We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splash and stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jay Peak Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jay Peak Resort
Save
You added Jay Peak Resort to your Saves list
4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Splash and stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Fun weekend away dining, relaxing, and enjoying the water park.
Very crowded at the water park, however that is to be expected. I recommend going in the late afternoon/early evening when the lines for the watersides have subsided.
Alice's restaurant for dinner and The Foundry for lunch and breakfast were tasty and modestly priced. The view from The Foundry was amazing.
Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I highly recommend asking for a room not near the water park as the music and whistles were loud and the mountain view was blocked; however, we were hardly in our room so this wasn't a problem.
The coupon book you receive upon arrival has some nice perks!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    149
    65
    34
    22
See reviews for
356
50
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

had a great time with ski and splash package although snow was sketchy and most trails closed. water park was small but comprarable to others in area and enjoyed by younger kids. had a great dinner at Alice's and not too pricy...

Room Tip: their check in process needs some help, my room was not in system alothough I had made the reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I went to Jay Peak for a weekend getaway, hoping for some good late March snow...unfortunately, what runs were open were utterly forgettable, so the snowboarding was out.

However, the new waterpark was more than enough fun to keep us busy for a full day; we meant to go ice skating, and maybe get out to drive around and see the area, but once we got on the waterslides it was hard to justify leaving the friendly confines of the park.

The hotel was absolutely beautiful, really modern and incredibly tasteful in all of its appointments. Our room service was impeccable, cleaning in the 30 minutes it took for us to go and get our breakfast from the great buffet at the Foundry, one of a couple great spots to grab a bite to eat. If there's one (slight) downside, it's that Mountain Dick's Pizza is pretty forgettable, but considering it's one of a TON of choices up there and very affordable, it's also forgivable. The affordability was actually the biggest surprise of the whole trip, you just don't expect to be able to get away with dinner for $50 while watching the lifts spin.

Well done, Jay - looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Water Park View!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the slopeside condos at Jay Peak for the third consecutive year. They are convenient, spacious and very clean. The snow was horrible but the mountain was struggling to stay open. We gave up skiing but were more than entertained with the expanding recreational activities- now including skating and a water park.

We love Jay, it is friendly and always fun. A little tough to get there, but a great place for a weekend or long weekend. The condos are always perfect for our group of 4-5.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretown, Vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Come to Jay Peak Resort while it is still brand-spanking new. They've done an amazing job with the new Hotel Jay, new base lodge, and the Pump House. What has stayed the same are the amazing runs on the mountain. We stayed during the record week of wamth in mid-March and the snow was melting fast, but we had fun spring skiing and riding on this amazing mountain.

What sealed the deal for us was that kids 14 and under stay/ski/swim for free. What a deal! But, with my oldest turning 15 in November, I would love to see a deal for teens traveling with their families. It might entice us to book another family vacation.

The Pump House is so much fun. Stay mid-week and non-vacation week to avoid crowds and chaos. And don't leave without doing La Chute! I was so scared to do it, but am so glad I did it. More than once. Quite the adrenaline rush!

We ate at Mountain Dick's pizza. Beer was good, pizza okay. The white pizza needs a new description - what was an "herb white" came with sundried tomatoes, mushrooms, and green peppers. But, the prices were right. I appreciate that Jay doesn't gouge visitors like most other ski resorts we've been too. Thank you.

We used to live in this neck of the woods and enjoyed riding at Jay. My husband is waxing nostalgic for the old Jay Peak, but I think the upgrade is incredible. The tasteful decor, super comfy beds, and friendly service will make Jay Peak the place to vacation in Vermont.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Pump House are quieter. Request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We are 2 adults and a 11 yo child - we stayed 5 nites in a one bed room suite at the Tram Haus - it included a small well equipped kitchen (bar fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, toaster, plenty of dishes and utensils, cupboards) , two closets with lots of hangers, a full washroom with plenty of towels and hair dryer, a sofa bed in the LR , two flat screen TVs , free wi-fi, ....... all of which was in good working order , clean and comfortable .

We had breakfast / lunch in our room and dinner in the resort restaurants where we found food good and prices reasonable.

Our package included ski / splash --- the skiing at Jay is awesome and the splash park will keep kids quite happy for a few hours.

Sound carries easily in Tram Haus but is a temporary issue.

Ski lockers Include locks --- are on ground floor with easy access to ski lifts which are right outside the lodge.

The locking "ski key" racks are there but barely adequate - looks like they've been abused ---the resort could improve this area .

Parking at Tram Haus is valet style and those guys do a good job.

Front desk was seamless -- room was ready when we arrived about 6PM --- checkout equally without hassle and the room / restaurant / bar charges were all accurate.

The area is remote -- the closest full service grocery store is in Newport about 30 minutes by car - there is a mini mart on site but we did not check it out --- suggest you arrive with food / libations as required .

Overall a very nice , well managed resort , good accomodations and great skiing -- we may well go back next year.

Room Tip: Mountain view nice if you can get it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

If it's been awhile since your last visit to the Jay Peak Ski Resort in Northern Vermont... boy, are you in for a surprise!!! Development has been astounding over the last couple of years. Two beautiful hotels, Tram Haus & Hotel Jay nestled slope side at the base. Both architecturally stunning, we stayed in the Tram Haus. Walk out the door to the Tram or Quad Lifts. Trendy bar and upscale restaurant (Alice's Table) on premises. Convenient ski lockers, coffee/snack bar. Our room was gorgeous, facing the slopes w/oversize balcony. Rooms are "upscale Vermont chic", well thought out, numerous VT hardwood displayed in doors, kitchen, moldings and other refinements. Stunning coordination of paint schemes, carpeting and tile, all in understated earth tones. Gas fireplace. Did not feel like a hotel or condo room, but exuded the warmth of a home. Extremely comfortable. Important mention: one of the big new draws at Jay is a state-of-the-art 85* Indoor Aqua Park, stunning! Accessible w/underground connection from Tram Haus > Hotel Jay, where park is adjacent. Numerous water activities, slides, pools, hot tubs, etc. Has to be seen to believe. I believe the kids prefer it to skiing??!!
The ski aspect is great, big mountain, surprisingly good grooming, tons of gladed tree areas to carve your turns. Resort has international flavor due to proximity to French speaking Quebec, and large contingent of very friendly Quebecois come down to partake. Bring your passports and cross into Canada (only 10 minutes away) for dinner one evening! Jay Peak has come into modernity... whilst remembering where they came from. Worth the trip, check it out...

Room Tip: Always top floors if possible. Booking deals online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Address: 4850 Rte. 242, Jay, VT 05859
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 168
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.