We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cool place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Long Trail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Long Trail to your Saves list
Inn at Long Trail
709 Route 4, PO Box 267, Killington, VT 05751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Killington B&B and Inns
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a cool place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Such a delightful suprise! Our stay was fantastic. Rustic, yet perfect and fantastic food. What a treat. The staff were super friendly, helpful and very attentive. The restaurant alone is a fantastic visit. Everything has such a great, homey feel. We will go back. Many times.
We stayed one night in December 2012 in a fireplace suite with our dogs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    37
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Some good friends of mine planned a weekend away from our brides/significant others and children for a weekend of fun on the slopes, pubbing and of course getting away from work and it was outstanding. We were fortunate to have a lot of snow to ski on and the conditions over President's weekend were great. What was awesome about the Inn was the hospitality and the dinner and breakfast were outstanding. To have a Pub downstairs from where you crash for the night takes the worries out about driving and the atmosphere there will guarantee to put a smile on your face. I tried everything on the menu, the salmon, the Guinness stew, the chicken - all were excellent and the Irish soda bread is unreal. All the food is fresh, well prepared and the portions are not overwhelming. Each night we carried on into the Pub and the laughter continued. Owen was great with his one liners and kept our pints full, while making sure a crowded fan base were keeping their Irish up! Bob was awesome as well and he was inspiring enough for me to sport my own Irish rugby! Okie was always checking on us to make sure we had everything we needed and you can tell the owners Murray and Patty were taking in all the fun and treated us like family. Get to know the staff when you go, I personally feel like these guys are extended members of my family and my pals and I talked about making this destination a "must" for next year. Done deal, no questions asked. For the price you pay - awesome food, great pub and atmosphere, staying warm and a short drive to Killington or Pico, what else do you need? The rooms are rustic and a little small, but we were comfortable, had everything we needed and enjoyed the breakfast each morning to kick off the day. One piece of advice - be careful pulling out to Rte 4, it is a four lane highway at this part of the road, and cars do go flying, so use your judgment. If you are looking for a fun place to stay whether you are up for a guys/gals weekend, traveling with the fam or with your sweetheart, this place is worth it. So much fun, lots of laughter, bellies full, and luckily they had enough brew and spirits to cater to we fools! Cheers!!

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller/country style, but the bed are clean, comfortable and the bathrooms were also clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Absolutely great time at the Inn at Long Trail.

Room: Perfect Size and had all of the amenities that we needed and some that we didn't (but still liked having). Very Cozy, not too hot, not to cold. Nice View. Very comfortable bed. Whirlpool tub (actually large enough to enjoy).

Food: Breakfast and Dinner were included in our stay but we felt like we were stealing something because the meals were wonderful. Of Course we tipped our waiters/waitresses (who were all wonderful) - but still felt like a steal. The view from the dining room is unique - in a good way.

Staff: The Staff were all wonderful and very friendly. Owen Especially. It is a Family Owed Inn and it is apparent. They are honestly concerned about thier guests being happy. Upon our arrival we told them our names and every time thereafter we were addressed by our first names. (Nice Touch). They also kept the bar open for us after we arrived so that we could have a nightcap. Another nice touch.

The Bar: Great drink, great food, great entertainment. If you Order a guiness, they are pros at pouring them. Owen can compete with the best of them. The Inn is also build around large boulders, which are partially inside and partially outside the building -very neat & adds to the Inn's theme.

The Hot tub: Very nice indoor hot tub, which has windows that open if you want that outdoor feeling. Never overcrowded at least during our stay (which was presidents weekend and typically very busy).

Overall Great Place and I am sure we will be back.

Thanks Everyone for making our stay wonderful.

Best,

John & Gina.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

All the staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. The food was excellent for breakfast and dinner. There are lots of fun games to play in the common room so we were never bored. The room could use a bit of a facelift though.
I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Everyone was so nice and accommodating. The food, drinks, staff was amazing. Fireplace room has plenty of room - even for an extra person or two. It is a country place, so don't look for the most up to date furnishings and fixtures. It’s all about the charm! Pub is amazing and the Irish music just adds to the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff here worked very hard to make our four night stay a success and my girlfriend and I had an excellent time at Long Trail over New Year's vacation. We're still talking about the homemade Irish soda bread! The price of the room included dinner which was a great value since the food was delcious, and there was a wide selection. The fire place was gorgeous, warm and cozy and the Irish pub was fun with some really great live music. Plus the Inn's location can't be beat, nestled between Pico and Killington. There are some drawbacks. The shower in our room did not work when someone was taking a shower in the next room over, and the meal service did take a very long time. But I highly recommend this as a hotel for anyone looking to visit the Killington area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Greeted by a welcoming staff and cozy property, there are not enough fabulous things to say about the Inn at Long Trail. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious and the fireplace suite is just perfect. The pub is awesome for fantastic food, great drinks and entertainment. I highly recommend the Guinness Beef Stew! The Inn is located on the main road and is built into the side of the mountain with the Long Trail directly behind the property for hiking. It's a wonderful retreat for families, couples and groups of friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Long Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Long Trail

Address: 709 Route 4, PO Box 267, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charm and hospitality of Killington's most historic inn and ski lodge, serving skiers, hikers, golfers and people who love the mountains since 1938! Offering country bedrooms, whirlpool rooms and Fireplace suites. Our McGrath's Irish Pub offers Guinness and Long Trail Ale on tap and pub fare daily, with live Irish Music weekends. Serving candle lit dining, fall and winter in our main dining room. Hot Tub. Wireless. Children welcome. A unique experience. 1/3 mile from Killington's Pico entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Long Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Long Trail Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Long Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.