We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tram House Lodge -over the top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort

The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort to your Saves list
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Jay Peak Road, Jay, VT 05859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Tram House Lodge -over the top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here during the Christmas/New Years very busy season. The accommodations were fantastic...everything we needed and more. Check in was easy with valet indoor parking which was great with the sub zero temps. Great room and great view of the mountain. Unfortunately, the weather was so frigid we weren't able to ski too long each day however the waterpark more than made up for this disappointment. The staff at the Tram House could not have been more helpful...from extra decaf coffee for the non caffeine types, to fantastic servers and meals at Alice's Table. All of this during a time when the resort was booked solid and everyone was needing extra attention inside because of the weather. All in all we couldn't have been more please with everything about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived on Saturday Dec 21 to a mountain covered in snow...but it began raining...and the next day Jay Peak did not even open AT ALL. The management refused to give us any money back, although we had a ski/splash/stay package, nor would they give us tickets for the skating rink. So I ended up having to PAY to entertain my kids, after I had already paid for skiing.
The major problem with this resort is that is is literally run by kids, and people who have been working there for 5 minutes. No one is in charge, and no one can make adjustments. When my kids went to use the laundry room the machine 'ate' their coins, the front desk told them they are not authorized to give money back...and then put OUT OF ORDER signs on the machines. So the ENTIRE hotel had NO LAUNDRY. Unacceptable when the hotel is sold out for a holiday week.
The room was nice enough and spacious enough. It was quiet, and is as ski in and out as it gets. Daily maid service was awesome, and they did a good job. Keurigs in the room, which I guess is nice for some, but when you want a POT of coffee, or you bring your own delicious coffee and cannot brew it, bummer. Bring your own french press!!!! Or suffer with crappy coffee made one teeny cup at a time...
If you like the water park or the fitness center, be aware they are both a solid 5 minute walk through tunnels to get to the Hotel Jay...btw the fitness center is very well stocked and it saved me when the snow stunk.

Room Tip: I had a corner room and have zero complaints about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

First of all it was a cold November day in Vermont we arrived at the Hotel and parked with Valet service which was great and fast. Check in was quick and easy. Wife, 2 girls 9,6 and me were all suprised the room was great full kitchen, Fire place and plenty of room. We went to the pizza place in the lodge and kids though it was the best pizza they ever had. Then the waterpark it was great plenty for the whole family to do. Later that night we went to the Pub/Restaurant in the hotel soup was very good but took a long time to come out so we decided not to finish our dinner there. Waitress was great she said sorry multiple times she did not know what was taking so long. So we went back to water park and kids ate at snack bar area. Arcade was good to kids loved it. Later that night we laid down in the most comfortable bed. Lots of fun things to do there and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm not going to lie; I was dreading our stay at the Tram Haus/ Jay Peak (it's really one resort) after reading some of the negative reviews and the manager's comments on this site. (His comments made him seem like a jerk.) I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! We had an all around terrific experience! When we arrived, we were promptly greeted by the valets. The front desk staff was friendly. Our room was beautiful and clean. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and accommodating! The maids did a great job. Karen in the coffee shop was so nice.
My son lost his gold necklace in the water park. The manager Mr Rubin talked to the staff and they were looking for it with masks on! Impressive.
We all had a wonderful time and the kids loved the water park!
There is a 10pm quiet time. Some of the people in our party, their rooms were above the bar (3rd floor mountain view), it was loud until 1am. I guess if it's too loud you can call the desk and they will quiet things down. If you're worried about noise, ask for a different room upfront. Our room (3rd floor valley view) was quiet.
Also, they do charge a $15. Per night service charge. Is it a big deal? No but I agree with others on here-why not just include it up front?
Another minor complaint that I read, their website is hard to maneuver around. I agree. I never could find pictures of the different rooms. Is this a big deal? Not really but would have been helpful.
Also, the replies from the manager that I read on this site from Mr Wright were a real turn off! Please, it's such a wonderful hotel and experience; have someone else write those replies.
There was a wedding going on one day so we couldn't cut through to go from the the water park back to the Tram Haus. I wish the staff let the kids know they could go to the desk and ask for a shuttle. It was 17 degrees and snowing so going outside to get back to the Tram was not an option for kids who were wet and in bathing suits.
We wish there was a coffee shop/kiosk at the Tram Haus. And I do know my friend had a hard time booking the pizza party for the team in advance.
I brought up some of these MINOR issues because others had mentioned them on this site. Don't be put off! This is a GREAT hotel and water park. We had so much fun! We will plan another trip and look forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

What a great setting for a hockey tournament. Park your car and leave it for the weekend as everything is right there. The design/decor of the Tramhaus units is minimalist yet spacious and highly functional - lots of beautiful wood and storage. The king bed in the 1 bdrm was extremely comfortable and we loved the duvet & pillows. The gas fireplace is a nice touch for instant warmth and atmosphere. The price was reasonable but beware there are add-on resort fees. Why not just include them in the cost because you don't have a choice. Use of the water park and ski facilities is extra so I'm sure what you're getting for the extra fee. We got more room than we needed because there were no studios left but the room we had felt luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We travelled with a team of 13 year old boys for a hockey tournament and I have to say that the Tram Haus Lodge(s) were absolutely fantastic! They are like a mini-condo with one or two bedrooms available. You have everything there including a kitchenette with all the amenities including a coffee maker, pots and pans, ustensils and eating area, a family room (with a pull out couch) and in the basement you have a full bedroom with King bed as well as a washer and dryer. You can't get any better than that especially for hockey! We had room to dry out the hockey gear in the basement or wash it and lots of room to make meals or have people over. This is way better than a hotel room! We had a pot luck one night for the team hosted in one of the bigger condos and it went over without a hitch! The best part the shuttle back and forth so the boys could go to the waterpark or arcade at the main hotel and back without requiring any drives by the parents. The entire team was so happy to be at such a nice location and I would highly recommend it! BTW, if you forget any food items or liquor, you can always purchase store at the onsite store at the main hotel. Reasonable prices and a wide variety of items available for purchase.

Room Tip: We stayed in condo unit 4011 which was a one bedroom and many of the families stayed in the same uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Been to Jay Peak resort 3 times and tried both the Tram House and the Jay Hotel and The Lodge is so much nicer! The rooms have this cottage feel ans are really comfortable and well designed.
Just love the place.

Room Tip: Studios are ok if you are a couple but small with a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort

Address: 830 Jay Peak Road, Jay, VT 05859
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.