We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bargain..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarwood Resort

Cedarwood Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedarwood Resort
Save
You added Cedarwood Resort to your Saves list
1181 VT Route 242, Jay, VT 05859 (Formerly The Lodge at Jay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Jay B&B and Inns
Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good bargain..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

A friend booked a room w/ loft for our group for the Jay Peak Trail Run. Rooms were clean, but the bathrooms are in need of upgrading. Hotel staff were very friendly and the restaurant (normally closed in summers) opened up for this event and was better tasting than expected. Definitely not recommended as a romantic getaway, but close to our event and fit the vibe of the weekend. Curious to see what it's like in the winter during ski season. Will definitely book rooms again for next year.

  • Liked — location to event
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

The stay was good, but we have some issues like it's summer and the hotel doesn't have air conditioning, just a fan., we were expecting some breakfast like any hotel has and there was only coffee. The lodge is beatiful and the staff was very nice, but that little things can be fixed and make the stay to anyone more comfortable. ;-)

  • Liked — the rooms and area
  • Disliked — didn't have air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magnusairship
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

noisy thin walled rooms, extremely rude senior management - time for a change in that department - I wouldn't stay here again if it was free - (also manager cleaned the rooms - somethign wrong here?)

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — having to be there
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jay hotels

New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

In hopes to find snow...somewhere...anywhere, my friends and I headed up to Jay Peak. We were not sure of the area, and happened upon the Lodge at Jay. From the point of check in to check out, we throughly enjoyed our stay. We found the staff very friendly and personable.
The rooms comfortable and very clean. As I walked into my room, the warmth of the afternoon was streaming though the sliders and the smell of clean cotton filled the room. I checked out the bathroom which was clean as well. I also found that the room was always stocked with bottled water, as the Town of Jay has very hard water.
The Lodge offers a full service restaurant, an intimate bar with a cozy fireplace, and a cool pub downstairs.
We took advantage of the continental breakfast in the mornings in which there was plenty of coffee,OJ, fresh fruit, and a variety of muffins. After a great day of skiing, we headed down to the pub grabbed some food, enjoyed the Vermont micro brews on tap(there are domestic brews as well) and enjoyed the comfy seats in front of a large roaring fire. There was also an area with pool tables, darts, and a stage for live music.
I would highly recommend you check out The Lodge at Jay!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleaniness of Lodge
  • Disliked — Having to check out
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

I've read the reviews and have to get the word out that this place must have, at one time, not been the best of places. BUT, as the owners have written, things must have changed. We spent a wknd there and I would definately go back. It was very neat and clean, coffee, juice, fruit and muffins were readily available to those of us who were early risers. The pub (Dirty Sallys) was an awesome spot to hang out with pool tables, darts, acoustic guitar one night and a great fireplace. The staff was not only friendly but extremely accomodating. We were treated like long lost relatives and hope their reputation gets the good name it deserves.

  • Liked — staff personality
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket,NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Spent 3 nights at The Lodge. Had a great time.
The upstairs bar is small and cozy with a nice fireplace. Service first rate.
The downstairs pub was a blast.. Great Vermont beers on tap,
pool tables, darts, a huge fireplace with very comfortable couch and chairs.
No complaints about the room. We had 2 queen beds, TV, clock radio, clean bathroom and plenty of heat.
Continental breakfast had some great coffee cake, muffins, fruit, O.J, and plenty of coffee. If your looking for more, check out the General Store right next door.. It's a neat place.
Met the new owners, very nice people, trying very hard to make your stay a pleasant one... Can't wait to go back..

  • Liked — location, fireplaces, great vermont micro-brewa on tap.
  • Disliked — the taste of the water.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

Sadly, I agree with the other recent posters...the Lodge at Jay was way overpriced for the room provided. We stayed in a two-level room that had 4 beds and while the space was adequate, the beds were clean and comfortable, a decent, newish TV...that is where the positives ended. The rooms were not thoroughly clean (hair in bathrooms, garbage under the beds, dozens of live ladybugs on the windowsills and worst of all, the water was terrible---undrinkable! It has iron or something in it that stains the toilet and tastes toxic. The breakfast was, as described by others, unprofessionally presented (I don't think the Health Dept. would approve) and not maintained thoughout the morning. We loved skiing at Jay (in this year of little natural snow in New England...they have it!!), but I would rent a trailside condo next time and not take a chance with another no-name motel.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Resort

Address: 1181 VT Route 242, Jay, VT 05859 (Formerly The Lodge at Jay)
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedarwood Resort, located in the village of Jay up on top of the hill, in the shadow of the "Peak". We just finished constructing "Peaks View", a 28 site full service Campground and now the renovation of the "The Bridge" Restaurant and "D'Cota's" Tavern downstairs, the property has undergone a remarkable change. All this under one new name, "Cedarwood Resort" ....It's all right here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedarwood Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.