We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surpassed my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summit Lodge & Resort to your Saves list
Summit Lodge & Resort
Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surpassed my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

im traveling with a wife and 2 kids one just a baby , my wife dosnt ski so i had to make sure we stayed in a place that was more then just a room. the summit lodge is a great choice , it felt like staying with family. the nicest staff and owner,and great breakfast.the hot tub and pool were nice . game room . bar live music, and large commons room with fireplace and board games ,our room was large ,clean and quiet , i liked it so much were gonna return next year and ski pico , and okemo .

Room Tip: if you need more room stay in room 38 its one of 2 rooms with an extra tv room , and seemed more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    60
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
82
60
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Summit Lodge is comfortable, charming, and cozy, as a ski lodge should be. Our family of 5 stayed in one of the large family rooms containing a king-size bed, a bunk bed, and a twin bed. The room wasn't luxurious, but it was spacious, comfortable and warm. The bathroom showed some age but was fine. The common spaces in this lodge are the highlight: You can sit in a cushy armchair by a warm fire and read, have a drink in the pub, or hit the hot tub. The made-to-order breakfast, included in the room rate and served in a charming dining area, was a great way to start a ski day. It's a five-minute drive to the Killington K2 base. There's space to leave your ski gear by the entrance, so you don't have to deal with it in your room. And of course, there are the dogs. BEST DOGS EVER. Oh, and the staff is really nice, too. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hospitality in traditional surroundings. It's marvellous to go to a lodge/hotel that is not part of a chain and exactly the same as hundreds of others all round the world. This hotel takes you back to the days of individuality with wood panelling, large open log fires, cosy places to sit and bedrooms that are not simply identical boxes off long corridors. Bill Bauer, the owner and host, makes everybody most welcome and the atmosphere is more of a large, extended family house than a hotel. This is not to say that the hotel lacks amenities. In winter there is the heated outdoor pool and the large, indoor hot tub and sauna while there is a larger pool and sports courts for when the snow has departed. Inside, there is also a large games room. Summer or winter there is a marvellous bar with a variety of interesting beers (including local ones) that serves excellent food at realistic prices.

Despite having had many family holidays here (although solo on this trip) we cannot match the lenrth of time that other families having been going back to the Summit. Some of them now on to the third generation. I have always found the summit clean, comfortable and providing a good night's sleep. Room rates are competitive for the area. The welcome is always excellent from Bill, his staff and the dogs.

If you want something a bit different with traditional hospitality, give the Summit a try.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am hesitant to write this review because I don't want everyone else to know about it! I only wish we found this hotel when our kids were younger because they would have loved it. We typically rented condos ski in/out with kitchens so that we could come home for lunch or breaks. The trade off of not having that may have been worth it. The lodge is nothing fancy but is full of charm. The large fireplace in the common area became our "family room" for two nights (my husband and I and another couple). We met other guest, most of whom were return visitors. The outdoor pool and indoor hottub were just what we needed after a day of skiing. The Pub is warm and welcoming, with great food! The dogs added to the hominess of this wonderful lodge. Be sure to buy the cookies on your way out. YUM! I hate to go to the same destination more than once but we will definitely return to the Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Since I'm a kid, this is the perfect hotel for families (Actually, anyone). They have two saint Bernard s and a French bulldog. I was first expecting a modern quieter hotel. I'm glad it wasn't. The space is great to explore and safe, so kids can run around as much as they want. The dogs are a great add on as well. Amenities: huge living room w/ fireplace, back door, tables, couches, and chairs and board games, a pub with nice staff and pretty good food, a whirlpool hot tub, two outdoor pools one of which is open in winter (that's right, an outdoor pool (of course it's heated)), a ping pong/special occasion room, a library, hold on, there's more, a library, an arcade room, and plenty more, spread out among 3 floors. If you.'re skiing at nearby Killington mountain, hiking, or just staying in the area, you must stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back. The nearest amenity is the game room. It is much easier to get sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here at the end of the busy Presidents Holiday Week and loved it. Its nestled up on top of a hill just down the road from Killington where we had skied for the day. Check in was easy and we met the beloved St. Bernards. We dined in the Saints pub & restaurant which was hopping with guests, cozy and FUN thanks to the magician who came to our table 3X to entertain our 9 year old. My family enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and indoor jacuzzi as well. The room was just so-so - bathrooms, beds & and carpets need updating, hence only the 4 stars. However, breakfast the next morning was EXCELLENT and we would happily stay here again.This place is neat - has many nooks and crannies and I got lost a couple of times :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nothing else much was positive. The beds were horrible. The very small room wasn't clean and it was filled with cobwebs and stains on the mattresses, bedding, floors and bathroom. The water in the pool was lukewarm. The breakfast wasn't good. Some of the help was nice but others were just plain rude. The only thing that kept us from being completely miserable were the 3 very sweet dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Address: Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.