We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has seen better days!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Mountain Inn to your Saves list
The Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Old Mill Road, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This has seen better days!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at Killington right next to the Mountain at the Mountain Inn last week. Great location but - oh boy - this place is tired!! My boyfriend said it was built in the 80s and never been updated. It was very clean and the 2 people managing were nice, they even had breakfast but that wasn't very good. It may not be Poor but it's Below Average and not worth the cost of the room. No snow but the parking lot was thick with ice and dangerous!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    21
    21
    14
See reviews for
26
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had spent time reading reviews & looking at pictures before booking this inn. When we arrived, the halls had a disgusting smell....our room was even worse! We spoke with the front desk staff & they offered us an air freshener to cover the putrid smell. This was unacceptable. They moved us down the hall to an "upgraded" room. Only difference was a bigger tv. You can hear coversations in the rooms next to you, in the hall, and banging through the ceiling. The door does not seal, so you have an inch gap on the top and bottom, letting in light & sound at night.
The Continental breakfast was something they should be ASHAMED of. STALE cereal, STALE sliced bread, STALE everything! The fruit was a bowl of 5 soggy & wrinkled apples.
The vending machine did not accept bill, nor did it accept coins. ?????? Luckily we were there to ski....we tried to stay away from the hotel as many hours each day as we could. They cut corners & costs everywhere at this place.
I seldom actually take the time to write reviews, but this inn put a damper on the trip. My stomach is still turning thinking about the moudly smell. Stay elsewhere!
This should be rated a ONE star. I do not know how they get away with charging so much per night. I was expecting more based on the price alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The positive things I can say about this place - friendly staff, rooms are clean, location is great, kids enjoyed the outdoor heated pool, nice to have a fridge in the room.

The walls/floors are ridiculously thin - any time the people upstairs were walking around, it sounded like a herd of elephants in our room. Any conversation in the hallway also sounded like it was in our room. The worst was the lousy music (and loud patrons) from the bar - you guessed it, sounded like it was in our room. Between the bar and obnoxious guests keeping us up until after midnight and the folks upstairs tap-dancing at 6am, we were hardly rested. We didn't request another room because it was the middle of the night before we realized how awful it was.

The only available outlet in the room was at the vanity - makes it tough to plug in cellphone chargers, boot heater chargers, etc.

The breakfast was underwhelming. Tang instead of orange juice, lousy coffee with only nondairy creamer available, sad-looking fruit and pastries. The in-room coffee service came with only one condiment packet.

I might try going back, bringing my own food and requesting a room as far as possible from the bar. And bringing a power strip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We purchased a mid-week ski and stay package through Killington Ski Resort and found The Mountain Inn to be very good. We drove up on Monday and skiied prior to checking in arriving at the Inn around 4 pm. At check-in we were upgraded to a balcony (deck) room facing the mountain with a gas fireplace (nice surprise). The room was larger than most Vermont ski resort rooms that we've stayed in and had a small refrigerator, table with 2 chairs and a king bed. As mentioned in previous reviews, the bathroom sink is outside the bathroom in its own little corner but not an issue. The room was clean and housekeeping was attentive. They had a room to lock skis and snowboards and provided the locks. The restaurant and pub were open nightly with Live music on different nights even Monday and on Thursday the week that we were there. We only ate from the bar menu, the sliders were very good. They have a small outdoor pool that was warmer than some hot tubs that we've been in. The downside is you have to walk past the pool table/bar area to get to the pool which again isn't a big issue. A hot tub would be a welcome addition. The breakfast was basic with cereals, muffins, belgian waffles, etc..Overall we had a great stay and will return next year. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is 1/4 mile from Snowshed Lodge and there is a free shuttle that will pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor facing the mountain are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

Yes the rooms are dated, but are clean and functional. The breakfast was better than I expected. Location is definitely the best feature of the mtn inn. Can easily walk to snow shed with snowboard boots, bout 5 minutes, would not suggest walking with ski boots. Outdoor pool was nice. The one big complaint I have is the lack of pressure and water flow from the shower. Lastly, the front desk workers were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Drove from Boston and arrived about noon but we were allowed to check in early, no problem at all. Stayed here for three nights in winter and EVERY SINGLE TIME we saw staff from the hotel, they smiled and greeted us. They were very helpful, our room was spacious with an auto fireplace, and breakfast every morning was brilliant (waffles, cereal, omelette, sausages, juice, toast etc etc). We chose to walk across the carpark to the base village (5mins), but there was a free shuttle bus if we wanted it. It is a little dated in appearance, BUT it is very clean, very neat and couldn't be any closer to the mountain. We booked through hotels.com and it was everything we needed for a great snowboarding holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Let's start by saying that Killington is a huge College town, with NO decent lodging or food. Don't expect luxury anywhere in Killington!!!!!!

This is my 5th or 6th stay @ this specific hotel. My first one was back in 2002. NOTHING CHANGED. I don't believe in the 9 years since they put a penny in renovation into this place. They still have the same old Cathodic Tube TV sets! the place is aging badly. It is one of the best located hotels in Killington, since it's just there next to the Snowshed base, BUT it's a VERY long walk, so you DO need to take shuttle or drive!

The rooms are so-so. If you have a room on the upper floor with view over the mountain, well good for you. Rooms are of decent size and have small fridge. But if you have a room on the lower level don't expect much. The room we got this year 104, was cold and the sink is in the room and not in the bathroom, so real inconvenience. The BR fan is loud, you'd say a truck going by!

There is a decent Sauna and an outside "lukewarm" pool. You have to freeze for 10 yards to walk there! There is a room in the basement with all kind of Video games but NONE is working. They all date back to 1990!!!! Pac Man and Space Invader. There is pool table above next to the bar.

On Saturday night they had a nice band playing some decent music and the crowd was nice.
We had dinner at the "ok" grill in house.

They offer breakfast in the morning. Your typical motel American Bkfast with waffle etc....

The bottom line, the hotel is fine for a sporty stay!!!! But I think it might be a little expensive for what it offers or for this price they need to upgrade it for few million dollars!

Room Tip: Upper floor if you can with Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Inn

Address: 47 Old Mill Road, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Hotel Killington
Mountain Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.