We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mountain Inn to your Saves list
The Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Old Mill Road, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a great time at The Mountain Inn. Grant you the room was very small, but it was in the perfect location close to the mountain. It could use some updating, but all in all the room was clean and the staff was very nice. The breakfast wasn't great, but it was a quick grab before heading to the slopes. I would recommend staying here for a short trip to Killington at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    22
    22
    16
See reviews for
29
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Mountain Inn is an older Inn. The rooms are small with few amenities. The common areas are not inviting. They are often closed (locked) and inaccessible except in the evening. However if you want see the Killington slopes when you wake up in the morning and be able to fall out of bed onto the ski lift then consider The Mountain Inn at Killington. The rooms are noisy and the bedding dated but they are warm (many are equipped with gas fireplaces). They do offer a free breakfast and if you are only their to hit the slopes this is the place. Best for young adults no children. The service was responsive and helpful.
The Inn could use a complete makeover!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkane2000
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was a bit nervous about staying here since it was a bit cheaper than the other hotels and it rated a 3/5 stars at the time we booked. Anyway, I wanted a low price place to stay for an impromptu ski trip and it did the trick.

A few highlights:
- room super clean (this was my main concern)
- gas fireplace in room (wasn't expecting this)
- heated pool is nice (didn't try the sauna)
- the bar is fun...caught a good blues band
- staff is nice and accomodating (we added a 2nd night and they made sure we got the same room)

In general, the place has a nice vibe and is close to the mountain. To be fair, I read a review that complained that the walls are paper thing. I have to agree with this, but it didn't really bother me.

Usually, if I do a weekend in VT I'll rent a house with friends, but if I ever want to come up short notice I'll probably stay here.

Room Tip: Ask if it has a fire place...they might all have one, but not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staff was nice but hotel was run down. Wouldn't eat breakfast there. Good location. No elevator .... had to carry bags up three flights of stairs. Good band at bar but could hear the music from our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location of this inn couldn't be better! Close to skiing, restaurants, shopping, etc. & there are shuttles to/from also. Could the hotel use some updating? Sure, but we've also stayed at some 4+ star resorts & hotels that were in need of updating.

The front desk personnel were all very friendly, helpful & informative. We arrived VERY early and were allowed early check in with no pronlems! we actually enjoyed the decor - it felt like a ski lodge should feel! Our room was basic but served our needs! With so much to do in this area, hopefully you will only be crashing in your room just in time to fall into bed & sleep! Beds were pretty comfy & we had a great view of the mountain. Breakfast buffet could easily be better ... Fruit and eggs would be a welcome addition for our group! Access to upper floors could be difficult for some (stairs only - no elevator) but we managed with no problems. It was sub-zero our visit so the outdoor heated pool was closed, which was a disappointment to the two teenagers with us but they got over it pretty quickly in the sauna :). Will we stay here again - ABSOLUTLEY! Already trying to figure out when we can come back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What can I say about the Mountain Inn...
First off, the staff were super friendly and accommodating. They were always willing to help out wherever possible. The rooms were OK. They were clean and relatively well maintained, but outdated. We still had a CRT television in our room! The one thing many people rave about on this site was the location - and although it is the closest hotel to the lodge other than the "Grand" - I wouldn't call it walking distance if you consider you would have to wear/carry your gear for the 1/2 mile or so trek to get to the lodge. We drove over every morning and could easily find a spot (during new years). In the evening you had to drive to get to any of the shops and restaurants - but that is the way the town is set up. The free breakfast was adequate, though the waffles were quite good. They could add a little more to the hot items - some bacon or sausages would be good - and their choice of baked goods was very basic. Do not expect anything satisfying. We found the bakery and the grocery store in town on the second day and stocked up on some stuff for the rest of the trip. The biggest disappointment was the pool hours - closed at 7PM like everyone says. Even if it were open, the deck area was not maintained at all. The bar was great in the evenings.
If I can recommend one thing - bring a humidifier. The rooms are not airtight, and the heat is electric and gas fireplaces. My wife and I were up 3 or 4 times the first night guzzling back water because we were so dry. The rest of the week, we each took long showers before bed with the bathroom door open, and that made it more bearable.
Overall - given the price - the Mountain Inn is a good value.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights beginning of January and had a great stay! The room was pretty large and had a fireplace. The staff at the hotel is very nice and helpful. The shuttle to the lifts is right out the back door of the lodge and takes 2 mins to get there! The lounge and bar are great and very cozy and live music awesome! I want to book another trip. Very recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Inn

Address: 47 Old Mill Road, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Hotel Killington
Mountain Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.