We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy cozy and good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mack's Place Eatery

Mack's Place Eatery
56 Townshend Rd, Grafton, VT 05146
802-843-2255
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Grafton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Comfy cozy and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Not much was open in Grafton when we arrived but that was probably a good thing because it led us to this nice deli. Their specialty is the cheddar tomato soup. My wife could not decide on whether to get a bowl or cup. She decided on a cup but wish she got a bowl.

I had the quiche and a side salad which was their special of the day and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Even better was the conversations I had with the owners since we ate so late in the afternoon there weren't many other people there.

We ended up buying two Moosehead lollipops and a package of homemade oatmeal cookies for the trip home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“quick and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

delicious food and a low key relaxed atmosphere...little wood stove in the corner with couches was a fun/nice touch

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“the best quality food in grafton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Firstly, this is a small casual restaurant with limited space. Don`t expect luxury. That said it is a quaint breakfast and lunch restaurant with wonderful soups and sandwiches , great deserts good coffee and cider and friendly people. And it is attached to a really nice gift shop with the local cheeses, wines maple syrups etc. definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Loved the owners and the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unable to find anything for vegetarians to eat in Woodstock, we ventured onward with our dogs to Grafton. Mack's Place Eatery was the perfect solution to our problem. Outdoor dining (both a cute patio and a picnic table) and vegetarian options. My husband and I both had veggie burgers with sauteed onions on a Portuguese "muffin." Really delicious. But the best part... the people who work there, who I believe are also the owners. They were so friendly and accomodating. Offered water for our dogs. Came out one at a time to check on us at the picnic table, and to visit with our mutts. AND it wasn't as if they had nothing else to do. The restaurant was busy! On our next visit to Vermont, this will be a must stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the third time we've eaten here. Our first two experiences were more positive, but this time was very disappointing. Seating is ridiculously limited so we wound up holding our dishes in our laps while sitting in stuffed chairs in front of a wood stove (not operating). While they advertise that breakfast is available until 1:00, at 11:45 we were told they had switched to lunch only. We ordered BLT's which were served on the thinnest slices of bread I've seen. It was nice that the cheese shop next door was having a free sampling because the skimpy sandwiches were in no way filling. Time to look for another restautant in the Grafton area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mack's Place Eatery also viewed

Been to Mack's Place Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mack's Place Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.