We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jay Peak Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jay Peak Resort
4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Jay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

I've been skiing in New England for over 40 years and have always wanted to ski Jay. We spent 5 days there in one of the slopeside condos. We loved it and will be back before the season is over. Although Jay is known for being a hard core skier's mountain a friend who joined us skied for the first time and had plenty of terrain to keep her happy. My kids loved the glades. Not a place for those whose interests lie in the bar or restaurant scene. Posers will find themselves more comfortable in some of the southern Vermont ski resorts. If you enjoy skiing and spending time with your family , Jay can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    117
    47
    25
    17
See reviews for
272
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

We're just back from a 5 day stay in Jay Peak and I have to say we loved every minute. There were 3 adults in our group and none of us had ever been skiing before, and our trip to Jay Peak has turned us into true ski lovers.

We stayed in one of the luxury village condos which were beautifully clean, well equipped: TV, Washing Machine, Tumble Dryer, Microwave, Dishwasher, etc but no internet access (not that it was an issue as we were out on the slopes for the day).

The bar food in the hotel was lovely though the restaurant was very over priced for what it was. The Mini Mart has basic supplies but if you're cooking for yourselves you're better off doing a quick shop in Jay before you get to the main resort.

The Ski instructors are great and really patient. I can't rave enough about our holiday and I know we'll be back.

  • Liked — How clean and well equipped they were
  • Disliked — Heating was almost too hot and we had very little control of it
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

We just got back form a two night stay at Hotel Jay. It's an older hotel that's starting to show its age. The carpet in our room was a bit worn and stained. The decor in the rooms was very 1970's. Bedding was passable albeit with crusty nylon comforters. The whole hotel had a very "The Shining" vibe to it.

We had booked a room for two but were pleasently surprised that it came with a queen bed, a double bed and a single bunk bed! The size of the room was pretty large so it could have slept 5 people comfortably. The bathroom was very basic and we always had hot water.

The location of the hotel was perfect - right at the base of the mountain and relatively close to the cafeteria. Food at the cafeteria was outrageously priced (not uncommon for ski hills).

The hotel's amenities were pretty minimal. No coffee machines or small fridges in the room (we used our balcony to keep our drinks cold). No business facilities with computer or Internet. There is a cozy living room with fire place for lounging and a games room with a few arcade, pinball and vending machines. The hotel's two jacuzzi tubs and sauna were located indoors in the basement near the ski lockers...the tubs looked a bit grimey and if you value your genitals, I'd advise not stepping in.

Hotel staff were quite friendly and helpful...there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that we were able to get a free coffee in the mornings and a hot chocolate after a day of skiing. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast for $15/person.

My only complaint is that our room faced the parking lot and one night, they started plowing the parking lot at 3:00am so we were awoken to the sound of beeping and plowing. We will try to get a room that faces the hill next time.

Overall, we had a fantastic weekend at Jay Peak and Hotel Jay was a good choice for lodgings at the hill.

  • Liked — The hotel was very close to the hill.
  • Disliked — No amenities - no coffeemaker, bar fridge, Internet
  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed in the Deluxe Village Condos - 2 families with 6 teenagers ages 12-18.

These condos are owned independently and rented via the Resort. They are absolutely fabulous -- lots of room, brand new throughout, a bathroom for every bedroom, full and equipped kitchen, huge dining area, living room with gas fireplace, huge balcony. The 3 bedroom condo (we booked a 2 and a 3 bedroom) had a grade entrance to a cloak room area (undress, store equipment) and a separate living space for the kids. The condos were ski in, ski out, though not off the main runs, but certainly nicely accessible.

The Resort people aim to please -- we arrived at midnight during a heavy snowstorm and they escorted us to our condo, and even plowed out parking spaces for our vans. They are extremely accommodating and want to help.

The only drawback is that there is no hot tub except for at the main hotel, which we had to drive to (only 5 mins). Definately something that we always enjoy and missed on this trip!

The snow was great. Get up early and get out as the afternoon tends to cool down quickly as the sun goes behind the mountain. Cafeteria food good and typical pricing ($15 for a large beer, soup and sandwich). No food or huts on the mountain. A few restaurants in Jay (we enjoyed the Village Inn) along with a reasonably stocked General Store.

The tram was overrated, but you gotta do it once I guess. Kinda like the TTC (Toronto subway) at rush hour. When you think you are full, they pack ten more people in. It only goes a bit further than the highest chair lift, but faster and warmer.

A great family holiday, we will go back!!

  • Liked — First class, lots of room, everthing you need
  • Disliked — No Hot Tub
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Jay Peak is running a refreshingly honest advertising campaign. An attractive "older" woman relaxes in a bubble bath sipping on champagne...the caption: "I like black diamonds, they sound expensive".

In effect their pitch is that if you aren't going for the skiing, then you don't belong there.

We visited the resort after a very early storm brought massive amounts of snow to the mountain in early December 2007. The skiiing was excellent, but we were disappointed that about a third of the mountain remained closed on the first of our two days.

We stayed at the "Slopeside" condos operated by the resort. They are conveniently located with ski-in/ski-out access. However luxurious they ain't.

Our two bedroom unit had all the basics, but nothing more. The larger bedroom accomodated a queen bed and dresser, but was not spacious. The second bedroom had two twin beds, but the room was so small that the door couldn't be opened more than half-way as one of the beds blocked it. Living room was comfortable with a pull-out couch, sitting chair and coffee table. There was a smallish TV and DVD/VCR player.

The kitchen and dining room seemed fully equipped, although we didn't use either.

The bathroom was clean and functional.

Jay Peak Resort also operates the Jay Hotel at the base of the mountain, and there is a restaurant that serves a very good breakfast buffet ($10) and mediocre/overpriced dinners ($19-$26). Surprisingly there is no easy way to get from the condos to the restaurant. You have the choice of walking through the snow, across the bunny hill, or walking following the road (with no street lights) through the parking lot.

On the second night we decided to leave the resort for dinner. There was no information in the condo about local restaurants, even though that would have been helpful. We drove 4 miles to the town of Jay, and had a reasonable meal at the Jay Village Inn, although service was slow and inattentive.

You have to hand it to the marketers at Jay Peak Resort, they have taken something that could be a liability (mediocre accomodation and dining options at the resort) and turned it into a marketing pitch. Go to Jay Peak for the skiing, but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Booked a standard room at Hotel Jay for a recent wedding. I was surprised about how inexpensive it was, but decided that it must be because of the off season. When we arrived, the heat was not on in our wing of the hotel. There was a small heater in our room that wasn't working properly. The room was absolutely disgusting - the carpet was HEAVILY stained, the bathroom was filthy, there were dead bugs around the room and the beds were hard as rocks.

My husband has been known to stay in some pretty seedy hotels, and even he was mortified that this was the condition of our hotel room. Luckily, we were able to upgrade (for double the price) to one of the recently built condos on the property. The condo was absolutely amazing. The kitchen had granite countertops and stainless appliances. The whole place was impressively clean. There was a nice fireplace in the living area.

I would HIGHLY recommend the newest condos at Jay Peak, but do yourself a favor and stay FAR away from the pathetic Hotel Jay.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

We stayed in a luxury 2 bedroom village condo over the Presidents Day weekend. The condo was beautiful, bright and clean and right next to the slopes. My only complaint was the blankets which looked grubby and were about as soft as horse blankets! The condo was pricey but included lift tickets and easily slept 5 of us. While the condos are self catering, we went to the Hotel Jay for dinner with the kids one night. The Hotel looks kind of basic but the restaurant had a nice family friendly atmosphere - most of the kids were making use of the nearby gameroom/TV while the adults waited for the food. A word of warning - I don't know whether it was because of the holiday weekend, but reservations were definitely required - there are few dining choices in the resort and I saw some pretty frantic families being turned away. Oh and the food was expensive and mediocre at best - but after a few glasses of wine and with the kids happily munching on chicken nuggets - who cares!

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Address: 4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jay Peak Resort to your Saves list