We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - not so great accomodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jay Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Jay Village Inn to your Saves list
Jay Village Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jay Village Inn
1078 Route 242, Jay, VT 05859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Jay B&B and Inns
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food - not so great accomodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Both Breakfast and dinner were excellent! But the rooms are small, no closets, and even smaller bathroom with no bathtub. Mattress in serious need of replacement and sheets so old they didn't stay on the mattress through the night! Had a rain storm the night we stayed and the next day the parking lot could have doubled for a skating rink! I brought it to the attention of the staff and they not only were rude about the fact that I mentioned it - they didn't attempt to sand even after several hours. Took me quite awhile to get my things out to the car for I had to carry each bag individually to make sure I didn't fall

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room before checking in - some of the other rooms seemed a little larger when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, VT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Food, beverage and service are always excellent - we've never stayed in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

We traveled from Colorado to Jay VT for a hockey tournament. This inn was exactly what we were not expecting! With a team of girls the staff was more than accommodating with patience, support and laughter for all the stressed out parents and 16year old girls. The rooms are a tad small but perfect for our group. Our family stayed in the suite which was two adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom. Not grand in any way but quaint. The restaurant promises you won't leave hungry and three girls could feed off one entree with leftovers! Over abundance of food! Of course the best part of the night for parents was lights out for the girls and sitting around the fire in the bar talking about the day! Cozy, quaint and couldn't have been more perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

If you are staying at The Jay Village Inn for a few days you better hope for nice weather as the rooms do not allow one to simply hang out. The rooms are small and provide no chairs. There are no closets so you better travel light. Our bathroom was hardly accomodating. It did not have a tub and the shower was dated and extremely small with a shower head that should have been replaced a long time ago. The toilet seat was unstable and the sink provided no counter top for toiletries. Surprisingly enough, an envelope was provided so we could give the maid a gratuity. However, there was no maid service at all. The garbage cans were never emptied, the towels were never changed and we had to ask for more bathroom tissue when the roll was empty. This establishment appears to be recognized by the local residents for its restaurant. Unfortunately, it is necessary to go through the restaurant to go to ones room. A coffee maker is not provided in the room nor is complimentary coffee available anywhere on the premises. Needless to say, there is no such thing as a free breakfast here. As a whole, I feel this place is overpriced and there are much better accomodations, at a good price, elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have been to this restaurant several times over the last year or so. The food has always been very good but I can't reccomend eating here and I will not be returning. This past Friday night we stopped in for dinner. It was quite busy so we put our name in and were told that it would be 15 to 20 minutes as there was one table ahead of us waiting. We went to the bar for a drink and subsequently watched 5 parties come in and recieve a table over the next 45 minutes. We waited patiently and watched another party come in and recieve a table. We asked when we would be seated and were told we would be next. So five minutes later, we were told our table was ready...two place settings in the bar! If we wanted to eat in the bar, we could have ordered our food and drinks at the same time at sat there! We paid for our drinks and left.
There have been other problems in the past as well. Months ago we stopped in for dinner and ordered two entrees. Our food came out in a fairly timely manner, about 40 minutes. One problem, neither entree was anywhere close to what we ordered, i.e. salmon rather than haddock and steak rather than rack of lamb. We told the waitress that this was not what we ordered and she replied "well do you want it anyway?". Rather than wait another 40 minutes we decided to just take the food. When our bill arrived, we were billed for the two entrees we excepted, approximately $14 more than what we had ordered!
On another occassion we were one of only 3 tables in the restaurant and waited over an hour for our entrees, which was fine since we were enjoying our drinks. However when we finished our entrees and our drinks had run dry we were ready for our bill...or at least to be offered another drink. Rather, the waitstaff began vacuuming around us. It was only 8:30. If they wanted to close, all they had to do was bring the bill! Instead we had to wait 20 minutes for them to finish vacuuming in order to get their attention.
Good food but some of the worst service I have ever experienced. We will not be returning unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We and three other couples stayed overnight on a Friday prior to a VT Porsche Club event and lunch the next day. Both the dinner Friday evening and the lunch for forty or so the next day were very good with excellent service. The room we stayed in was not large but was very clean and had an excellent bathroom. It was an unusually hot night and the rooms do not have A/C. There was a very quite fan which we placed in the window. It and the very comfortable bed, though, provided a decent night's sleep. The common areas on the first floor are air conditioned. The prce was very reasonable and we would defitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Very nice restaurant given the location. Great food; great, friendly service (at least off-peak); attention to detai and good decor. Stopped in for late breakfast with the family and we were very impressed. Moderately priced iIif you want cheap food go to the country store across the road) with large portions.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jay Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Village Inn

Address: 1078 Route 242, Jay, VT 05859
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jay Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Village Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.