We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL TRIP!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers' Notch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers' Notch Resort to your Saves list
Smugglers' Notch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“WONDERFUL TRIP!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We are Wyndham Owners so our building was one of the newer accomadations. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom presidential suite and it was beautiful!!!

We actually were overlooking a little pond and the heated pool was about 25 steps away from our suite. Everyday we were the only ones at the pool and it felt like our own private pool.

The playgrounds and indoor rec areas for the kids were great!

We ate at the Hearth and Candle and thought it was wonderful! The chef was amazing. Our favorite dish was the Vermont Chicken with an apple balsamic sauce that was to die for! A little pricey, but worth it.

Yes, the roads could use some attention but if you go slow you can get around the holes.

Overall my family really enjoyed this trip!

I understand that in the summer there is alot more for the kids to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Greetings from Smugglers'! Thank you for choosing Smugglers' as your vacation destination and for taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful trip and that you enjoyed your lodging, the resort setting, and play areas for the kids.

Thank you for the feedback on your meal at the Hearth and Candle. The entree that you mention, the Vermont chicken breast stuffed with apples, ham and Cabot cheddar and topped with a cider blush sauce, is one of the Hearth's perennial favorites. A good choice!

Regarding there being more for the kids to do in summer; we do keep them pretty busy in winter, too! Our ski and snowboard programs accommodate children from age 3 to 17, and our nursery offers lots of fun for little ones younger than 3. The indoor FunZone is available with climbing and bouncy inflatables, as well as arcade-type games and mini golf. We also offer snowshoeing and cross country skiing and many other activities and entertainment. In the fall we have a program for children, too. We hope you'll have an opportunity to return and enjoy our family fun during another season.

Thank you again for sharing a review of your stay.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    188
    78
    41
    29
See reviews for
337
79
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I were here on a RCI exchange from June 8 to 15. We didn't know what to expect after reading all the reviews. Our check-in was fast and we were given a map with directions to our unit--a one bedroom in Mountain Laurels. Our unit was very well equipped with everything we could possibly need, including a crock pot.

A couple of minor issues were quickly resolved by maintenance or housekeeping. Out unit was roomy and the bed comfortable. Since we were by ourselves, and being seniors we had no need for a Smuggs pass. Connected to our units was a private salt water pool, but it wasn't used because the weather was rather cool.

We took part in a few activities, and would have done more...but we had several days of heavy rain, which kept us indoors more than we would have liked. We had several meals at the Morse Mountain Grill and ENJOYED them all, the food and service were both great.

Our only thing not so great were the potholes, especially after the rain. They were bad around the area of the parking lot. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I hope we can come back at a time when there is not so much rain, as would like to do more around the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your June visit to Smugglers' through an RCI exchange. We're happy to hear that you found your lodging comfortable and well equipped, and that the issues you experienced were quickly taken care of by our staff. Thank you also for the positive comments about your meals and service in the Mountain Grille. We hope your seating allowed you to enjoy the view of the village green and mountains!

It's unfortunate that the weather did not cooperate during your stay. We hope you'll plan a return visit to fulfill your desire to see more in our area.

Regards,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This resort consist of several villages. Each village has some facilities available only to its residents. Aspens has a very nice heated to 86 F pool with beautiful views, bathhouse ,small gym and a playground. There is a covered corridor leading to those facilities. Rooms are well cared, spacious. Kitchen is filly equipped - we even had a slow-cooker provided. There is a big balcony with very basic outdoor furniture.
This resort has facility to make vacation enjoyable even if weather is totally miserable. The water playgrounds are heated and fun zone is a life saver if you have a bored kid... Their summer camp is really good if weather is nice. In a bed weather, kids are staying in-doors building puzzles or boarding games - there is not much equipment to keep them busy inside. Camp takes kids to the pool even if it is 56F outside. But our son didn't complain. If there are not many children, then water activities are planned for non-swimmers and good swimmers can be bored or upset because they are not allowed to go on a big slide and kept in the waddling pool.

They have day care center on the property which runs Kids night out program on several evenings a week. It is $30 for 5:30-9:30 including dinner. Was a huge perk for us. There is a nice restaurant on the property with small but attractive menu.

Overall - the set up is perfect for a good family vacation. Perfect even- if Vermont's weather cooperates. We most likely will be back, but not in June. Please be aware, the temperatures in Smuggler's notch are even lower for 3-4 degrees than a neighboring Stow

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello from Smugglers'!
Thank you for posting a review of your June vacation; we appreciate your observations, which we're confident will be useful to other travelers planning their Smugglers' getaway.

We're glad your family enjoyed the FunZone and our summer children's programs. Our summer programs for kids are focused on being outdoors for recreation and adventures in our beautiful mountain setting, so it's good to keep the weather forecast in mind when preparing a child for the camp day. Regarding use of the pools during the camp day, we make every effort to match children up with a water experience that is appropriate for their swimming ability.

We're happy that your children were able to attend the Kids' Night Out program organized and hosted by our child care staff. In the summer, the program is offered for 3-11 year olds on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays, and includes dinner, art projects and games. While kids are having their special night of activities, parents can enjoy dinner or quiet time together.

Thank you again for your review, and for choosing Smugglers' for your family's vacation. We hope you'll be back!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I recently stayed at Smuggler's Notch Resort for three nights with my wife and two children. I have mixed reviews for the property. I will take you from check in to check out...the entrance to the resort is full of pot holes as you drive into the resort. Check-in was rather quick , as we checked in early, but we were just basically given a welcome packet and room info then told to come back when we get a call that our room is ready. For those of you that have never been to the Notch, the layout of the property is a bit confusing, so I had to ask for the woman to show me where my room was, versus just being shown where it was on the resort map.

The room was ready about two hours later, we picked up our room keys and since we were with Club Wyndham Discovery package, they tried setting us up for a time share tour. ( Which I had already told them the day before I wasn't interested with over the phone.) The room was very nice, I was told it was one of the newer rooms and buildings. The bad thing about the resort is that all the buildings are separate so you have to drive to everything, (around all the potholes).

A negative is that you have to walk or drive to the pools. ( We found out two days into it that they have a shuttle.....probably should of been told that at check in). The pools are decent, all are heated, the indoor kiddie pool area is very nice.

The food at the Morse Moutain Grill was terrible, we ate there once and that was it for me, we ate off the property every night. They do have a Ben & Jerry's on site, but don't ask for a Banana Split because they have no Banana's....lol

My in-laws checked in On Saturday night and that was a whole ball of confusion. I had to call the front desk twice to correct it.

All in all, the room was very nice and roomy, some areas of the resort definitely need upgrades such as arcade, Rigabello's, the roads, etc. I would only go back if they upgrade the whole resort, otherwise I have seen much better places to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello - We appreciate that you took the time to post a review of your June stay with us. We're glad that your lodging was comfortable for your family and that you enjoyed our pools.

Thank you for providing comments on some of the areas where we can seek to improve; for instance, the roads, and certain facilities. It's disappointing to us that you did not enjoy the Mountain Grille. The restaurant has a quite extensive family-friendly menu and strives for a high level of quality. We're very sorry you did not have a positive experience.

As you mention, the Smugglers' campus is served by an on-call shuttle; please accept our apologies that was not made clear as you checked in. The shuttle provides an extra measure of convenience for those who prefer not to walk. For those who like to walk, our village accommodates pedestrians with green space, paths, and posted low traffic speeds.

Again, we very much appreciate your feedback.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wifey & I stayed in a 2 BR Presidential Suite week of 6/8/14. Accommodations were fit for a KING, the suite should be named a King Suite. The entire resort is top notch, and worthy of having the distinction of being our favorite resort, so far. The activities offered are very attractive. Be prepared to pay for them, but they are worth it. Highly recommended. This stay was at the tail end of our New England Tour, which started in Hancock Mass. Definitely worth the drive, from Ohio. Plenty of things for kids to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello - Thank you for posting a review of your June stay at Smugglers'. We're delighted that you recommend us so highly, and that your lodging and activities were particular highlights. Thank you for making us a part of your New England tour - we hope you'll consider another stay with us if you're back in the region again!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from a week at Smuggs, and we basically had a wonderful time. It is easy to see why they call them the Green Mountains. The ride up through Smugglers Notch down towards Stowe should not be missed. This is the route the bootleggers used to smuggle in booze from Canada during Prohibition. Smuggs is a beautiful resort, with a lot to do on-site for kids -different "camps" for different age groups. We are timeshare owners, and have been for over 20 years, but...you really get the high pressure sales pitch here - if you choose to go. We had a beautiful, large 2 bedroom unit in the Oaks building. But you can't sit outside on your deck when it is raining (and we had a couple rainy days), even if it is a nice gentle rain. This is because the rain come through the boards of the third level deck (which, at least at Oaks, does not have a roof over it), down through the boards on the second deck and down to the deck on the first floor. A roof over the top deck would have eliminated all of this. Also, as has been previously noted by others here, the pot holes in the dirt roads of the complex are atrocious. I am from Pennsylvania, the pot hole capital of the U.S., and even I was really challenged to navigate some of them. The resort needs to get them filled in or graded or something. Also, when we checked in to our unit we informed the staff of two deficiencies: one was a burnt out spotlight over the dining room table and the other was a 4 slice toaster that was broken on one side making it a 2 slice toaster. Our request to have these deficiencies corrected was never fulfilled. Perhaps we should have brought it to their attention again - but one expects a different level of service and attention to detail from an RCI Gold Crown resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful, when you asked them about what to do and where to eat. But I would have liked to have seen a general open to all briefing early in our week given by the staff on the sites and events in the area - like we have experienced at other resorts. It was up to us to find out everything on our own. Would we come back to Smuggs? Probably ....but not in the near future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello - We very much appreciate your comprehensive review of your June stay. We definitely agree with your assessment that the drive through the Notch is not to be missed - the rugged landscape the road passes through is spectacular.

We're glad that you enjoyed your lodging in the Oaks. Please accept our apologies that the issues related to the toaster and spotlight were not addressed during your stay. Your observations will be shared with appropriate departments here for consideration as future improvements.

Thank you for the suggestion of hosting a general informational meeting early in the week. We do so in the fall and spring seasons when our visitors tend to explore the area more. We appreciate your input that such a meeting might be useful at other times of the year.

Thanks for choosing Smugglers' for your stay; we're very glad that you would consider a return visit.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my first visit to the resort. This actually was our first trip to northern Vermont. The accommodations were very clean and warm and cozy. All of the beds were comfortable in the space was more than adequate. If you plan on taking part in outdoor activities such as hiking at smugglers notch or participating in the Arbor trek activities do keep in mind you will spend quite a bit of time and money on driving and finding gas.
Don't go during mud season which is spring up thru mid June unless you enjoy cold rain and wind all day and nite.

Room Tip: Willows are good locations for skiing trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your June visit to Smugglers'. We're honored that you chose Smugglers' as your destination for your first visit to northern Vermont, and very glad that you found your stay with us to be positive in terms of value, location, cleanliness, service and sleep quality. We hope you'll return for a future stay!

You mentioned the spring weather, which indeed can be changeable during April and May. It's best to pack accordingly with clothing that can be layered to provide comfort during any changes in temperature.

You also mentioned the availability of gas stations. Other travelers reading this review may like to know that there are indeed gas stations on both sides of the mountain. If approaching Smugglers' from the east, gas stations are located just off the interstate in Waterbury and further up route 100 as you approach Stowe. If approaching Smugglers' from the west, there are gas stations in Jeffersonville at the base of the mountain. Our website has a directions & travel info tab under "Plan your vacation" that identifies strategic stops, many of which offer fuel, dining and other amenities. Hopefully this information will help other travelers as they plan.

Thank you again for posting a review.

Very best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers' Notch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.