We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, big food, not too tasty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wally's American Grill

Wally's American Grill
Mountain Rd, Killington, VT
802 422 3177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 42 Restaurants in Killington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Poor service, big food, not too tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stopped in here after missing breakfast with a group, this place was first stop down the mountain from Killington Grand. Took forever, food bland and boring.. Price not too bad, cool interior seems like it's seen better days based on the interior. Really cool inside

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst experience we ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

No one greeted us at the door the wait was about a half hour which was no big deal. We order our breakfast and fresh squeezed oj. 20 mins to get oj and an hour for our breakfast. When we finally got our breakfast which was scramble eggs with cheddar cheese on a croissant. My home fries were cold and i took a bite of my eggs and they were really loose as i took my second bite it dawned on me that my eggs were raw cause they went thru my fork, i cut into the eggs in the middle to make sure it wasnt the cheese and raw egg came running out. We called the waitress over and she said it was the cheese, i told her it was raw and she cut into it and argued with me. What happened to customer is always right? I told her i didnt want it and she had an attitude. My boyfriends breakfast wasnt great either. They took off my meal and the bill was 25.00! WOW! The waitress came over and offered me a comment card but i refused. The girls that were next to us waited about 15-20 mins for water and they had to ask for it. Then when they got their meals an hour later they were missing gravey and when they asked the girl and she got very confrontational and said they were very busy. They were not busy and the entire hour i witnessed complete lack of originization. I realize everyone has a bad day but it was more than one person who was rude and unprofessional

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were looking for a spot for lunch on the Killington bus route/access road, and honestly Wally's was the only place in the general area that was open. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but we were warmly welcomed and seated immediately. They offer a full breakfast menu (Texas French toast, waffles with strawberries and all types of eggs and sides) and a variety of apps (fries,onion rings, pouting among others) lunch options (soup, salads, sandwiches, wraps, kids menu.) I had vege wrap - great portion, tasty wrap. My daughter had an open faced turkey sandwich with stuffing and gravy and fries- super generous portion and delish! They offer a limited bar menu, and some draught beers too. Prices were reasonable, portions generous and people very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stopped in for a "brunch" type meal because it was around 11:00 AM and we did not have breakfast yet. We were not up here to ski, just to check out the area.

I am on a low carb diet and they were very accomodating to my requests for substituitions on the menu. I had the fritatta with mushrooms, spinach, onions and tomatoes. The only thing was there was a lot of maozzarella melted on top (boy if I could eat it I would have inhaled it), but I just moved it aside. The fritatta was delicious. The fruit cup that came with it was fresh cut fruit and not some canned stuff. If you dont want all that cheese, just ask and I am sure that they will modify it for you.

My husband had his usual of two eggs over easy with bacon and it was cooked to order perfect for him. The wheat bread was thick and if this is what they make their french toast with, I bet it is delicisous.

The waitress was very nice and personable. We will definitely return next time we are in the area now that skiing season is upon us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a really good breakfast at 8.00 and loved the character of this authentic American diner.
Staff were good and food was great.
We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's American Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wally's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wally's American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.