We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful People, Unique Property - Will Be Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Long Trail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Long Trail to your Saves list
Inn at Long Trail
709 Route 4, PO Box 267, Killington, VT 05751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
545 helpful votes 545 helpful votes
“Wonderful People, Unique Property - Will Be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Bottom Line – We loved it and will be staying here again for the foreseeable future. On to the details…..

So, after many trips to Rutland and hating the tasteless strip-mall scenery of downtown, complimented by the reliable unsurprising blandness of the normal chains available there…we ventured out to this place; boy are we glad we did!

We paid $89 a night for our 3-night stay in a Country Bedroom with Queen + Daybed, including included breakfast, which was easily worth $20 per day. Reservation process was easy, with a personal confirmation received quickly. When you see the exterior, you may have a moment of doubt because it doesn’t look like much, but this is all redeemed once you walk in. Also, just so everyone has their expectations reasonably set – this place is perfectly fine and clean but it is NOT a luxury property.

Good Points

-Top notch staff. Dare I say, the best team we have ever encountered in a hotel stay. Every single person – Oakie, Owen, the breakfast crew….they had such great stories to tell and made you feel authentically at home. They are always there to help but laid back and not in the way.
-Great location up in Killington, right across from PICO, a few minutes from Killington Ski area.
-Perfectly rustic and adorable inside, almost what I imagined going to a Vermont lodge must have been like back in White Christmas and the old days. Lovely wood interior with fireplace, games, hot tub, etc.
-Incredibly delicious made-to-order breakfast. Really, we went to bed every night looking forward to it.
-No TV or phones in the rooms….so it was REAL QUIET in evenings.
-Everything was clean.
-Hot showers every morning (to me, one of the most important things).
-Authentic Irish Pub in your hotel – yup, nothing like getting an authentic (not ice-cold!) poured Guinness in the evening, and they have a delicious Irish Pub menu. The weekend entertainment was more “modern” Irish Pub music than we expected, but everyone seemed to enjoy it.
-Free WIFI (although signal not very good in bedrooms)

Be Aware Of

-Thinner towels & sheets, no down comforter.
-Pump shampoo/ shower gel , toilet paper, Kleenex, are only bathroom amenities. No hair dryer, no q-tips, no-hand lotion, etc….again not luxury, but absolutely fine with a little preparation.
-No bathtub, if that matters to you.
-I thought it was positive as it kept others quiet and forced me to relax, but No TV or Phone in your room (shared TV available in the bar or game room).
-No individual room climate control (unless you count the window). There were moments of chilliness, followed by moments of heat when the steam kicked in (every few hours).
-No bathroom vent (so it can get foggy, and the room a little musty if you don’t ventilate).
-Mandatory 5% gratuity charge. Staff was great, and I tipped appropriately at the bar, at breakfast, in my room….so I am not sure what the 5% was for, as they don’t explain it, and the service was so good I didn’t want to risk shorting someone. My only guess is this is because some backpackers don’t tip well? Not sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

As hikers we have stayed at the Inn 5 times and is the only place we stay when in the area. Oke, Owen and the rest of staff are wonderful, they are genuine in wanting to make sure you are comfortable and well fed. Everything you need is here. The rooms are clean but not fancy. The Pub is lots of fun and restaurant puts out amazing meals. A local magazine recently voted them best restaurant in the area. At the Inn you can kick back and relax. If you are looking for the Ritz this is not the place for you. "Jazman" & Kathy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've stayed here after 10 days on the long trail, and we've stayed here as a base of operations for day tripping in the area. The lodge is beautiful and authentic. The pub is a fun and friendly place to socialize and enjoy excellent pints of guinness after a long day. The breakfasts are AMAZING, and the staff is friendly. We have especially enjoyed our conversations with Okie, who often runs the front desk. You cannot go wrong staying here at any time of the year, and we make it a point to visit here at least once a year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Laid-back place that is ideal for active hikers and skiers. The rooms are okay but the food is excellent and the pub is a real, like really real, Irish pub. Fun place, good people.

Located on the Sheridan Pass trail, very close to the Long Trail and AT. They will typically provide shuttles into Rutland, sometimes elsewhere for a fee.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We decided to getaway for a couple days. Even though we went to VT to tour Ben and Jerry's factory in Waterbury there was something about the inn that made me want to stay. I was so glad I did. I never missed not having a tv in my the room. If we wanted to do something, we went down to the game room. We spent quality time together just playing games. The pub is a great place to eat. The food was so great and its was a cozy place to just sit and focus on each other. I that in the morning our breakfast was made to order. I know when I bring my boys 13 & 15 next time they will have plenty to do just at the Inn. They have a piano, violin, mandolin and guitar for thier guest to use. My kids will love that.

This place is just what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went with our whole family and two dogs to rock climb at Dear Leap during peak foliage season. While we chose to camp rather than to stay at the Inn, we ate two meals there, hung out in their game room & had lovely conversations with various staff. This place is wonderful, it caters to skiers, hikers, climbers, and couch potatoes. It's old fashioned and comfortable, with fireplaces, musical instruments, games, and reading material at the ready. It's family friendly but not chaotic, and (within certain guidelines) welcomes dogs. There are too many great things to say about this place in this review - but the last thing I'll mention is their star attraction - the Irish pub, complete with authentic Guinness on tap (room temperature) and music on the weekends. If you want a warm, down-home, simple yet lovely place to stay - you can't go wrong with this Inn!

Room Tip: Walking distance to the Long Trail & to Deer Leap climbing area. A short drive to Killington...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn several time. You have to fall in love with it. If you want fancy stay away. If you want to stay in a place that offer a friendly and welcoming staff, good food, good music and a cozy rustic atmosphere - STAY HERE. We just spent the weekend and had a great time. Extra credit to the staff who make the place!!!! It's a nice break from the norm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Long Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Long Trail

Address: 709 Route 4, PO Box 267, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charm and hospitality of Killington's most historic inn and ski lodge, serving skiers, hikers, golfers and people who love the mountains since 1938! Offering country bedrooms, whirlpool rooms and Fireplace suites. Our McGrath's Irish Pub offers Guinness and Long Trail Ale on tap and pub fare daily, with live Irish Music weekends. Serving candle lit dining, fall and winter in our main dining room. Hot Tub. Wireless. Children welcome. A unique experience. 1/3 mile from Killington's Pico entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Long Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Long Trail Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Long Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.