We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean, Affordable but flawed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Bonnet Inn

Save Saved
You added Grey Bonnet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grey Bonnet Inn
831 Rte. 100, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Killington B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean, Affordable but flawed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Grey Bonnet. It was clean, charming and convenient to the ski slopes. Our room was spacious and it has nice common areas for relaxing, plus games like pool and table tennis, as well as a (greenish) pool and hot tub.

There were a number of issues, though. Starting with our arrival, we had planned on just getting dinner at the hotel restaurant after a long day driving, but upon checking in we were informed that the restaurant was closed that evening, with no explanation. The owner is kind of strange and not very friendly but overall was relatively accommodating. However, one morning we ordered for breakfast the "pancakes with real Vermont maple syrup" and were served fake Aunt Jemima artificially-flavored corn syrup instead. Not the end of the world, but pretty annoying when we are in Vermont and they specifically said on the menu that we would get real Vermont syrup. So we mentioned it to the owner in a polite way, and guess what his response was? He said that Aunt Jemima IS real Vermont maple syrup. I am not kidding. If he apologized and gave even a lame excuse about why they had switched it--okay, I can accept that people make mistakes. But to lie to our faces like we are a couple of morons--it would be insulting if it wasn't so bizarre and ridiculous.

Overall, it was fine and a decent value, but I don't know if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    10
    10
    26
See reviews for
33
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at the Grey Bonnet Inn during the Dew Tour. The owner was very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to during our stay. They really go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The room and bathroom, while slightly rustic, were very clean and had a little Juliet balcony which was nice to stand on and look out at the beautiful Vermont surroundings. There is a bar, restaurant, pool, hot tub and weight room on site which is nice to come back to after a day of hitting the slopes. It is just a few minutes (not even 5 minutes drive) from the slopes but tucked away from the bars and restaurants which can get pretty hopping on the weekends, this was the perfect location for us. Do check out the Grey Bonnet next time you are in Killington!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Grey Bonnet is a great value. Other hotels/motels in this price range pale in comparison. We arrived for our second stay at the Gray Bonnet late Friday night. Not wanting to venture back out in the snow, we decided to have a few drinks at the bar. The owner, Paul, offered us some delicious chili and rice even though the kitchen was closed. Great conversation with Paul, another gentleman from RI, and a few others ensued. The common areas are very warm, cozy, and welcoming- everything you'd expect from a quaint VT inn. Our room was clean and had the basics, the beds were comfy, and we enjoyed the hot breakfast...which is all we were looking for. Last time we stayed we had a great time relaxing in the hot tub and swimming in the pool after a long day on the mountain. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This inn may have peaked about 15 years ago, but it is now definitely showing its age and its large amount of country-village-type charm doesn't fully compensate for its weaknesses in other areas (based on my one-night experience in February). First, the good things. It's close to Killington, which is a good location. Lots of warmth in large spacious public areas, comfortable furnishings, places to relax in quiet comfort. My room - two double beds which I shared with my teenage snowboarding grandson - was spacious and clean. The indoor pool was pleasant, as was the soothing hot tub. Now, the less than appealing. Rooms lack simple amenities. Like, there's no telephone. If you want to talk to the dek withou leaving your room, you call them on your cell. The TV is smallish and way outdated, and there's no TV listing in the room; finding a channel is a frustrating in exercise in channel-surfing. There is no hairdryer in the tiny bathroom, no body lotion, and a miserly thin packet of shampoo - enough for only one person. The dining room has a limited menu and based on only two meals, the food is mediocre. The so-called "pub" does not serve draft beer. The staff make an effort to appear friendly, but it doesn't quite work. When my grandson wanted to buy 2 AA batteries for his camera the desk clerk brought out a four-pack for $4. When my grandson indicated he thought that was a bit expensive, the clerk said "Then buy them in a drugstore." When the power went out in our room (no lights, no TV, to outlets), and we mentioned this to (another) room clerk, he shrugged and responded with "Yeah, it's out in about four other rooms, too." The entire place could use some freshening up, especially the bathrooms. The rates are about average for where it is, and what it is.

Room Tip: Room 212 (two double beds) is close to the pool - down one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned.We have stayed elswhere,however the Grey Bonnet is the best. Close to everything,hot breakfast included, great pool, fireplace. Owner Paul does everything to ensure a pleasant visit.In the summer also the Grey Bonnet rules, Rich & Helena Petersen
Dedham Ma.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The price is reasonable for the area. However, the inn is not stellar. The rooms are somewhat dated. There is no phone in the room, and all the channel listings were incorrect. It was good to have free breakfast, but if you have eaten at other Vermont inns, this paled in comparison.
The kids did love the indoor pool. There were also ping pong, pool, and Foosball tables, but it would have been nice if these were included in the price of accommodations, and did not require additional payment.

PROS: the price, proximity to Pico/Killington, the indoor pool and sauna (although the pool was quite cold in February), free breakfast

CONS: older rooms, no elevator, plumbing (the low flow toilet clogged, but at least the management was prompt in responding), limited breakfast choices, no room phones

BOTTOM LINE: If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive, clean place to stay and will spend most of your day skiing, this is a good choice. For families with children, the free breakfast is always a plus. I don't think I would stay here for a romantic getaway, or enjoy spending much time indoors.

Room Tip: No elevators, so keep that in mind if you are lugging around large pieces of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just stayed at the Grey Bonnet Inn

Great job all, had a lot of fun with you and your guests! Roger, mike and aaron.R

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grey Bonnet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bonnet Inn

Address: 831 Rte. 100, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grey Bonnet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Bonnet Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Bonnet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.