We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages

Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages to your Saves list
Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   520 Route 5 South, Fairlee, VT 05045   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
Simsbury, CT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We discovered Silver Maple Lodge's website and their Balloon weekend package. The photos on their site give you an accurate view of their charming establishment.
The Inn is easy to find, right on Rt 5, not far from I- 91. This not only made it easy to get to Vermont attractions, but saved on traveling time and gas expense. We found a lot to do right in Fairlee, in addition to our balloon ride.
Our cottage was comfortable, homey, immaculate, just what we were looking for.
Excellent Value for the dollar! We will be going again.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We recently stayed in this "historic" B&B and to say the least we were disappointed. The "Roar" of Interstate 91 was clearly heard on the back of the property as well as US 5 which adjoined the front. If traffic roar is what you look for in a "Country Inn or B&B" you'll love this place.
The staff was practically non-existent and although not rude was not helpful. The cabins were decent and clean. Breakfast was stale sweet rolls and juice and coffee. When we indicated our disappointed the response of the owner was "too bad".
There are so many wonderful country Inns in Vermont it's too bad we made a poor selection.
Hopefully our review will give other travelers a "heads up".
Paul and Lori Whidbey Island, WA

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

This quintessetial Vermont Guest house and Cabin is conveniently located just off I-91 in the scenic Connecticut River Valley. Scott, the Innkeeper, is very helpful and accomodating. We stayed with an out-of-town group attending a wedding where the parents hosted a pre-celebration bar-b-que on the lovely grounds. The cabins are clean, spacious and comfortable. The continental breakfast is fairly basic but welcomed. A few of the cabins back up to the expressway but noise is not a factor if you keep the rear windows closed at night. Overall, a very nice facility at a very attractive price. Everybody in our group had a great time. Highly recommended for reunions, weddings and other events. The bar-b-que was catered by Maple Street Catering in White River Junction and the tent, tables and chairs were provided by the local fire department. The whole thing could not have been nicer.

There is lots to do nearly including Fairlee and Morley lakes. The golf course at the Morley Resort is very picturesque and somewhat challenging, especially on the back 9. The ice cream stand (Utter Delight) behind the "Wings" convenience store is to die for. Forget the trip to Ben and Jerry's. This place is a must stop,. The Maple Walnot is incredable. The "Third Rail" Restaurant in Fairlee and The "Exit" Italian Restaurant up the road in Bradford are also worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

We enjoyed our stay in one of the quaint cottages, and appreciated that it came with a microwave and small refrigerator. Scott, the host, was very friendly and made us feel welcome.

However, we were surprised to realize that we were so close to the interstate highway, which definitely detracted from the experience. And the homebaked rolls for breakfast looked suspiciously like they had been taken out of a package and heated in the oven.

Overall, the stay was fine and it was a good value. Next time, I would look for someplace farther from the highway though.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

My wife and I recently headed north from Connecticut for an overnight stay in Vermont. I stumbled upon the website for the Silver Maple Lodge and the prices seemed reasonable (especially the off-season “Last Minute Special” rate). Especially important for us is that a few of the cottages have fireplaces and all are pet-friendly.
The place is located by the highway, but the windows keep out the traffic noise. But when opened, it’s noisy. This could be a potential pitfall if visiting during the summer. But overall the cottages were delightful — quaint but also very modern. The wood even comes prestacked in the fireplace with newspaper and kindling, and they leave a bundle on the porch as replacement. The cottages are not separate, rather they are 2 adjoined units. Even so, noise from neighbors isn’t an issue as the walls are quite thick.
Scott, the owner, is a wonderful host. Very helpful. And Fairlee is convenient to Lake Morey, fine hiking trails, Dartmouth University and the beautiful Quichee Gorge area. Also, Montpelier is about a 45-minute drive away. The only major snag we ran into is almost everything in town (which isn’t a lot) closes early. Our dinner plans became whatever we could scrounge at the nearby gas station, as Leda’s, the restaurant next door, closed at 8. Other than that, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages

Address: 520 Route 5 South, Fairlee, VT 05045
Location: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.