We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a one night stay - on our way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Six Mountains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn of the Six Mountains to your Saves list
Inn of the Six Mountains
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2617 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Vancouver
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just a one night stay - on our way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night and there was a wedding going on so were advised that the dining room was unavailable. Pleasant young man at the front desk. Rooms were okay and clean enough. The inclusive breakfast was pretty lame but enough to get our day started. We really only used this a stopping point along the way which made it okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    83
    74
    46
    26
See reviews for
54
96
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake George Ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a nice weekend at the Inn September 18th-20th. I was pleasantly surprised by the place, I had read the negative reviews so I was kind of wary but decided to book anyhow,since we are not accommodation snobs, and basically don't have any negative experiences. We arrived and checked in in under 5 minutes, the man at the desk explained where our room was, the pool, breakfast, movie room etc..very accommodating and fast. We loaded our luggage and headed to our room and was getting worried because it seemed that it was taking forever to get to our room, but at last we arrived and i was pleasantly surprised..the room was wonderful!!! A king sized bed, 2 overstuffed chairs, flat screen tv small fridge, very nice bathroom and the view of the mountains out the french doors leading to the deck or the french doors leading to the side balcony was spectacular! The weekend was warmish and we were so happy to leave the doors open and enjoy the beautiful mountain air. We went to explore the pool which was basically right out our door thru another door down a few stairs and right into the pool room. The hot tub was so relaxing and we enjoyed that and the pool very much. Breakfast both mornings was typical, but more than continental with scrambled eggs, home fries, pancakes, fruit, toast bagels, cereals etc.. We had great calzones and sub from Ipie down the road who delivered the 1st nite..vistied the bar for a couple of drinks the 2nd nite and had a great visit with the bartender there. Be sure to grab a couple of apples and cookies from the lobby to enjoy in your room, and take a moment to relax in front of their great fireplace. this place is worth trying out and I am so glad that I didn't believe the negative reviews.. We will be sure to come back again, we enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutschenhausen, DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel over the last 7 years. It simply is not the standard it was when we stayed the first time. My husband made a special request when booking which was never seen by staff. We were given a room that was terribly disappointing - windows were so dirty the view truly was obstructed. The room was dingy though clean. Fortunately the staff moved us to another room with a small balcony. The room was brighter and felt cleaner though there were obvious maintenance issues not completed. Recent (I suspect) paint had been poorly applied to the woodwork. Bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a small fridge in the room. The breakfast was a huge disappointment. The food availability was not well maintained. We couldn't help but notice the hot food was replenished on two mornings just before the kitchen staff came out to eat. The breakfast bar in general seemed tired, stale.
We enjoyed this place in the past and were sadly disappointed this time.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, request a room to the back with views of the mountains. These will be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Perhaps this property could have justified its 3.5-star rating in the 80's, but dated decor and haphazard maintenance has taken a toll. The sad thing is that it has great bones and curb appeal, so it wouldn't take much to make this place first class, but the rooms are no better than I experienced at a Roadway Inn last week.

The room was spacious and the basic surfaces were clean enough, but the room simply suffers from years of wear and tear and deferred maintenance that only a complete room renovation can fix. Everywhere I looked there were issues -- threadbare carpet, many cracked and uneven tiles, darkened caulk and grout, sloppy paint job, no paint on replaced wood, loose sink, mis-aligned shower faucet, one window replaced with plywood, others dirty, 4" opening to outside (fan vent?) exposed despite cold weather, tired linens, uncomfortable mattress, cracked ceiling, chipped door surface. None of these issues is a deal-breaker, but together they add up to a very tired room with dated decor (old enclosure bathtub, flimsy mirror frames, old aluminum windows.) My view looked out on a pile of junked appliances and furniture.

Public areas of the hotel were quite spacious and reasonably comfortable, but they too were tired and suffered from a lack of attention to detail. Everything just looks dated, worn out and in need of a deep cleaning, when it wouldn't take much to make it beautiful! The breakfast too is what I would expect from a basic motel and they were out of several items. It wouldn't take much to make it first-class, but it just seems like they aren't trying.

In the end, the room and price paid probably equate to what I would have found at nearby 2-star properties, but when you book a 3.5 star property on an opaque website, you expect a higher standard (and in fact, I feel they often under-rate). In this case, none of the national brands that Hotwire lists at the 3.5 star level would be caught dead with rooms in this condition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the least enjoyable of the hotels we stayed in through New England.
We arrived about an hour early and the room was ready, which was good. The frontage of the hotel was almost enough for me to turn around and leave, though. Very dingy, not welcoming at all. The reception was staffed by young people who obviously had places they would rather be, no warm welcome, jeans and Tshirts the uniform. Hmmm.
The room itself was okay, clean and the bed was comfortable enough.
The whole place looked like it was closing. I understand that they were probably waiting for the ski season to start and maybe things would pick up then. The restaurant was closed, there was a little place for breakfast which was disgusting. All the hot food looked like it had been there for days, and it was like being in a school canteen.
Two nights was more than enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We make an annual trip to Vermont in the Fall and usually say at this hotel. When you walk into the lobby the first thing you notice is a huge fireplace with a roaring log fire. If you don't take one of the Vermont apples on a nearby table you are missing something special. The Front Desk staff are happy to see you, the bartender is a treat and full of local knowledge and your room has the perfect view towards the mountains. It is peaceful and quiet, the king bed was as good as ours at home and why even turn on the TV when there is so much to do and see?

Housekeeping was at the top of their game and it appears that there have been some very nice upgrades made to the property since our last visit. Make a reservation and enjoy Vermont !

Psst! Ask the bartender for his "secret" to making that special popcorn! Wow!!

Room Tip: Ask for an end room, king bed on the 2nd or 3rd floor facing the mountain and you should get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went there with friends hoping to sit by the fire with drinks and relaxation. Definitely not very relaxing. The place wasn't very clean, very run down and sitting by the fire was joined by other guests' wet, dirty clothes hung all around the fireplace (including underwear...yes, underwear!), blocking the view. No hotel staff was anywhere in sight to man the fire, so we resorted to throwing wood on the fire ourselves...until the wood ran out and no one replenished it. Only one tiny place to eat and that place was open only a few hours at night. They were very nice in the restaurant (outside owners) and the food was good. No room service at all at this inn. We paid around $160 for one night...for what? The room was run down and the view was of a partially falling down set of pine trees. Not worth the money in the slightest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Six Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Six Mountains

Address: 2617 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Six Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ski lodge in Killington that is open during Fall and Winter months for skiing, and open for spa packages from May through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Six Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Six Mountains Hotel Killington
Inn Of The 6 Mountains
Hotel Of The Six Mountains
Resort Of The Six Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Six Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.