We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brisket I Ever Tasted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Route 4 Country Store

Route 4 Country Store
3699 Woodstock Road, Hartford, VT 05059
802-295-7563
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Delicatessen, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: Route 4 Country Store Deli & Bar-B-Que offers Fabulous Food, served Fresh, Fast and Friendly! Our large BBQ Smoker is out front on Route 4, just after you exit at I-89. We have a Boars Head(tm) Deli menu, Bar-B-Que, Ice Cream, Beer/Wine and basic groceries. A main feature here is Vermont Chocolatiers, with some chocolate tempered inside the store and handmade fresh! We are EZ to get to ..Just off Vermont I-89 Exit #1 going North or South. Also close to the I-91 N or S interchange with I-89. Call us from the road to have anything ready for you and your group.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Brisket I Ever Tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

my wife and I went to Simon Pearce and arrived too late for lunch. We were disappointed and hungry. We would up at the Route 4 Country Store and did not know what to expect. We had their smoked brisket. It was great. We also had their lobster bisque.

The owners were very friendly and engaging.

This is the best roadside store I've been too.

We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    33
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You must try their pulled pork. The setting and environment is amazing, these guys are really excellent people and produce some excellent food. If you happen to be passing by, be sure to stop in and try something.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Look out Texas, Vermont's got bbq!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went here because we saw they have Boars Head products and thought we'd get sandwiches. We noticed the sign for pulled pork as we pulled in but Margie asked if we'd like to sample of their braised beef bbq. It was fabulous so we ordered sandwiches and they were great! The owners, Margie and Tony are very nice people and tho seating is limited on the inside, they have a nice front porch. Nothing fancy, very down home, but a great spot. Also chocolates, muffins, groceries. beer, wine, gift items, maple syrup, ETC. Great spot!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best BBQ in VT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

In my opinion, the Route 4 Country Store has the best BBQ in Vermont. The beef brisket was tender and juice, and the ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender. Tony and Margie are also amazing people: they went above and beyond to make us feel taken care of.

I would highly recommend stopping by if your travels take you through Route 4's territory.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Royalton, Vermont
1 review
“Great Food. Even Better People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This Vermont country store is a hidden gem. The food is stellar and the people are incredibly hospitable. Try the pulled pork... You will blown away!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 4 Country Store also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Route 4 Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 4 Country Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.