We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JAY HOTEL - Hockey Tournament / Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jay Peak Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jay Peak Resort
4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Jay
Gloucester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“JAY HOTEL - Hockey Tournament / Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just returned from a hockey tournament at Jay Peak and my son is already asking when we are going to go back. The rooms in the hotel were spacious, comfortable, and clean. Having a fully equipped kitchen was a wonderful way to save some $$ on food. The hockey rink is a short walk across the parking lot. The kids LOVED the indoor water park. We will definately return again soon!

Room Tip: We had a king bed and sleeper sofa in the living room. Lots of space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    117
    47
    25
    17
See reviews for
272
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My friends and I went to Jay's Peak for 3 days and 2 nights. I have to admit that this was a good hotel to stay in. We had the 2bdrm unit with a kitchen and living room. The check in was really fast and friendly they showed us where to place our snowboards. Our room was at the bottom of the hill and was a GREAT VIEW of the mountains. This was the first time of me snowboarding and learning on the SO CALLED bunny hill was a fun thing. By the time I was leaving, I have got the hang of the snowboarding and enjoyed the whole experience.

What put this hotel the over the top, was the fact that they not only take US cash. They also take Canadian cash as well. The waterpark was a relaxing thing to do after a day of snowboarding. Jumping into the hot tube and soaking those body parts that are soar from all the falling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bottom of the mountain, in the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in Jay Peak for 3 nights starting October 24th, as part of a Hockey Tournament that we played at the Ice Haus. Our lodging was at the golf cottages just down from the main complex.

Check-in was fast and friendly. We headed to our cottage and were very impressed with the quality and lay-out of this 2bdrm unit. It made it feel like home. To give a fair comparison, we recently stayed at Mont Tremblant and although there is more shopping and dining selections at Tremblant, the quality of the rooms paled in comparison.

The other bonus was the door-to-door shuttle service. Our vehicle was pretty much parked for the entire time as their friendly driving staff were there in less than 2 minutes to shuttle us to the arena or main complex.

Since we had a full kitchen, we were able to eat-in for the most part but decided to join some friends for dinner at the Clubhouse Grille. Super dinner, and super service..one of the best steaks I have had in a long time at a restuarant. Feedback was consistent from our table of 12, everyone was very pleased.

Arena was awesome with a canteen and alcohol being served. Hockey was great...sorry USA readers but our Canadian Team brought back the gold. It was a hard battle though and a tip of the hat to the Troy/Albany Team for a great game.

Does this stay beckon me to return. 100% yes. I would love to stay there in early September and get a round of golf in as the course looked great but snow was already on the ground. Kids really enjoyed the Waterpark and arcade too. It would have been nice to have an indoor pool for adults, as I am not a waterpark person but we knew this coming in, so no harm done.

Room Tip: Cottages along the golf course are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to Jay Peak for two nights, it was a case of wrong people at the wrong hotel. We were 47 over 50's,on a sightseeing tour who just wanted a nice hotel( which this was), but with a swimming pool for leisurely swimming and a jacuzzi after a days coach touring. What we got was a waterpark experience, which would have been great if we had kids with us, but we didn't.
Our room looked directly into the water park where the kids were shooting out of the slides, it was next to the generator room and was unbelievable hot and noisy. We got a move for the second night with no fuss , which was fine and and our view was of the peak, so we were happy.
The room was fine, staff very efficient and helpful.
There are a couple of restaurants which were reasonable.

We went up in the cable car to the top of the peak and walked down. For some unfathomable reason we were told at 10.30 am we could not go up the peak until 12 noon. By 11.40 they realised 40/50 people were getting frustrated waiting and they sent the first car out 15 mins early, as though it was some magnanimous gesture. Big deal !!! it was stupid keeping everyone waiting
.
I can imagine for skiers especially families this would be a great venue. There is also an ice skating / ice hockey arena, also a very well stocked shop selling food for self catering and alcohol.

There were quite a lot of ladybirds outside but not really worth mentioning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a coach tour of New England. Our third floor room had a view over the front of the hotel, towards the surrounding slopes. Very high ceilings, modern decor and lots of space. Very comfortable bed. Housekeeping were polite and helpful when I had a problem working the coffee maker (my fault - read ALL the instructions). No noise from outside car park or facilities, but unstoppable low drone from air conditioning (maybe not ours) all night and sound of running water from a loo cistern that never filled, although it worked fine.
Waiter forgot to place our dinner order in The Forge, so we ended up waiting an hour for it, but he was extremely apologetic and did his best to rectify when the mistake became apparent.
Doesn't seem to be a place for night owls- most places stopped serving at 9pm.
Surrounding area has a lot more development going on and signposting isn't brilliant yet. Local facilities in Jay village not really in walking distance, so unless you have a car, you probably wouldn't goo off site.
Seemed too be lots of US and Canadian families having a good time. We didn't have time or energy to try the pool or ice rink, but did take the 'tram' (cable car, to us Brits) up the mountain and walked down the ski slopes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked 2 night for a splash and stay package and after the first nights stay and a couple of hours at the water park, we returned to our room only to find that the chamber maid had stolen from my wife's suite case. The hotel management offered us a free pizza to forget about the situation! we opted to call the local police instead! Beware.....other hotel staff have told us that this is not out of the ordinary....it happens quite often! If you must stay, as for NO ROOM SERVICE.....Please! But better yet....stay away......

Room Tip: Ask for no room service....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoveUp_JPR, Manager at Jay Peak Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Mike, truth be told, it's unlikely you'll be invited.

While, we're happy to hear good constructive feedback, especially when we drop the ball, and we try avoid getting defensive whenever humanly possible, when you revise history, I'll be here to straighten the record. In fact, it wasn't a suitecase (sic) that went missing; it was your wife's exercise pants-which she left balled up in the bathroom among several towels and, subsequently, was picked up by housekeeping, inadvertently, and brought to the washing area. After being notified, by you, that the *pants* were missing, we searched low and high and found then returned them (a fact conspicuously absent from your pitch). As a result of your inconvenience, we offered you a pizza which you happily took. You then decided it should merit a free vacation and, after our Hotel Director, denied your request, you called the police (which, to this day, has confounded the local authorities given that nothing was taken). You then wrote to our President threatening him that, and I'm quoting here, you either credit me for my entire vacation or I'm going public and you don't want that.

Jay Peak is a special place Mike, staffed by special folks and visited by special guests and we're sorry that it doesn't seem to be a fit for you. We'll go ahead and standby the lion share of response posts.

Steve Wright
Chief Marketing Officer
Jay Peak Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for a long week-end with a splash and stay package. The golf cottages were spacious and modern but paper thin insolation means you hear everyone and everything.
Other than the lady bug infestation (which according the the staff you have to live with) we had an enjoyable stay. I wouldn't recommend the Club House restaurant as the food sounds amazing on the menu, but simply not worth the calories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Address: 4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jay Peak Resort to your Saves list