We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong hotel for Newmarket coach customers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jay Peak Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jay Peak Resort
Save
You added Jay Peak Resort to your Saves list
4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jay
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Wrong hotel for Newmarket coach customers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to Jay Peak for two nights, it was a case of wrong people at the wrong hotel. We were 47 over 50's,on a sightseeing tour who just wanted a nice hotel( which this was), but with a swimming pool for leisurely swimming and a jacuzzi after a days coach touring. What we got was a waterpark experience, which would have been great if we had kids with us, but we didn't.
Our room looked directly into the water park where the kids were shooting out of the slides, it was next to the generator room and was unbelievable hot and noisy. We got a move for the second night with no fuss , which was fine and and our view was of the peak, so we were happy.
The room was fine, staff very efficient and helpful.
There are a couple of restaurants which were reasonable.

We went up in the cable car to the top of the peak and walked down. For some unfathomable reason we were told at 10.30 am we could not go up the peak until 12 noon. By 11.40 they realised 40/50 people were getting frustrated waiting and they sent the first car out 15 mins early, as though it was some magnanimous gesture. Big deal !!! it was stupid keeping everyone waiting
.
I can imagine for skiers especially families this would be a great venue. There is also an ice skating / ice hockey arena, also a very well stocked shop selling food for self catering and alcohol.

There were quite a lot of ladybirds outside but not really worth mentioning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    131
    52
    29
    17
See reviews for
305
46
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a coach tour of New England. Our third floor room had a view over the front of the hotel, towards the surrounding slopes. Very high ceilings, modern decor and lots of space. Very comfortable bed. Housekeeping were polite and helpful when I had a problem working the coffee maker (my fault - read ALL the instructions). No noise from outside car park or facilities, but unstoppable low drone from air conditioning (maybe not ours) all night and sound of running water from a loo cistern that never filled, although it worked fine.
Waiter forgot to place our dinner order in The Forge, so we ended up waiting an hour for it, but he was extremely apologetic and did his best to rectify when the mistake became apparent.
Doesn't seem to be a place for night owls- most places stopped serving at 9pm.
Surrounding area has a lot more development going on and signposting isn't brilliant yet. Local facilities in Jay village not really in walking distance, so unless you have a car, you probably wouldn't goo off site.
Seemed too be lots of US and Canadian families having a good time. We didn't have time or energy to try the pool or ice rink, but did take the 'tram' (cable car, to us Brits) up the mountain and walked down the ski slopes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked 2 night for a splash and stay package and after the first nights stay and a couple of hours at the water park, we returned to our room only to find that the chamber maid had stolen from my wife's suite case. The hotel management offered us a free pizza to forget about the situation! we opted to call the local police instead! Beware.....other hotel staff have told us that this is not out of the ordinary....it happens quite often! If you must stay, as for NO ROOM SERVICE.....Please! But better yet....stay away......

Room Tip: Ask for no room service....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoveUp_JPR, Manager at Jay Peak Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Mike, truth be told, it's unlikely you'll be invited.

While, we're happy to hear good constructive feedback, especially when we drop the ball, and we try avoid getting defensive whenever humanly possible, when you revise history, I'll be here to straighten the record. In fact, it wasn't a suitecase (sic) that went missing; it was your wife's exercise pants-which she left balled up in the bathroom among several towels and, subsequently, was picked up by housekeeping, inadvertently, and brought to the washing area. After being notified, by you, that the *pants* were missing, we searched low and high and found then returned them (a fact conspicuously absent from your pitch). As a result of your inconvenience, we offered you a pizza which you happily took. You then decided it should merit a free vacation and, after our Hotel Director, denied your request, you called the police (which, to this day, has confounded the local authorities given that nothing was taken). You then wrote to our President threatening him that, and I'm quoting here, you either credit me for my entire vacation or I'm going public and you don't want that.

Jay Peak is a special place Mike, staffed by special folks and visited by special guests and we're sorry that it doesn't seem to be a fit for you. We'll go ahead and standby the lion share of response posts.

Steve Wright
Chief Marketing Officer
Jay Peak Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for a long week-end with a splash and stay package. The golf cottages were spacious and modern but paper thin insolation means you hear everyone and everything.
Other than the lady bug infestation (which according the the staff you have to live with) we had an enjoyable stay. I wouldn't recommend the Club House restaurant as the food sounds amazing on the menu, but simply not worth the calories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Moved rooms after the first one looked into the water park: interesting but noisy. Next room was 5 floor looking over water park roof with good view of Jay Peak. Good choice of restaurants and a grocery store. Recommend the golf clubhouse grill: friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and good food. Took the team to the peak: fantastic views 360. Walked down: steep in places: all ski runs in winter.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My partner, I and another couple visited for the weekend of September 27th. While this was our first time up there, the couple we went with had been here before. There are LOTS of good things to write about, but first let's get the so-so out of the way. We got to Hotel Jay after midnight on Friday/Saturday, and we were only able to get food out of the vending machines. Not the worst, but perhaps it would be nice to sneak a little snack shop open late. We were given a very nice suite except two things- one room had two beds made for kids (which were uncomfortable), while the other had a queen size. Plus, there was a nice little adorable field mouse in the room. Granted it was no NYC rat, but it was running around everywhere. We did however get it out of the room as it ran out the door. Otherwise, every single other part of the weekend was positive. We were given excellent customer service from the moment we got to the hotel and especially after we showed them the video of our little buddy running around the room. The water park was amazing, and the views were unbelievable especially at Jay's Peak. Plus, the warm weather made for a nice autumn weekend couples trip. The food was good as well, as we ate at a number of the restaurants on the grounds. Overall, I would certainly come back, regardless of the minor flare ups on the first night.

Room Tip: If you are coming up with adults and not children, call ahead and be sure to check the suites they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Jay Peak was the last stop on my Vermont Snowboatd Tour and besides going to the mountain on a foggy day the mountain was fantastic. Once again we encountered fluffy, powder and had a lot of fun. They have a lodge as well as a nice restaurant where you can go to get lunch and the food is great. I would highly recommend going here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Address: 4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 168
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.