We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility has potential but is poorly run with rude staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarwood Resort

Cedarwood Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedarwood Resort
Save
You added Cedarwood Resort to your Saves list
1181 VT Route 242, Jay, VT 05859 (Formerly The Lodge at Jay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Jay B&B and Inns
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Facility has potential but is poorly run with rude staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

When I walked into the hotel I was pleased with the cozy and neatly appointed
entryway. The friendly staff in hotel restaurant serves up a decent dinner at
reasonable prices. Unfortunately this is where the good comments stop. I
stayed in their large family room that has 4 beds on two different levels.
While the room had sufficient space it was not spacious by any means, and it was
not very clean. The small bathroom stunk of urine and had considerable mildew
growing around the bathtub. When I pull back the sheets to climb into bed I was
greeted with a considerable amount of long black hairs on the sheets an pillow
cases, of course this pales in comparison to what my friend was greeted with
under his sheets. When he pulled back his sheets he was greeted with a small
crab like bug crawling across the bed. We immediately went down to the front
desk to request fresh sheets. When we related the story of bugs crawling across
the bed we were greeted with a skeptic and rather rude response from the front
desk staff. The next day we were able to talk to the owner of the lodge about
the situation, we were even able to find another alive bug in the old sheets to
show him. He immediately denied that it was even possible to have bugs in the
sheets since everything is "thoroughly washed after each guest". After
requesting a discount for our troubles he stated that we were already getting an
excellent deal and could not do anything for us. I would like to point out that
we were paying the normal asking price for the room. The next morning when we
checked out we were able to get a small ($10 each for a 2 day stay) discount on the room. The owner stated that he could give us more but "how do I know you didn't plant
the bugs in the bed to get a discount?" Why on earth would I carry around live
crabs to plant in hotel beds!? He never even apologized for the whole
situation, just continued to state that he had never seen anything like this
before. The rooms are reasonably priced but don’t expect a clean room or polite
service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Pros:
- Decently close to resort.

Cons:
- The bed looked to be made but as I moved back the covers before hopping in I noticed a small crab (yes a crab!) about 2.5mm in size as well as some long black hairs. When I confronted the staff they pretty much didn't believe it until I brought the owner to the room and showed him the crab myself. In the end, he never apologized about the conditions or admitted the sheets weren't clean.
- Lady bugs everywhere
- Similar to the other posts, the breakfast was not up to par. Food looked to be sitting out for days (hard/stale muffins, stale cereal, etc).
- The walls are paper thin and I could hear every word of the next rooms conversation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jay hotels

New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

If you're planning a trip to Jay Peak you may have already found out that there are not a ton of lodging choices in the immediate area. Fortunately the Cedarwood Resort is a solid option, very comfortable, extremely nice staff, good bar and restaurant, and about 7 minute drive to the ski area. My wife and I stayed there during the President's holiday week with our two teenage sons. We booked a "family loft" room which has 2 queens on the main level and 2 double beds in the loft, with one bathroom. While not a roomy as a condo, it was nonetheless a very comfortable room. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the bar and restaurant are well worth checking out. The room rate includes a continental breakfast which was adequate but could be improved upon. This is not a high end luxury resort but it is very pleasant and in my opinion good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington va
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Booked a room at the hotel for a fly by the seat of your pants ski weekend. Was looking for a simple room over our heads and to get a taste of the local area. The staff turned out to be extremely friendly, the rooms comfortable, and adjoining bar/restaurante delicious. Well worth the price and will book with them for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Absolutely outstanding! We were accommodated in a professional and friendly manner. The staff was like family and gave our stay a truly personal touch. The night before we left, they had a nice fire for us by the pool where we were joined by other guests and DonnMarie. The price was so reasonable and the staff was so attentive to our needs. We're looking forward to next year!

  • Liked — Accessibilty to room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

A friend booked a room w/ loft for our group for the Jay Peak Trail Run. Rooms were clean, but the bathrooms are in need of upgrading. Hotel staff were very friendly and the restaurant (normally closed in summers) opened up for this event and was better tasting than expected. Definitely not recommended as a romantic getaway, but close to our event and fit the vibe of the weekend. Curious to see what it's like in the winter during ski season. Will definitely book rooms again for next year.

  • Liked — location to event
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

The stay was good, but we have some issues like it's summer and the hotel doesn't have air conditioning, just a fan., we were expecting some breakfast like any hotel has and there was only coffee. The lodge is beatiful and the staff was very nice, but that little things can be fixed and make the stay to anyone more comfortable. ;-)

  • Liked — the rooms and area
  • Disliked — didn't have air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Resort

Address: 1181 VT Route 242, Jay, VT 05859 (Formerly The Lodge at Jay)
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedarwood Resort, located in the village of Jay up on top of the hill, in the shadow of the "Peak". We just finished constructing "Peaks View", a 28 site full service Campground and now the renovation of the "The Bridge" Restaurant and "D'Cota's" Tavern downstairs, the property has undergone a remarkable change. All this under one new name, "Cedarwood Resort" ....It's all right here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedarwood Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.