we brought our wine glasses to the breakfast area where there were a couple of sofas and we enjoyed a casual rest after a day on the road. Otto provided us with a tray of coffee the following morning to take back to our room, what service. The breakfast was very good with personal service from Otto. Her made you feel so comfortable, no rushing. I was afraid we would miss visiting the gift shop, but Steve told me they were opening it a bit early so we could get in. What a great shop. As we were checking out Otto made a suggestion to backtrack a few miles in order to visit the town of Woodstock. We were delight to see that beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in several places in Vermont over the years and we have never been disappointed . i do have to say that our stay at Greenbrier Inn was the most wonderful place ever. Steve greeted us at the door and even offered help if we needed it with our luggage. Personally escorted to our room , and made to feel like a guest in their home. Beautifully decorated inside and out. The grounds are wonderful and maintained so well , the gift shop is first class and has something for everyone ! Such a memorable visit to a beautiful place made extra special by the accomodating and cordial host. The breakfast area is so cozy and it is so nice have coffee and juice in real dishes and served to you ! I highly recommend the Greenbrier Inn as a must stay when in Killlington Vt.You won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A big tip of the hat to Otto, Tom and Steve (and Dana) for a wonderful stay in a clean well run place. It's a fairly large 20 room inn that does a great job of making you feel welcome. We stayed 3 days and loved being there. Good breakfasts served up by the hosts and you really do feel your staying in someones house. The housekeeper does a great job and handled some special requests with a smile. Rooms were very clean but don't have AC as most places up here don't. We did need the heat last week as it was in the 40's. Killington is about being outside and nature but this place makes for me the best camp site on the AT. Great gift shop on site. Good places to eat and hike, bike or fish the area. I can't wait to get back up with my Harley to cruise around the back roads there. Don't miss Thundering Falls or the Quechee Gorge down the road. Otto or Steve can fill you in on what to do. I would feel guilty not writing how good of a stay we had. Good comfy beds with comforters and thick towels. Even the coffee rocked and they have half and half. You won't regret you stay there. There is no Fitness Center put on your boots and hike.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just returned from two lovely nights in Killington, Vermont. We stayed at the Greenbriar Inn and had a spacious, clean and comfortable room. Even though the hotel was located right on Route 4, it was very quiet. The grounds were lovely and so was the Gift Shop attached to the Inn. Otto was a very friendly and "couldn't do enough for us" gentleman. The location was great and close to everything we wanted. We highly recommend it and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A very pleasant inn on the main highway leading into the Killington resort area. We were treated very well by partners Tom and Otto who provided help for restaurants and tour sites. Our stay was scheduled around Green Mountain National which is less than 10 min. up the road from the inn. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable although the beds were a little on the soft side. The hotel has a beautiful garden and outdoor pool. The gift shop is attached to the inn and is worth a visit.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so ask for ground floor if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Make your reservations early because the Greenbrier Inn fills up quickly in the Ski Season. There are also many weddings in the Killington region so they are busy all year round. This inn is a family owed business and they are there to greet you in the morning, pour you some coffee, and talk to you while you enjoy a nice light breakfast. Steve and Otto are both extremely personable and pleasant. They will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is wonderful. It is a very nice touch that each room as a small fridge with some water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Inn

Address: 2057 Rte. 4, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenbrier Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel with Vermont country inn charm. Conveniently located just off the Killington Road. Attractively decorated with beautiful mountain and valley views. Our second generation family-run Inn affords a true commitment to customer service. Common area lounge with fireplace, free Wi-Fi, television and games. Continental breakfast served each morning in the lounge. Non-smoking property with 21 spacious guest rooms all with private bath, refrigerator, hairdryer, cable television, telephone and patio or balcony. On site 7,000 square-foot gift shop full of unique gifts and home decor. The gift shop is a year round destination for travelers throughout the world. Guests enjoy complimentary use of snowshoes to explore on premises nature trails that follow our brook. In the spring, summer and fall try your hand at fly-fishing with beautiful gardens and sitting area. Enjoy the warmth, casual elegance and friendly service of the Greenbrier Inn. Amenities: Lounge with Fireplace & Wi-Fi, Continental Breakfast, In-room refrigerator, balcony or patio attached to rooms, Non-Smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Greenbrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbrier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.