We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summit Lodge & Resort to your Saves list
Summit Lodge & Resort
Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Character and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

A hotel with character and charm, the Summit maintains the best traditions of hotel/inn keeping with a professional, friendly and efficient approach designed to ensure that guests enjoy their stay. The owner keeps an attentive eye on everything that is going on although his excellent manager and staff are more than capable of maintaining the high standards expected. Bedrooms are clean, comfortable and finished in a traditional style that matches the rest of the hotel where there are nooks and crannies that will suit any need from quiet in the cosy little library, through relaxing in front of a massive log fire in the sitting room to the bar/pub which often has live music and always has excellent food and a fine selection of beers and other drinks. There is even a games room and a table tennis table that attracts all ages. Breakfast at the Summit must be one of the best at Killington with something for every tasete and really sets you up for whatever you are planning for the day. At the end of a hard day's skiing a soak in the hot tub, the heated, outdoor pool or a visit to the sauna relaxes the muscles to the extent that there is little temptation to leave the hotel although there is a good range of dining to suit all tastes and budgets within easy reach. Overall, the Summit is a bit of a hidden gem that draws people back again and again. Although only on our fourth or fifth visit, we met groups who have been using the Summit for ski parties for over 20 years and families who are now on their third generation and keep coming back. If you need 50 inch flat screen televisions in the bedrooms and rooms that you recognise from Los Angeles or Chicago then this may not be to your taste although you should try it and see what you have been missing. if you want an enjoyable stay in Vermont the Summit is a traditional lodge (with up to date amenities such as freeWiFi) that will more than meet your needs. The two magnificent and friendly Saint Bernards are just the icing on this particular cake.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    60
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
82
60
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toms river, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

First let me say, its a lodge. If you are looking for an upscale hotel with a plush feather bed and turndown service, this is not it. If you are looking for a clean, fun, comfortable, place to stay with a lot of character, this is your place. I am an extremely picky traveler when it comes to accommodations and this place was truly great.The biggest thing to me is cleanliness and this met those needs. The staff is excellent. Very informative about the lodge prior to arrival and very helpful upon arrival. Talk to Pat, she was great. Otto and Louise the 2 St Benards on site add to the ambience. If you are allergic to dogs don't go here. The food at the restaurant was very good also. The lodge is dated so if you are looking for upscale modern, go away. This was a perfect lodge to stay at and we are looking to coming back with our kids. It is our new go to place in Killington. No need to look further. Also bring your bathing suit for the inside hottub and the outside pool (which is heated! Great fun!)

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Went up there last year to hit the slopes. The place is right out of movie. Big fireplace, authentic lodge architecture, they even have a big St. Bernard who lives onsite. (The kids loved that) After a day on the mountain, this place was a comfort to come back to. Breakfast was out of this world too! Its definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I have been going to Killington for the better part of the past 30 years, and have religiously stayed at the Summit Lodge for the past 18. As you enter the foyer, you are welcomed by two of the most beautiful and attentive concierges in all of Killington, Otto and Louise (the two resident Saint Benards). It is clear that the St. Benards follow the lead of their staff, as everyone from the front desk to the GM/Owner, make themselves available, anytime for anything, just as if you were part of one of their families. Spend sometime reading in front of the fire in the beautiful and quiet living room, have a beer in the pub, relax in the huge indoor hot tub, or “cool off” in the adjacent outdoor heated pool, the Summit provides access to all the subtleties you want and expect in a mountain get away. Did I mention the breakfast? It is outstanding. Order the eggs benedict and I promise you will not be disappointed. For as long as my knees hold up, I will continue to frequent Killington, and take advantage of all the Summit Lodge has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

I would highly recommend The Summit Lodge in Killington Vermont. It is a dream everyone has about staying at a quaint little lodge nestled in the mountains of Vermont. With its huge roaring fireplace and the love and affection of Louise & Otto, the resident St. Bernards. The rustic feel of a warm, lodge home and the attentive staff, will make your stay a relaxing, carefree time.

The great meals, the "Saints Pub", the hot tub, sauna, outdoor heated pool all make the lodge a wonderfull place to be. Its so close to Killington mountain it is all there for the taking.

I stayed there in the 60's when I was a boy, and now I bring my own family here to enjoy the mountains and the relaxing atmosphere at th Summit Lodge.

Its a no brainer. Go for it.

John du Fief Rockville, Maryland

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I traveled up to Killington with my family, and 4 other families for februrary break. What an amazing time it was. The two roaming saint bernards were extremely passive and friendly, a main reason why my kids have been begging me to go back. The Summit Lodge is literally 5 minutes away from Killington mountain, one of the best mountains in the North. The service was great, I had a minor problem, like always, and the maintenece came and fixed it up in a matter of 5 minutes. The owner is a great guy, and will do whatever it takes to make you feel at home. I strongly, strongly reccomend this hotel for anybody looking to head up north. It's a great place, and I'm sure you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed for one night Father's Day weekend with my family. The staff were indifferent and hardly spoke. The rooms were like stepping back to the 1970's. Toilet was broken. Hot with no AC. Fluorescent lights were very annoying. I think the TV in the room was the one I took to a yard sale in 1980! I also think the walls are made of paper. And the noise! When we complained to the front desk (at 3:00 AM)that it sounded like someone moving furniture above our heads, we were given a one word response. "Sorry".
Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Address: Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.