We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views..Watch for Hidden Fees..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers' Notch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers' Notch Resort to your Saves list
Smugglers' Notch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Views..Watch for Hidden Fees..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Great Location for Outdoor Activities. The Unit was Large Enough, We had. 3 Bedroom in the Tamerack Building.

Cons. Check in was fast. I've been a RCI Timeshare Member for over 15 Years. I've Never seen a Sales Pitch upon arrival. Had to go into a different office across the hall to get my room key. House Keeping Fees of $70.00, not once did they come into the unit.

All in All a Great Place; Beware of the Fees and Sales Calls to Your Room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your recent vacation. We're glad you found Smugglers' to be a great location for outdoor activities - between the outdoor recreation opportunities here at the resort and the options in the area, you probably discovered plenty of ways to have fun and enjoy the Vermont landscape.

We're sorry to hear that the cleaning fee came as a surprise. Both the RCI confirmation and Smugglers' confirmation mention that there is a fee for those RCI Points stays that are less than one week long. This fee covers the cleaning of the home after your stay and is a standard procedure at RCI Points resorts, since maintenance fees usually cover one cleaning per week. The fee is not intended to cover maid service.

It sounds like our concierge desk was a little too forward during your check-in. Please accept our sincere apology for that. Please know that it has become our practice to try to touch base with all owners and guests as early in their visit as possible. This allows us to help you plan your vacation days using the expertise of our concierge staff, and to offer you the chance to view our brand new Owls Presidential Reserve homes as the demand to see them is very high.

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your Tamaracks vacation home to be comfortable for your needs.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    188
    78
    41
    29
See reviews for
337
79
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our fourth year spending Columbus Day weekend at Smuggs. We have 3 young children and we always have a wonderful time.

The units that we've stayed in have been pristine and roomy. We utilized their child care program, and the kids loved it. Happy kids= happy parents. (My 6yo daughter cried when we left because she wanted to stay so badly.)

And many thanks to guest services for sending someone to our unit to help us jump our car's dead battery!

Room Tip: We love the North Hill community because the pool area (only for North Hill) has a "sprinkler p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for making Smugglers' your holiday weekend destination for the fourth year! We're happy to hear that your stays with us have been enjoyable for all the members of your family.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Smugglers Notch is getting its RCI tineshare Gold Crown Status based on amenities not the Units (at least not the Maples). No 2 bedroom should only be 620 square feet with bunk beds in the second bedroom with no visible means to get into the top bunk. We also had to move the chair out of the second bedroom since there was no place to put it except in front of the closet door or dresser drawer.

As indicated by a previous reviewer the kitchen space is lacking to the extent that utensil tray needs to be in a drawer in a table in the living area. It's actually not so much that it is lacking but that there are so many other things, like rolling pins as previously mentioned, that there is not room for utensils in the kitchen. Also the small kitchen counter has to accommodate a blender a toaster oven and a toaster that leaves little room for anything else

In the living area, if you had 6 people, which is the advertised capacity, the people in the master bedroom would have to crawl over the people in the people in the sofa bed when it was open. Also 6 people would struggle to use one bathroom. Even though there are two sinks, neither has enough room to put anything but the basic necessities

I also question a Gold Crown resort that only has air conditioning as a wall unit in the master bedroom and a "gully" in the master bedroom bed big enough that only one person can sleep in the bed

The staff is helpful and facilities are good, except for the lack of pool towels, but you need to live in your unit for week or more not in the lounge or reception area.

They need to get a new interior designer at minimum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello - We’re very sorry to hear that your recent Smugglers’ vacation did not meet your expectations. We certainly understand your disappointment in finding that the home booked for you was one of smallest two bedroom homes in the resort.

There are over 300 homes and a wide variety of floor plans available at Smugglers’ through the RCI Exchange Program. Due to the considerable differences between homes, we encourage all guests booking through RCI to call our Owner Services team prior to arrival to confirm the type of accommodation they have reserved. RCI does have the square footage and sleeping arrangements at their fingertips, so please don’t hesitate to ask those questions of RCI before booking your next vacation.

The Maples home that you stayed in may very well have been the only two bedroom home available at the time you booked your family’s exchange, due to the popularity of Smugglers’ during the peak fall foliage season.

We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account when we evaluate the home. We hope that you and your family will try Smugglers’ again. We’re confident that by using the advice here you’ll be able to book a home that is more comfortable.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our Columbus Day Weekend stay at this wonderful resort. We stayed at one of the Executive Townhouses near the top of the hill. We had great views of the mountains and all the fall colors from both directions outside our three story accommodations. The place was very clean and very comfortable with three large bedrooms and three full baths. The third floor was a master suite with a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The kitchen and dining areas were spacious. We all felt right at home. The price for the weekend was very reasonable compared to other resorts in the area. The drive to Stowe on Hwy 108, was a steep and winding path. It was exciting ride each time, especially in the dark. There are so may wonderful paths to hike and rocks to climb. The views are breathtaking and I like them much better than Colorado. I now know why people come to Vermont in the fall and we look forward to our next stay at this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for joining us for the fall holiday weekend. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your accommodations spacious and comfortable. It's always nice to hear when our guests feel at home - that's what we strive for. Fall is a great time to enjoy our beautiful area and as you note, there are indeed plenty of trails to hike and rocks to climb! Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A 3 day girls getaway with Smugglers being our base was a great experience with a few hiccups. A housekeeping issue (dirty ceiling fan) was remedied with in minutes of discovery after check in, thank you very much, however on further discovery of again another housekeeping issue I question the housekeeping service. I did bring it to front desk attention on checkout so I hope it got dealt with and housekeeping is improved for future quests. The resort itself looked nice and I would like to bring my family back here for a visit. Assuming of course the units are much cleaner. Lots to do especially on weekends in the fall. During the week it seems activities for kids especially are limited. We stayed in the maples so a 2 bdrm was 1 queen size bed, 2 bunk beds and a pullout couch and 1 bathroom. A little different for 3 grown women but we managed however I would have liked to have known this before checking in. Like another reviewer it took us a few minutes to find the cutlery as ours too was in a desk off the kitchen, weird place to put it. A note posted in the kitchen area directing guests to it would have been helpful. Vermont itself is a beautiful place to visit and I look forward to returning perhaps next year with my grandchildren and children. A/C didn't work in our unit but it was cool enough we just opened windows and doors.

Room Tip: double check actual bed arrangements/sizes before booking as 2 bedroom is ok for family of 4(2 kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the initial "hiccup" was promptly addressed. Your review has been shared with our housekeeping department.

You mentioned the bedroom configuration and the room tip you shared is a useful suggestion for other travelers. Each of our condominium neighborhoods offers something different both in location and in home style, so we encourage our guests to discuss their needs with our vacation planning staff.

We welcome you to return with your children and grandchildren for a future visit; our winter and summer seasons are chockfull of activities for all ages to enjoy! Thank you again for your review.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and spent a long weekend up at the resort. We were located in the Aspens which were at the top of the resort. We don't know if we were given this room as RCI members but we had great views with wonderful color all around us. The only problem was that we had to drive up and down due to the hill and space between everything.

The room was clean and decorated nicely. Has the typical wear in the room with a few carpet stains and the walls were a little rough. We brought all our own food, so the kitchen was utilized to its full extent. We brought our own crockpot to luck out and the room had one already, unknowingly!!!

The resort offered a ton of activities for all ages. The pool with the slides were closed for the season which was okay, because there were other pools open, which we didnt take advantage of. They were heated to around 85 degrees, but when the weather was in the 70s every day, we didnt need the pools.

The negative was the fact that we had to pay $50 for room service fees, which we never received any!!! at checkout we complained and tried to get our money back but the lady at the desk stated that b/c we weren't there for the full week, we didn't get the time they come to that building. Plus the money was for the time they had to clean the room before our arrival and after we left.

We didnt eat at the restaurants but took advantage of the free mini golf, fun zone (were big kids at heart), walking trails, and the frisbee golf course (which one needs to drive to!!!).

Would recommend, didn't give a full score b/c of the housekeeping issue! Cannot wait to go back and enjoy another fall weekend in Smuggs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Smugglers'. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway and the views from your Aspens home. It sounds like you came well prepared and put the kitchen to good use! We do try our best to make sure the kitchens are fully equipped for cooking, since many of our visitors enjoy taking advantage of the option for dining in the home.

I believe that the "room service fee" you refer to may be the fee for those RCI Points stays that are less than one week long. This fee covers cleaning of the home after a stay and is standard procedure at RCI Points resorts. It is not intended to cover maid service. Please accept our apologies if this wasn't clearly communicated to you when you questioned the fee at check-out.

We very much appreciate your recommendation and hope to be able to welcome you on a future visit!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chanced upon Smuggler's Notch resort when trying to find reasonably priced accommodation for a fall weekend visit to Vermont.
Vermont is beautiful, and this resort makes it worth the visit. It is surrounded by picturesque mountain ranges and offers its visitors a number of family oriented activities. Our condominium (we had selected a premium two bedroom) was fully equipped with all the amenities you will need to live there (such as a washer-dryer, all kitchen appliances, cutlery, etc.). The building had its own private hot pool, which was a nice touch.
One thing to note: the premium condos were away from the main campus, it took us a little bit of figuring out to do to get there (we had reached at 1 AM when there is no staff to check-in).
If we visit North Vermont again, we would definitely look to go back there and probably spend a few additional days at the resort.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for their premium rooms--they are well done. The rate differential wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your fall getaway. We're delighted to hear that you found all of the comforts of home in your vacation home. As you point out, the condominium neighborhoods are clustered around the village center. As a side note to other travelers who may be reading, referring to our online village map can help travelers choose which neighborhood might best suit their preferences. We're very glad to hear you would consider a return visit; we hope to see you back!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers' Notch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.