We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for families and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Save Saved
You added Summit Lodge & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Summit Lodge & Resort
Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Killington
Killington, Vermont
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best place for families and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have been going to the Summit lodge for thirty years and it only gets better with time. We go there a couple times each ski season and it is a great place in the summer. The staff under the guidance of innkeeper Billy is friendly and helpful. Our family knows the building with its many short hallways and assorted sitting rooms so we do not hesitate letting the little ones wander around. The outdoor heated pool in the winter adds an experience we will never forget. In the summer we enjoy the tennis courts, the outside pool, the patio bar, and the beautiful grounds surrounding the Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    52
    11
    10
    12
See reviews for
72
55
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My finace and I stayed at The Summit Lodge the fist week of January and cannot wait to return. There is a cozy quaintness that starts at the big red doors that welcome you and doesn't leave you. The staff was welcoming and remembered you each time you interacted, the food in the Saints Pub was delicious, and the amenities met every need we had. There was no reason for us to leave once we got back from skiing. Whether I was sitting on the floor playing with the dog, curled up on the couch reading in front of one of the fireplaces, or relaxing sore muscles in the whirl pool there was not a single minute of our trip that I wished I was anywhere else. I cannot begin to say enough about them. If you are going to Killington stay here..You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have had many fantastic visits over the years as a guest at the Summit Lodge. The hotel is the quintessential Green Mountain getaway, offering a comination of old and new. The hotel's barnboard and beam construction and rustic decor take the visitor back to an earlier time, while the hotel sports many modern amenities. It boasts an indoor whirlpool and outdoor heated wading pool, a perfect way to unwind after a day on the slopes. The Saints Pub is a fun place to relax by a fire on a snowy night and enjoy food, drinks and entertainment. In the summer, the outdoor swimming pool is a great way to cool off after a game of tennis on the hotel's clay courts. The staff is always friendly and attentive and what's better s better than a greeting from a friendly Saint Bernard in the lobby at check-in, unless it's the panoramic views of the mountains of Killington from the Summit's living room. I'm looking forward to my return to the Summit in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

great place to stay good food good drinks great spot !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My daughter and I arrived for the recent MLK three day weekend to do some skiing at Killington Ski Area. We stayed there since her friend was also staying there.

When bedding down for the evening in room 14, the comforter looked so old and disgusting, it should have been burned. The blankets had cigarette cigarette burns including the extra blanket in the drawer. I was willing to cope, but my teenage daughter was totally grossed by it! The whole room was tired, old and falling apart. Not rustic... What was the worst... The room is up against the main lodge common area with a thin wall between. The noise from the gatherings in the lodge common area by the fireplace was as if it was right in our room. It went on for hours on two of the nights. You could hear the conversations! I complained and they offered to get me to another hotel at 9pm but at a much higher price. They offered us earplugs... They said they would ask the folks in the common room to quiet down. Fat chance! I just put a pillow over my head and dealt with it.

What they did upon my insistence, was gave me 50% off my room rate at the end of the three nights.

They should have warned anyone reserving the room that it was going to be noisy. And don't trust the pics... The place is as run down as it comes. The hot tube is dirty. The air filled with chlorine gas! I wish I kept my Expedia reservation at the Inn of the Six Mountains. It was about the same price and would NOT have been such a nightmare.

Room Tip: As far away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed in room 18. The room was very small and needed updating for quite some time. Dinner was ok. I had the shepherds pie (made with ground lamb) not bad. We ate out after that. Burrito Bar was a hit, Johnny boys for breakfast is a must. After being on the mountain all day, it was nice to have a hot tub to soak in. When you get in for the night, make sure the water is hot and the sauna is working. I had to ask them to turn the sauna on every day and the hot tub twice ( it took the hot tub almost two hours to get hot). The pool was too cold, we didn't bother with it. Free Coffee is ready @ 6:30. Game room was outdated. Dogs were cute and the kids played with them. Fireplace was nice to sit by in the morning with my coffee. All in all, the place was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view if you like a nice scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiskdale, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I started coming to the Summit Lodge at about 13 with family. Since then, I have returned every year. Now with my own family. They have become our Vt home away from home. We love the ski atmosphere, the friendly Saint Bernards, and it's rustic feel! Thanks Billy, winter or summer the Summit is the place to be.

Room Tip: Not slopeside but they provide scuttle service to mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington
Address: Killington Mtn Rd, Box 119, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Summit Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.