We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful out of the way rural location within a half an hour drive to Burlington, Shelburne and Waterbury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homeplace Bed and Breakfast

Homeplace Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jericho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homeplace Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Homeplace Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
90 Old Pump Road, Jericho, VT 05452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Jericho B&B and Inns
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful out of the way rural location within a half an hour drive to Burlington, Shelburne and Waterbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights and enjoyed hardy breakfasts each morning prepared by the owner Mariot. The house is filled with interesting books. antiques and art. Our room was comfortable and had an ensuite bathroom with a shower. The grounds are beautiful and include a duck pond, gardens and a barn with sheep, 2 donkeys and chickens. Two friendly dogs are in residence as well. There is aparently walking trails but we didn't get a chance to check those out. Mariot is gracious, interesting but quite opinionated so those who are weak willed or who do not enjoy spirited and stimulating conversation shou,d be forwarned!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Yes, the farm does have interesting flower-bedecked grounds but Host Mariot Huessy appears to know nothing about conversation. She is obsessed with her two house dogs, talks incessantly about them and her children, but worst of all, repeatedly interrupts my wife and me when we start to talk about our world experiences ( 26 years working in the Middle East). It is all about Mariot. She does not even pretend to be interested in the lives of her guests. When we arrived, she did not even invite us to sit down or offer us as much as a glass of water as we stood for 45 minutes in her living room. We had just driven 700 miles from Virginia. One might have guessed we would be a bit tired or thitrsty . We did not feel at all welcomed.

Sleeping accommodations are adequate, but the promised double and single bed did not materialize; only a double was available. The bedrooms desperately need dehumidifiers not a fan in the hallway. The rooms were damp.

Alas, her two dogs, Bentely and Sebastian, though friendly enough, make the house smell like a dog kennel.

Mariot is a stickler for rules, to her detriment. For example, a sign tells guests to wait in the LR to be called for breakfast but after a long wait, well past the scheduled time, we went in to her kitched where she was working only to find out she did not know we had been up and around. Why not simply asks guests to sit down at the breakfast table at the scheduled time? This is the normal operating procedure for the dozens of B & Bs we have stayed in all the world.

To be fair, Mrs. Huessy, is 85, perhaps too old to be running a demanding business like a B & B.

Room Tip: Ask for a dehumidifier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A delightful, restful home in a great location (if, like us, you enjoy being out in the middle of the woods). Homeplace isn't, however, in the middle of nowhere. Several good spots for great food and drink are just minutes away and it's really not far from downtown Burlington and Shelburne. We loved the atmosphere - books everywhere! - and Mariot Huessy, the owner, is a delightful, engaging person. We could easily have stayed several more days and are thinking about going back next spring.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Such a relaxing atmosphere, I didn't want to go home. Homeplace is one of those secret finds that you're half tempted to keep to yourself, and half tempted to tell everyone you know what a great place you've found.


Innkeeper and
Host Mariot Huessy provides a treasure chest of goodies for self-
sufficient introvted travelers, as well as the grand scene to enjoy them in; a cozy sunroom with goat bells tinkling nearby, a warm and comfortable reading room with a
chair and a book for every reader, sun streaming in the windows.

Bedrooms are sweetly comfortable
with European linens and dreamy- soft mattresses. Shared bathroom is the norm, but any anxiety that might produce quickly wears off as you realize everyone is here to relax. Lights out, the night sounds are strictly country, no traffic, no sirens, no disruptions.

Mornings are peaceful, another opportunity to relive my youth with the Tintin series as the sun comes up over the hammock. Soon,
Mariot is announcing that breakfast is served...delicious coffee, fresh
pancakes with local syrup, fresh melon...so simple yet so comforting.

Will be back again, certainly!
Our only warning to the uninitiated, especially if you're depending on
GPS serve to take you to the door :
PLEASE NOTE that houses and driveway markers on Old Pump Road are out of sequence....if you don't find #90 at first look, go a little further and it will present itself. By all means find it in the daylight first!

Once you're there, just relax and let technology and the busy world slip away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

The Homeplace is definitely a different experience. My wife and I stayed here one night while we explored Burlington, which is a convenient drive away (and Jericho is much cheaper to stay in than Burlington). The grounds are really quite beautiful; we didn't get a chance to explore them extensively, but there are beautiful flower gardens and well-maintained lawns and ponds. We also enjoyed checking out the farm animals (sheep, chicken, etc.).

The B&B is pretty difficult to find. It is very off the beaten path, and if you take a wrong turn in the woods, you can end up at the wrong person's house (we did). There really aren't any signs in the woods indicating which turns you should take, and I wouldn't recommend arriving in the dark.

This is the type of B&B where you really feel that you are a guest in someone's private home. The bedrooms don't have any locks on them (nor does the house itself, so don't expect to get any keys), and I'm pretty sure none have private bathrooms. And the "reception" area is the owner's kitchen.

Don't expect amenities like a television or Internet access; you don't come here for that kind of experience, anyways.

The house itself is very clean, with a truly massive living room that must be a delight on a wintery day: shelves and shelves of books, of all kinds; phonograph records; and a great sun room with a comfortable hammock. You could not possibly get bored here.

The owner makes a great breakfast--some of the best French toast I ever had!--and has some wonderful stories to tell.

  • Liked — Charming building and grounds, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard to find
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariothuessy, owner at Homeplace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2009
As the owner of Homeplace we would like to confirm that Homeplace is wi-fi since 2008 and there is plenty of parking available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homeplace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeplace Bed and Breakfast

Address: 90 Old Pump Road, Jericho, VT 05452
Location: United States > Vermont > Jericho
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jericho
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Working-farm inn with many animals, gardens, hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeplace Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.