We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preview dinner for Thanksgiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hearth & Candle

Hearth & Candle
4323 VT Rte 108 S, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-9537
(802) 644-8090
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Barnstable
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Preview dinner for Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The atmosphere for dinner is wonderful...cozy restaurant with excellent food. Lounge and more dining downstairs. Tried it out as a preview to our Thanksgiving dinner with 14 family members and I'm sure we'll be very happy with our holiday dinner!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The food and the service was excellent. They have a great prime rib dinner special that's worth every penny $20.00 for a complete dinner. My husband had the lamb chops for an appetizer and he said they melted in his mouth. They have a good selections of wine and beer. This was around the eighth or ninth time I have eaten here and the food and service has improved considerably.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

While we were staying at Smugglers' Notch Resort, this restaurant (on resort property) had a $20 special for a prime rib dinner which included a yummy prime rib, salad, baked potato, broccoli, bread and then an apple crisp for dessert. This was an amazing deal and the food was wonderful. Service was also very good. Room we were in was was small, so it was very loud since it was full. It was a great dining experience for our last night at the resort.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it for most items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The food is great if you order the right thing. Two of us and the kids had great food, but the men ordered short ribs and they were very fatty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Smuggler's Resort. For a special evening dinner we went to this restaurant. My wife had the short ribs and I had the Vermont Chicken. Both meals were quite good. My wife thought the broccoli was bit undercooked but I thought it was just right. They let me substitute broccoli for green beans. My chicken was tender and had a lemon creme sauce. My wife's short ribs were tender and flavorful. Others had the prime rib special which after watching some of them try to cut their prime rib we decided it would likely not be a good choice. Prime rib can go either way and is highly dependent upon the quality of the meat and the preparation. I would go back for the short ribs for sure and the Vermont Chicken.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearth & Candle also viewed

 

Been to Hearth & Candle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearth & Candle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.