We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killington Grand Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Killington Grand Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
228 East Mountain Road, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Hazlet, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Friends and I come up every year to ski. We have stayed here 4 years running and will be back again. During check in the staff was gracious and helpful...as always. We booked a studio room and they upgraded us to a one bedroom. This is the 2nd year in a row they have done this and is sure to bring my friends and I back. Thank you Karli and Jasmine! See you next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear wjc0054, Thank you for coming back and staying with us year over year and taking the time recognize some of our team members at the Grand. I am glad to see that Karli and Jasmine assisted in creating our goal of providing a memorable guests service experience and we look forward to many more years to come.
Best Regards,
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    113
    39
    22
    12
See reviews for
104
74
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very impressed. Newly renovated,huge size rooms. nice amenities like granit in the kitchen and bath, vell equipped kitchen. right on the slopes. Perfect place if you are going skiing with kids.
DEFINETELY COMING BACK!

Room Tip: ask for a ski slopes view, same price, but it is so much better.opt for a one bedroom condo with a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Marina M., Thank you for taking a moment to express your satisfaction with your most recent family vacation. I appreciate that you recognized the changes in our rooms and hope you and your family can come back soon to enjoy the Grand and explore our amazing mountain.
Best Regards,
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went up for a long weekend - first time there with my family - five of us and we were able to fit comfortably in one room. We found the place to be a fun resort with the pool the fire pit etc. will definitely go back. The skiing was great!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear vsolo, I am glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your 1st visit to the Grand and were able to experience many of our amenities both on the mountain and in the hotel. I do hope you will have the opportunity to come back and visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We returned the Grand Hotel this year despite leaving a negative review last year. We love Killington mountain and were giving them one last chance. It seems that our complaints were taken seriously and the property was greatly improved. We packed an air mattress fearing that our children would not be able to sleep on the pull out couch, but we were happy to find a newly furnished unit with a comfortable sleeper couch. The breakfast buffet was improved with the addition of the omelette station but had difficulty opening on time to afford our early morning skiers the ability to eat and make the first lift. Overall, it was a good trip. On a safety note, I highly reccomend that they restrict the sauna age to over 12 years. I watched a young girl almost fall onto the grill while goofing around in the sauna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear lafreed, I am glad that you took the opportunity to visit us again and appreciate that you recognized the improvement that we have made. I would also like to thank you for bringing the sauna observation to our attention, we are currently reviewing our messaging in the area because we do have a policy stating that guest must be at least 16 years to use the sauna and steam room. I hope you had a great vacation all around and I look forward to your return visit with your family.

Best Regards
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend in early January. If this had been a $150 a night place, I would have given five stars, but > US$ 400 per night for a double room, I was slightly disappointed. Let me start with the good things first:

- lots of the rooms have been renovated recently, and the new rooms are nice and clean, with simply but cool bathroom designs
- the indoor/outdoor pool is amazing - to be able to swim in 90F water outdoors after a long day of skiing is really cool; if you prefer it hotter, there is also a steam room, and a small sauna, so lot's of fun things to do after skiing
- the hotel is about 300 feet from the snowshed basecamp, which means less than 3 minutes walking to the slopes

So here are the not-so-good things:

- the breakfast and dining areas are more like youth hostels than hotel areas, and the breakfast is rather simple; I would also highly recommend to take the shuttle to dine elsewhere
- the reception services are a joke: nobody took our luggage to our room, nobody ever asked us if we enjoyed our stay; most annoyingly, there is no information anywhere (neither in the welcome package nor in the room) on what facilities the hotel has and when they can be used
- the price quoted online (on the hotel size or elsewhere) does not include any taxes; for some reason Vermont charges both food and sales tax, which means that you will pay about 15% more than you get quoted online.

In short: if you are looking for luxury, you will be disappointed by this hotel; the only thing that is luxurious about this place is the large outdoor pool. If you are just looking for a clean and convenient place to get on the slopes quickly, and are willing to pay the extra $$$, you will be happy with this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice - if you can get one of the rooms facing the ski resort - the views are much nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guefink, thank you for taking a moment to talk about your visit to the Killington Grand. I am pleased to see that you appreciated our newly renovated rooms, as well as the amenities that we have to offer; especially our health club and pool. I also appreciate the honesty in your feedback and I am sorry that you felt some of our food and beverage areas were simple. We are continuously adding new enhancements including a made to order omelet station on our breakfast buffet, a raw bar Saturday evenings, and offering unique and creative specials in our restaurant. Needless to say, I have reviewed your thoughts with our culinary team and they will continue to heighten the food and beverage experience in our venues.

In regards to the service, we emphasize to the staff the importance of creating a memorable guest service experience for all of our guests, as well as communicate detail information about the services that we have to offer here at Killington. Unfortunately, I can see from your comments that we fell short during this visit and for that I apologize. I have shared your concerns with our reception team and we are bringing this to the fore front of our daily training. In addition, we are in the process of placing new material in the units that will provide important information on all of the services and products available here at the resort.

Thank you again for your comments and observations, and I hope you will take the opportunity to come back and visit with us again.

Best Regards
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a nice property close to the snowshoe lodge at KIllington.
They have nice amenities for a ski hotel. We had a comfy murphy bed in our suite room. The small but fully functional kitchen was a great addition to keep our breakfast, snacks and drinks cold.
The bar and restaurant were nice and professionally staffed, as was the check in and ski storage. It would be nice if the ski storage kept poles. Twice I forgot them in the room and had to trek back for them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear martinyoung, thank you for the comments regarding your most recent stay. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed all of our services and I will take in consideration your suggestion of keeping ski poles at ski check, great idea.

Best Regards
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's hard to find fault with 14" of snow in Vermont but the Grand was worth the return trip. The room has been nicely updated (though water flow in shower isn't great), the staff super friendly...Joann in the restaurant is the best VT ambassador there is. Our teens had a great snowboard lesson with Danielle this AM. Wish the bar, restaurant was a bit more fun. We went to the Santa Fe tonight because the Grand was so busy. It was total kitsch but we had a great time playing pool and listening to music. The hotel needs some better hang out spots...ping pong is hidden away, pool table broken. Hints for future guests...bring quarters & laundry detergent for laundry and your own flip flops for the pool.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGHdhall, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Debbie C., Thank you for coming back and visiting with us. I am glad to see that your family had enjoyed their lessons and you had the opportunity to meet Joann, she is definitely our VT ambassador. In regards to the pool table, it has been repaired and we have also added movie nights each week that families can enjoy after skiing. I do hope you will be able to come up and visit again this year and just to let you know we are still getting snow all this week and have accumulated about 36" in the past seven day.

Best Regards,

Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killington Grand Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killington Grand Resort Hotel

Address: 228 East Mountain Road, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Killington Grand Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killington Grand Hotel Killington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killington Grand Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.