We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort gateway to enjoy the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers' Notch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers' Notch Resort to your Saves list
Smugglers' Notch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great family resort gateway to enjoy the...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great family resort gateway to enjoy the outdoors. They have a fantastic camp program for kids and, more specifically for us they have a great special needs program for our son who is autistic. Lots of family activities like bonfire singalongs and bbqs. Plus its right in the middle of beautiful Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    205
    87
    44
    30
See reviews for
394
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the resort. We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse. The place was clean & there was a lot of space for all of us. The dining at the resort needs improvement. We waited a long time to get our food at the restaurant. Overall, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Pros
The views were spectacular from this resort.
Everything was very clean.
Well stocked with everything we needed for cooking and cleaning.
Lots of windows, lots of light in the day = great picture taking!
Loved having a balcony to relax on.
Loved having a washer and dryer in the unit.

Cons
The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Made lots of noise when we moved.
Housekeeping was extremely slow and didn't show up at all to bring us towels.
The decor is very dated.
The comforters on the kids' beds were very dirty!
The kids's room was very cold, even with the heat on.
The sign to turn into our development was not visible is you came from the opposite direction, we missed it almost every day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

reserve early in leaf peeping season, especially during homecoming weekend in burlington. take a ride up the mountain in the pod and check out the view...drive through the notch in the morning for the best light, if taking photos of the waterfalls and folliage.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our one week stay at the Sycamores (West Hill Community, Smugglers Notch Resort) in early September was great. Nestled in the hills away from the village hub, our 3 bedroom unit was immaculate, spacious, and featured an expansive, unobstructed view of the mountains. The kitchen was equipped with everything one could need or want(white AND red wine glasses, a small mixer that we used to whip up eggs for omlettes, even a slow cooker). The 5 TVs were more than enough (one in the master bath too). This was a premium home, so not likely representative of all the units. The only complaint is with the beds and pillows, which were substandard given the high quality of the unit. Though we used the heated West Hill pool one day, we didn't stay around the resort much. Our very comfy unit was home base as we explored surrounding areas and it proved ideal for entertaining friends who visited for a few days. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We just returned from vacation at Smuggler's Notch and were very disappointed. We traded in through RCI to stay at this Gold Crown Resort.
Our room was clean BUT very dated and needed a major renovation. Our dresser looked liked it had water stains down the front, not very attractive. The wood paneling at had several nails sticking out, one ripped my pants. I called customer service and they transferred me to the Ownership Dept. where I left a message...I did not get a return call inregards to reimbursement of my pants. The garbage and recycling closet was in the hall outside our room, which stunk, the garbage was picked up on once while we were there...it was disgusting.
As an RCI member you needed to purchase a Smuggs Pass for the week which was about $345.00 including tax....total waste. We used the pools a few times due to the fact of the poor set up. The Notchville Pool is 3 levels which makes it hard when you have kids with different swimming abilities. The Main Pool has their kids pool isolated from the others. Rum Runner's we were told it was closed for the Season after we called to inquire about it. A very small compensation was offered for the closure. The outside activities were usally over run with camp kids which made it hard to do things.
The grounds were clean and very nice. Overall we had a great time but we had to leave the resort to do so, we will not be returning and will advice other's to find someplace nicer down the road in Stowe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Smugglers' management team makes every attempt to address issues that guests bring up during their stay, and in fact, a staff member tried to connect with this guest prior to their departure from the Resort. We will contact this guest directly to respond to the above comments. We recommend that RCI vacationers review the section of our website that is dedicated to the RCI guest experience at Smugglers'. There is complete information about what is included in an RCI vacation package at Smugglers', and what purchasing the optional Smuggs Pass will give the guest in terms of access to activities, facililties and discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Went again to Smugglers Notch this August. We are every other year time share owners in the Sycamores complex. We had thought our kids, now 17 and 13 had outgrown it but when we asked them a while ago if they wanted us to trade in for somewhere else, they absolutely wanted to go again. This time we brought all the cousins as well. We had converted to the points system about two years ago and that gave us the flexibility to exchange into a different week and get two units (a one bedroom and two bedroom that Smugglers put across the hall from each other). Not sure the points system is worth it financially but we all had a great vacation together and the memories are as they say "priceless". Also our original week was the last week of August which does not work at all if your teens are involved in high school sports as they need to be up at pre season training. With the points we were able to get back into the middle of August.

The one thing that is a bit of a negative are the camps- the specialty camps are additional fees and the teen girls (13 and 11 yrs) in our group did not particularly like the general camp. They went only two days out of the week. Seemed to be a lot of down time and waiting around. I think the younger camps seem to be a better fit.

We have to put in a word for Bert's kayak rental on the Lamoille river. Nice intro into kayaking and then he drove us to a spot 4 miles upstream. We paddled about 3 hours downsteam after taking multiple scenic stops. We saw some larger outfitters but Bert's flexibility with our schedule was a big plus.

We also did our usual Vermont activities- recreation path in Stowe, Ben and Jerry's, and hiking up to Madonna mountain. Everyone had a great time and we did not miss the camps at all. Water slides were still nice but now that the kids are older, they seemed a bit tame and we did not spend much time there.

Both pizza places in Stowe are good but Pie in the Sky has been our favorite for years and did not disappoint us again. Otherwise we cooked most of the time, cooking facilities are good at Smugglers but we always bring our own Chefs knife, rice cooker and large non stick saute pan.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers' Notch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.