We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Save Saved
You added Summit Lodge & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Summit Lodge & Resort
Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Killington
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Summit. From start to finish Billy and his staff were great and made both planning and the wedding day a great experience. On the day of the wedding the staff went above and beyond to make the day enjoyable for everyone. We would definitely recommend the Summit to anyone looking for a great experience at a exceptional venue with friendly and helpful staff. A+

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    52
    11
    10
    12
See reviews for
72
55
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a group conference in the off season. We were the only group in the hotel. The staff could not be more friendly, accommodating, or service oriented. Bill and his staff truly know how to take care of people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was just what we were looking for in our first stay in Vermont, so it was good for us.

If you are picky about beds that are past their prime, bathrooms with very little counter space, very thin walls and intermittent wifi in the room, this isn't the place for you.

If you aren't picky, like a homey feel with a living room for all to share, a library, outdoor heated pool, Saint Bernards that roam the lodge and beautiful views all around, you will love this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

im traveling with a wife and 2 kids one just a baby , my wife dosnt ski so i had to make sure we stayed in a place that was more then just a room. the summit lodge is a great choice , it felt like staying with family. the nicest staff and owner,and great breakfast.the hot tub and pool were nice . game room . bar live music, and large commons room with fireplace and board games ,our room was large ,clean and quiet , i liked it so much were gonna return next year and ski pico , and okemo .

Room Tip: if you need more room stay in room 38 its one of 2 rooms with an extra tv room , and seemed more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Summit Lodge is comfortable, charming, and cozy, as a ski lodge should be. Our family of 5 stayed in one of the large family rooms containing a king-size bed, a bunk bed, and a twin bed. The room wasn't luxurious, but it was spacious, comfortable and warm. The bathroom showed some age but was fine. The common spaces in this lodge are the highlight: You can sit in a cushy armchair by a warm fire and read, have a drink in the pub, or hit the hot tub. The made-to-order breakfast, included in the room rate and served in a charming dining area, was a great way to start a ski day. It's a five-minute drive to the Killington K2 base. There's space to leave your ski gear by the entrance, so you don't have to deal with it in your room. And of course, there are the dogs. BEST DOGS EVER. Oh, and the staff is really nice, too. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hospitality in traditional surroundings. It's marvellous to go to a lodge/hotel that is not part of a chain and exactly the same as hundreds of others all round the world. This hotel takes you back to the days of individuality with wood panelling, large open log fires, cosy places to sit and bedrooms that are not simply identical boxes off long corridors. Bill Bauer, the owner and host, makes everybody most welcome and the atmosphere is more of a large, extended family house than a hotel. This is not to say that the hotel lacks amenities. In winter there is the heated outdoor pool and the large, indoor hot tub and sauna while there is a larger pool and sports courts for when the snow has departed. Inside, there is also a large games room. Summer or winter there is a marvellous bar with a variety of interesting beers (including local ones) that serves excellent food at realistic prices.

Despite having had many family holidays here (although solo on this trip) we cannot match the lenrth of time that other families having been going back to the Summit. Some of them now on to the third generation. I have always found the summit clean, comfortable and providing a good night's sleep. Room rates are competitive for the area. The welcome is always excellent from Bill, his staff and the dogs.

If you want something a bit different with traditional hospitality, give the Summit a try.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am hesitant to write this review because I don't want everyone else to know about it! I only wish we found this hotel when our kids were younger because they would have loved it. We typically rented condos ski in/out with kitchens so that we could come home for lunch or breaks. The trade off of not having that may have been worth it. The lodge is nothing fancy but is full of charm. The large fireplace in the common area became our "family room" for two nights (my husband and I and another couple). We met other guest, most of whom were return visitors. The outdoor pool and indoor hottub were just what we needed after a day of skiing. The Pub is warm and welcoming, with great food! The dogs added to the hominess of this wonderful lodge. Be sure to buy the cookies on your way out. YUM! I hate to go to the same destination more than once but we will definitely return to the Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington
Address: Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Summit Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.