We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Awful Beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades Lodge Killington

Cascades Lodge Killington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cascades Lodge Killington to your Saves list
Cascades Lodge Killington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Old Mill Rd., Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Awful Beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

This was our first trip to Killington and wanted to stay at the most affordable place that was close to the mountain. The only thing that saves this place from a 1.5 stars is the service, the breakfast, and the hottub. Check In was a breeze but when we went to our room there was this stench in the hallway. It smelt like Mold mixed with skunk. It was awful. Now, when I called them, I requested that a necessity was to have a microwave in the room. I was told that there would be one in the room so we had brought a cooler with lots of food that depended on a microwave being there. We arrived and there was no microwave. That was my first issue. Now, some may say that's ridiculous, but having planned lunch and dinner around items you have in a cooler--renting a bigger car = more $$ it means that you could've saved more money and prep time had people known wth they were talking about. I will say that the receptionist's were very nice and understanding and they used their microwave to heat up our food and we were told that we weren't the only ones who were told that. So my response was, get it together people...

The next thing was that our room was FREEZING. Now, I like the cold--really I do, but we had done everything we could to get our room to a more comfortable temp but nothing worked. And then, the beds, yes after a day of ski/riding you should fall right asleep but why was I unable to do that? I felt like I was going to sleep on a sheet of ice. The beds were so hard and uncomfortable. I was already sore and I woke up each morning feeling like I needed to go to the hot tub. One thing that made our stay much more tolerable was the breakfast. They really had a AWESOME breakfast. I almost felt as if they were saying "We know our BEDS suck, but we'll make it up to you with our great breakfast" To give you an idea there were, Breakfast Burritos, Pancakes, French Toast, Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Fruit, Bagels, Cereal, Juice, Coffee...and it really helped start our day. That would be one thing that saved their rating. Walls are paper thin, this is true. Nobody went to their restaurant so that told me a little about their restaurant. Overall, I would not spend this amount of money for this hotel. While the Breakfast was great, I would prefer getting a good nights sleep and finding breakfast somewhere. There are plenty of hotels off the mountain and you should look into some of those that are probably cheaper and give you more for your money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Talking to the local ski shop guy about hitting up Killington for the weekend, he mentioned he was going in 2 days. Said he and his buddies always stay at the Cascades... committed the name it to memory before leaving the store. If a the ski shop goes there, must be decent.
I have terrible luck in ski lodging...most places I stay at have smelled like mildew and make me want to sleep fully clothed. My luck has changed.
They were very accommodating in my late arrival and having a pet friendly policy. Rooms were super clean and smelled great. Has a pool, hot tub and sauna for the aching bones. A bar/lounge area with pool table, games, TV, fireplace.
Food was awesome. Felt like I should have paid for breakfast buffet. Thinking of the hash browns is what got my cousin up one morning!! HAHA!! They really were that good. I hope they don't change the way they make hash browns, the texture and taste is spot on. Very nice selection of breakfast foods. Started the day off this good smooths out all the bumps in the road later on in the day.
Breakfast was so tasty, we tried out the bar/lounge for dinner. The burgers was char-grilled to perfection and hot wings tasted exactly like they should. Digested on the plush couch in front of the wide-screen tv, then rolled into bed.
Great was to spend the birthday weekend. Will be back when Killington has some more snow.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed 1 night Columbus day weekend. 2 cars in the parking lot out back. Ours and a very obnoxious guy from New Jersey, Pounding on the floor above us until almost 1 am. Finally went up stairs and he denied it was him. The fact that the Innkeeper would put us directly underneath makes you wonder. Carpet tired. Rates the same as everybody else. No reason to go there. Go next door to Mountain Inn for better bet

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I traveled to look for fall foliage with my 90 year old aunt. We stayed at Cascades Lodge and I was very touched by the kindness and care we received. The receptionist, Pita, was the most helpful and friendly staff I've ever encountered in any hotel. She is so wonderful that she even gave my aunt a pair of her own socks! The room was spacious and very clean. I also had my dog along and our room had its own patio and sliding doors-extremely convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Don't come here if you want glitz! If you want great rooms, friendly service, and closeness to the ski slope, come here. We spent a wonderful week and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Since I used Trip Advisor to assist in booking my trip, I feel I should at least write about my experience to help others.
I traveled with 3 friends, all low 30s. I chose this hotel because of the proximity to the mountain, on-site bar/lounge, breakfast, and pool/hot tub. This hotel met all of my requirements. It's def. just a place to hang your hat while you are enjoying Killington.
Breakfast is a standard continental style: eggs, bacon, toast, cereal etc. I’ve heard there is a really good breakfast somewhere down the road but you can’t beat that this is included with your room.
Proximity: Walked 4 minutes to Ramshead lodge (you can take the shuttle right outside as well) and was quickly on the lift to explore.
Bar/Lounge: Nice fireplace, couches, 50"+ TV, and draft beer. We watched the Olympics and drank beer - couldn’t get better than that.
Pool/Hot Tub: Great place to relax for a few minutes after riding. Nice Plus
Rooms: Standard Hotel rooms, nothing crazy, just a place to sleep. The sheets/bed was clean and comfortable.
Hospitality: Tia was great. Even helped clean up a friend because he “ATE” too much at the Wobbly Barn. Good stuff.
In summary, if you want somewhere to crash while you enjoy the mnt. + Killington’s restaurants/bars – don’t pass this place up. It’s perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eggsrgreat
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Just came back from a great 2 night stay at the Cascades Lodge in Killington. After much effort into determining where ww would stay for our skiing weekend, I selected the Cascades Lodge. I was VERY PLEASED with my selection!

The facilities are very comfortable and meet all of our needs, not to mention being right next door the the lifts (free shuttle or 5 minute walk). The rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary all you eat buffet breakfast each morning. I enjoyed the hot tub to rest my "skiied out" body and the kids had a blast in the indoor pool.

The location is right in the heart of many dining choices , as well just next door to Black Dog Deals, where we easily rented out skiing equipment for the weekend.

Were normally the Hilton, Sheraton and Embassy Suites type of family, but even though this is a level below, I would be a repeat customer and do it all over again.

If your still undecided on where to stay when coming to Killington, trust me, this is a good option!

Oh yeah...they have a nice lounge area, where you can sit by the fireplace on comfortable sofa's and watch the big screen TV, while enjoying a nice beverage or play a game of pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascades Lodge Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lodge Killington

Address: 58 Old Mill Rd., Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascades Lodge Killington 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views from every room. Fireside lounge, pub, walk to ski lifts and golf course. Indoor pool, sundeck, sauna and hot tub. Groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cascades Lodge Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Lodge Killington Hotel Killington
Cascades Hotel Killington
Killington Cascades Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades Lodge Killington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.