We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Differentiate between the spa program and the hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Six Mountains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Six Mountains to your Saves list
Inn of the Six Mountains
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2617 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Differentiate between the spa program and the hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

New Life Hiking Spa is a good program which is located in a tired hotel, which gives is the reason for its value. The program is very good. Hikes and and other exercise activities are led by knowledgeable instructors. Some instructors who were not approachable one day were certainly more approachable the next, so I think Jimmy reads the evaluations daily and promptly advises instructors of guest concerns. The food was well prepared and tasty but I was told by repeat and long stay guests that the same meals were served on a rotation schedule . There were lots of returning guests, so people do find it worthwhile. The hotel is outdated and in need of repair but is clean. The fridge in my room was too cold, but all I had was a bottle of milk so it was not a big issue. Plumbing needed some repair, the toilet ran at random times but overall I experienced no problems. The outdoor pool was closed the first two days of my stay but was fixed and available later. There was an HD tv in the room. The housekeeping staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. If this program was in a top notch hotel, it would not be as affordable. The quality and value trumped all else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    85
    75
    46
    26
See reviews for
54
97
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Let me start by saying that if I were rating the New Life Hiking Spa piece independently they'd get a "very good". Newlife Hiking and the Inn work together to attempt to provide those of us who are looking for adventure, fitness, nutrition and relaxation, just that. They'd get an excellent if they offered one massage for every two nights, a caloric chart for the meals they serve, and more balanced meals throughout the week. Some days we seemed to get a proportionate amount of the five major groups and on other days we didn't. Breaking the meals nutritional and caloric values down for the customers would be a very educational and a useful piece that all would gain from.

While the Newlife staff offer great hikes, stretching and exercise classes, massages, and nutritious meals, the Inn isn't keeping up it's end of the deal. That piece i rate "Poor". The mattresses (at least in our room) need to be replaced (the cushioned mattress cover isn't cutting it. After a day or days of hiking and exercise we need a comfortable bed to rest and recover in. The fridge is cheap and small. There is a tube tv in the room (enough said on that). The chairs are old and uncomfortable (don't provide adequate support). The towels are rough on the skin. The indoor and outdoor pools: it seems the concrete was poured unevenly or the floors were dug into to make the pool floor because the thick pool liner is folded over at places on the floor and when participating in the water aerobics classes those uneven floor characterisitics are very noticeable to the sensitive feet that treked an advanced hike in the morning. As mentioned in another review, the bugs are still laying around on the surface of the pool. The common area sofas are very comfortable. That's probably the reason many can be found there. Then again it may be because the internet doesn't quite work well in some or most of the rooms as was confirmed by some of the other guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I purchased a summer package deal that included 2 nights, a restaurant credit and a New Life Spa hiking / yoga class credit credit for 2 people. The hotel was very helpful and flexible to instead accommodate my family of 4. We did not use the hiking/yoga credit but even without that it was a generally pleasurable stay. Although the room decor and carpets show wear and are outdated (maybe upscale in the 90's) the overall ambiance of the hotel is cozy and welcoming, even in the summer. From the grand exterior, you walk into an impressive Adirondack-style lobby with comfortable leather couches and a large fireplace. Upstairs (considered the first floor), there is another fireplace and a common area/lounge with additional comfortable chairs. There is also a reading room, dining room, outdoor patio and walkway to the indoor and outdoor pools. The continental breakfast was only okay (seems the New Life group may have taken all the o.j./milk) but did include a waffle maker. Nice touches in hotel service include a movie room where they project dvds on the wall as a mini-theater (my husband and I had a date night!), free games & dvds available at the desk, and wifi in the lobbies. As mentioned in a previous review, we were there the night the water pump broke and the staff promptly put out bottled water for guests (the "fancy" kind, if you can call water fancy) and the pump was fixed promptly...however, the water was brown the next day and I found an oily substance in the tank of my toilet. That mishap aside, we enjoyed a relaxing and quiet stay. Recommended nearby or not far: Mt. Killington gondola ride (bring bug spray and a jacket) and Wilson Castle in Proctor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I just spent a weekend here for some rest and relaxation. For the most part, the inn is quaint and cozy; however, there were a few aspects that could be improved upon. On one occasion, the shower/sink water didn't work at all. The hotel staff were very apologetic and said that they were working on it. Within a few hours, it was fixed. However, a couple of times thereafter, the sink water came out brown and rusty-looking. I was also surprised that the ceiling lights were broken in my hallway and one of the lamps in my room didn't have a bulb. To be honest, my room, as well as other parts of the inn, could use a fresh coat of paint. There is a patio outside which is well-maintained and offers an opportunity to relax and catch some rays. The outdoor pool is fairly nice; however, the water wasn't high enough to drain out the bugs.

The inn is set in a great location. There are a number of terrific eateries, along with the mountains nearby for skiing/hiking. Overall, this place could really shine if it made some of the improvements above.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Came back from 10 days at New Life Hiking Spa very pleased with experience. Great people all around, excellent and healthy food, and a comfortable room (ask for a room with newer mattress if you like a soft bed). Excellent hikes daily for all levels of fitness, 4-5 miles each. you can power ahead or walk at your pace, but you will want to push yourself. Great massages are included for each 3 day stay. Everyone was friendly, men are welcomed in the mostly female crowd.

The hotel hosts skiers most of the year, which accounts for the wear and tear. It is clean but not luxurious. I enjoyed the large room and the DVD's that are available free to guests.

Room Tip: ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I just spent a week at the aforementioned property. I went to try and get a jump start on losing some weight, eating healthy and just taking the spare time to relax. It was more than I expected. Not only did I lose the intended weight, eat an extremely healthy but tasty and filling, I also experienced some very professional messages that were included in the cost, along with the best part of all, I met some of the nicest and most interesting people I have met in a long time.

Each morning began after breakfast with a hike. The hikes were set up for beginners, intermediate and advanced hikers. They were all went through paths of beautiful scenery and were challenging at all levels. Each hike had very caring and professional guides which allowed for everyone to handle the individual hikes at hikes at their own pace. That would be followed by lunch, a little relaxation time and then a full schedule of optional exercises classes that ran all afternoon until dinner.

Best of all, the all inclusive price for the week was in my estimation, one of the best travel values I have ever experienced. I really don't know how they do it. Please know that for business, I spend over 100 nights per year in hotels and travel extensively. While the hotel is not a 5 star hotel, it is without a doubt, a very well maintained and comfortable establishment. Believe me, after a day of hiking, massages, yoga and yes, Zumba, you will sleep soundly and comfortably. WIthout a doubt, I will be returning it time and again, as had many of the wonderful people I had met there during my stay.

Room Tip: There are some outstanding views of the nearby mountains. Remember to ask for one when you check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was just at the Inn of the Six Mountains to visit the New Life Hiking Spa. Not only was New Life the best thing I ever have done for myself, it was a nice hotel. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and I hear there are many changes being made to the hotel. I know they were closed for a while before the New Life season opened and they must have done a lot of work then. My room was lovely with fresh paint, new chairs, extremely comfortable bed and great views of the mountain. I don't understand some of the older, negative reviews of this hotel, because I found it to be lovely, but like I said, I heard that New Life came in and changed some things for this year. Aside from the hotel, New Life Hiking Spa is the most awesome vacation in the world! Something I really needed. And, after 7 days of hiking and healthy eating, I can fit into my skinny jeans again! Price can't be beat.

Room Tip: overlook the courtyard not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Six Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Six Mountains

Address: 2617 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Six Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ski lodge in Killington that is open during Fall and Winter months for skiing, and open for spa packages from May through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Six Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Six Mountains Hotel Killington
Inn Of The 6 Mountains
Hotel Of The Six Mountains
Resort Of The Six Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Six Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.