We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added The Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Old Mill Road, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately althought the Inn is in a great place, and the staff is very friendly, the place itself needs some major updating. Also we were there in August and could've used some air conditioning, but there is none. The rooms were clean, but just needs some major work. The bar in the shower, which is supposed to be there if you need to use it, was pulling away from the shower wall. I would definitely stay again if they did some repairs to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    19
    19
    14
See reviews for
24
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Mountain Inn is located at the base of the Killington but this place has seen better days. While the staff was pretty friendly, the place is stuck in the 1970's in terms of decor and character. The room was clean but the beds were terrible. The beds were double beds and the mattresses were industrial grade and hard as a rock. I needed to get a roll away bed for one of my daughters and it was horrible. Also, the walls in the place are paper thin and you can hear every conversation of someone walking down the hall. They offer breakfast in the morning but we ended up leaving and had to go to a place on the access road. It was obvious that the coffee and juices were watered down. Some of the fruit that was offered had mold on it. Other than the location, the only thing nice about this place was heated outdoor pool. If you want to stay within walking distance to the slopes, stay in one of the other places that are there. They may cost a few more bucks, but it will be well worth it compared to this place. At this point, the owners of the Mountain Inn need to invest some money to update this place, or knock it down and build a new hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location and despite the rooms being old they were clean.The staff on reception were very unhelpful, I asked for a little milk one night and the answer was "no", one word, no explanation! At another point in the holiday one of the children had been ill in the night, when I asked for a little washing powder (there was none left in the laundry as it was the end if the season!) I was told to walk over to the next hotel to get some (I was on crutches at the time!!!). NOT GOOD!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

But they try hard with minimal staff. Its location location location which makes this a great value for an average hotel. Views of Killington are fabulous, but make sure you ask for room with the view. Beware of parking lot as that needs better snow/ice removal care. Access to Killington Road makes venturing out to restaurants and shopping a bonus, and let's not forget shuttle to Snowshed lifts is soooo convenient. Our motto was "its all about us and the skiing" so all else pales. Have fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am shocked that anyone would say that this hotel was "charming"! I had reserved a room for 3 nights for a long weekend of snowboarding with my teenage niece and nephew and couldn't even spend one night there!! They gave us a room that was essentially connected to the bar so it was although our lumpy beds were on the stage of a bad concert. Every door in the place was slamming all night and the 1/4" thick sheet rock would rattle relentlessly, which gave the feeling of grand central station..... ......just less attractive. The toilet lid was GLUED on!!! The only nice part of the hotel, aside from proximity to the mountain itself, was the pool which was barely hot and they roll a cover over your head at 7pm on the nose throwing you out to walk over a slippery path of craggy ice to the dirty lounge. Please do NOT stay here and give this place a dime of your hard earned money because it is the biggest dump I have ever stayed in my life! I travel for work as a travel journalist and have stayed in the worst little hotels in third world countries and they have been more inviting than this dumpy place!!!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and spend the same amount of money and go a little further up the road and stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

GREAT RUSTIC INN... nice to find a place that has some character in Killington, and its a great set up all around, like the old resorts of yesteryear, you have everything you need on site. We had a balcony room which was great waking up to a view of the resort/mountain, major plus, makes you feel like youre on vacation. The room was modest, clean, and had a gas fireplace which was a nice feature.

I would like the Sante Fe / Mountain vibe to be carried over a little more from the bar/lounge into the room decor, but thats just a thought. I loved that the hotel had such a great restaurant/bar downstairs, very old school mountain lodge woodsy vibe. On monday nite, it had a very good crowd for the blues/jazz band.

Would hate to see this place get madeover in any generic way. Loved the character of the place. and Very reasonable rates.

The hotel staff was very very professional and friendly.

ps: and to the twits who say... "the sink isnt even in the bathroom"... well, duh, thats like, duh, a very common feature in small hotel rooms which makes 'getting ready' alot easier and a lot less awkward.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony are great view of the mountain/slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is a little older but very charming. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe King room with a wonderful fireplace. The room was spotless, the view fabulous and the location very convenient. The continental breakfast was perfect to get us going in the morning but allowed us to get out quickly to the slopes. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again if we come to this area.

Room Tip: Third floor even # rooms have fabulous view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Inn

Address: 47 Old Mill Road, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Hotel Killington
Mountain Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.