We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast paced sandwich shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop

Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop
22 Commerce St, Unit 7, Hinesburg, VT 05461
(802) 482-2345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Hinesburg
Restaurant details
Tampa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fast paced sandwich shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Looking for something that could provide both a good salad and sandwich. My spouse and I chose the Paisley Hippo based upon the reviews posted. I had the large house salad, my spouse had the Vermonster, which was turkey breast, Cabot cheddar, bacon along w/red onion, apples, arugula and honey-mustard aioli. With a diet can drink check was $15.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinesburg, Vermont, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Philly Cheese Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It you are looking for a Philly Cheese Steak and you are anywhere near the Paisley Hippo, you got to go. I always get the traditional with hot peppers. It is great. They have a full menu with a lot of other items, but I can say much about the rest. Call a head and your stuff will be ready when you get there. I love it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Subs & Snacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hippo combines a casual atmosphere with delightful combinations of delicious ingredients. The Paisley Hippo offers new twists on old favorites. Several variations of Cheesesteak and many other delicious offerings. Some tasty appetizers (macaroni & cheese bites among them) round out the menu. Stop by for a great lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Hippo Hits It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Okay, so you want a super fresh, inventive sandwich that uses the freshest, very best meats and veggies you can get? Well, look no further than the Paisley Hippo. Tucked away in a small mall in Hinesburg, the folks at the Hippo know their sandwiches. As soon as you walk through the door, you are greeted by friendly staff clad in tie dye shirts that will happily craft your lunch or dinner. I have frequented the Hippo on several occasions and have NEVER been disappointed, either with the food or the service. It is as clean and pleasant a shop as any I have been in, and found no issue with cleanliness or friendliness. If I know someone is looking for a good place to eat, I would have no problem recommending the Paisley Hippo to anyone.
Their menu is diverse and interesting, with daily specials that appeal to just about every palate. Their breads are fresh and the greens are top notch. Next time you take a trip to Hinesburg, look for the Hippo. It's well worth the drive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Subs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The sub I purchased was excellent; however, I would have liked to see the food preparers wash their hands/wear gloves before preparing. In the time spent making my sandwich-money, phones, and pens were touched before going straight back to making the sandwich. I feel this is unsanitary. I think the staff could have been a little friendlier too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.