We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great ski trip to Smuggs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers' Notch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers' Notch Resort to your Saves list
Smugglers' Notch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great ski trip to Smuggs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from our most recent trip to Smuggs, and have nothing but high ratings for the facility, the accommodations and for their SNAP program to help special needs children ski. We were lucky to get fresh powder, so the skiing was great. The condo in Trailside Highlands was clean, well equipped, and convenient. If you are parents of a physically or mentally impaired child, I highly recommend Smuggs' SNAP program. Our son skis all day with SNAP when we are there and he loves it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    205
    87
    44
    30
See reviews for
394
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here the week leading up to Christmas. We rented a 3 bedroom unit and a 2 bedroom unit for a total of 12 guests, 4 adults and 8 children ranging in age from 7-18. We showed up on Friday night at 11pm to our 3 bedroom unit being open/unlocked which made for an uneasy start. However, the units were new and very clean and was impressed overall. The kitchen and bath areas were above expectations but suggest bringing a non stick pan if you plan on cooking. The fee for the Smuggs pass was a bit high considering it was only really used for the Fun Zone (games cost money) and snow tubing which is only offered on certain nights. Ice skating was closed the entire week which was disappointing. This was only our second time skiing and so we inquired about lessons for the six children who had never been skiiing before. Ended up letting them all try it on the small slope known as the Magic Carpet. Little did I know that this area was FREE. It is not written anywhere, nor did they tell me this as I purchased lift tickets for all the beginners to spend a few hours practicing on this little hill. Nothing is free these days and so I purchased what I thought was needed. When I realized that a few kids had no tickets on their jackets, I inquired and was told by the attendant that it was not required. When I inquired at the desk about this, after spending over $200+ unnecessarily, the staff response was almost mocking as if to say I was stupid. For families that don't ski all the time, how would I have known when nothing was posted. Mind you, they easily could have given us a refund or a credit for future lift tickets as my husband and oldest son had to purchase several passes that week but they did nothing. For this reason, we will probably give another resort a try next year!

Room Tip: Tamaracks are new and very clean as well as spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the 'premium' condos near one of the ski lifts for the fall foliage this past Columbus Day weekend. The condos are relatively new and very well kept up with a large open kitchen/dining/living area for families to hang out. The resort was not crowded at all for a prime leaf peeping weekend and many times we had trails to ourselves for hiking, birdwatching and photographing the foliage.

This is a much better option than the Stowe side of the mountain with traffic jams at the same time of year. The only downside is the fact that there are fewer restaurants but the resort has a few options and the towns at the bottom of the foothills have a few as well. Also, we found it easier to just eat in our condo for breakfast and lunch if we were in the area hiking.

Beyond exploring outside, the kids also enjoyed the 'fun zone' indoor play area one afternoon when it was raining, the skatepark (we brought bikes) and Ben and Jerry's at the resort.

Room Tip: Book a premium condo, the price isn't that much more and they are MUCH nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a week over Christmas with my wife and 2 children (aged 3 and 5). We chose it on the recommendation of a friend because she said it was a great place for beginners of all ages to learn skiing - none of us had skied before - and she was absolutely right. We were able to drop the kids off at Discovery Dynamos every morning at 9 and picked them up at 4. They were both able to manage the lower slopes of the main green run by the end of the week. My wife and I went for the 2-hour group lessons at 10 every day, which left plenty of time for practising our new skills at our leisure. The adult instructors were mostly of retirement age, very experienced and patient. The condo we stayed in was top notch - spotlessly clean, very well-equipped (especially the kitchen), warm and homely. The kitchen facilities were particularly useful because the only negative experience of our stay was the food in the resort - we had dinner in the Morse Mountain Grille on our first night and on the basis of that meal self-catered for the rest of the week. After skiing the kids enjoyed tube sliding and couldn't get enough of the FunZone, plus there were some Christmassy activities as it was that time. We never made it to the pool and unfortunately the ice skating pad was closed the whole time we were there. It was not cheap at close to $6k for the week (including all skiing lessons, lift passes etc. but not equipment rental) but it was absolute peak season and we had such a good time we felt it was worth it. Considering going back again towards the end of the season.

Room Tip: We chose a room in Liftside, close to the bottom of the Village chair lift - very convenient for nip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Smuggs is a self-contained village perched on the ski slopes of Morse, Madonna and Sterling Mountains - and the condos are fully stocked with kitchen appliances, dishware and linens. There is always something for everyone young and old to do - from skiing, sledding, tubing, swimming, activities, daycare, bonfires and more. Really a great destination for family. If you decide to have a private ski lesson be sure to ask for Peter Inveglostadd (spelling?) he was wonderful with both our 9 year old children who are basic beginners.

Room Tip: Be sure to let the reservationist know what is important to you. Being closer to the slopes, pool, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

From the beginning,Ben Childs and the team at Smuggs had it all together. Everything they promised they delivered in spades. Big thankyou and top marks to all staff with Katie and Peter in the Morse Grill on X-mas day a real stanout!! We had family from USA,Canada,Australia,Italy,and Denmark and we all agree Smuggs was tops for a great family Christmas. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Liftside and Creekside were great and close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
797 helpful votes 797 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here at this beautiful resort in a 3/bdrm sleeps 10 for $748 for the week for all 10 people this place is great for family and friends. the condos are fully equiped with everything you will need to feel right at home. Our friends had ageat time and want to come back next year already. plenty of room for everyone and the place was clean and the staff was great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers' Notch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.