We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Morey Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Morey Resort to your Saves list
Lake Morey Resort
1 Clubhouse Road, I-91, Exit 15, Lake Morey, Fairlee, VT 05045   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
Barre, VT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our organization just held a conference for 140 people here. Got many compliments throughout the day about how helpful the staff was for setting up meeting rooms and vendor tables, to how good the food was, to how nice the rooms were (for an older upgraded New England resort). Technology ran smoothly in all the breakout rooms and came with the assurance of a staff techie. WE hadn't been to this side of the state for a few years, but will be coming back soon. A sunny day along the lake gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
And we greatly appreciate your patronage.


Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
37
42
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have attended the Girls Weekend at Lake Morey. There have been several upgrades done in the hotel rooms which have made the rooms nicer. We stayed in a Jr. Suite. There is two beds and a pullout sofa. There is tv, a desk with two chairs, two soft chairs with a lamp table and a balcony. The door to the balcony was very hard to open but the management said that these doors were slated to be replaced this year. We also requested a fridge, it is small but average size for a hotel room. The bathroom is large with two sinks, toilet and large tub/shower,closet in the bathroom with iron and ironing board. There is a hair dryer but it does not have alot of power. There is also a closet right near the door. The room is very nice in appearance and the beds are comfortable.
The hotel is very old but this gives it alot of character. There are all types of hallways and rooms. For Girls Weekend there is alot of classes held all over the hotel. It is a very fun weekend which is all inclusive in price. It begins Thursday evening, all day Friday and Saturday and morning on Sunday. Meals are included: breakfast Fri, Sat and Sun and dinner Thurs, Fri and Sat. The food is very good. The breakfasts and one dinner is buffet and two of the dinners are sit down order off menu. For these meals there is two or three appetizers, two salad, about four entrees to select and then desserts to pick from also.
I did think that I enjoyed the 1st time I went more since everything was new to me. The 2nd year alot of the classes are either the same of similar to the year before. It is more fun if you can go with alot of girls you know. Overall a very fun experience.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
I felt like I stepped back in time but also with the new updates, was very comfortable also. There is a pool and hot tub. I did not care for the hot tub but I did enjoy the pool. It is rather small so I would imagine if there were alot of kids staying there it could get very crowded. However for Girls weekend this is not a concern.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best Suites and Jr Suites offer alot of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for your review. The Ladies Weekends are always a blast. We try to mix up the classes each year in order to keep it fresh for returning ladies. We get a lot of our class ideas from the satisfaction surveys ladies fill out highlighting their experience. You actually stayed in one of our Terrace Rooms as we do have Junior Suites but are situated differently from your description. I try to strike a balance with technology and the expected conveniences of today's world but at the same time keeping the character and charm of an old building.
Anyway we hope to see you next year, and any class suggestions for this weekend are always appreciated.


Thank You,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Lake Morey Inn. We chose it primarily because of the skating trail on it's lake, 4.5 miles of skating trail. It was completely awesome even when it was 15 degrees. I chose a room that had a lake front view instead of the larger room that was the same cost. The room was very small but so worth the view. What I found to be very disappointing was that there wasn't a refrigerator in the room? But you could pay an extra fee to have one? The staff was very accommodating. We stayed over Superbowl Sunday into Monday. Well I guess we were one of only a few guests that had booked, however, when I woke up in the morning there was the hot coffee brewing in the lobby. I was so appreciative. Pool area along with hot tub were very date and a little blah-there is a reason they don't have a picture of them on their website, although it worked fine for us and our kids. Restaurant was closed while we were there, but did read it was a little pricey anyways. Continental breakfast would be a great addition. Despite these minor issues, it was location, location, location-on the lake with the skating trail and hockey rinks was something special and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a lake front room, just amazing to watch skaters skating around the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Kevin,

Please be aware we do have large lake view rooms with balconies (Terrace Section). Though we cannot place refridgerators in every room, they are available. I never want to 'nickle and dime' our guests, and I apologize for trying to do so with this extra fee. From this point forward we will not charge for this item. Though the budget will not allow a stick of dynamite to be placed in the pool and the subsequent rebuild, we will be doing some touch-up work which should show an improvement.

I'm pleased you will return and lets hope for another cold, snowy winter.

Thanks,
Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my 3rd year in a row going to the winter carnival. Lots to do for the kids and the adults. We rented a Terrace room for the first time . Very large with a great view of the lake! This is an old hotel with a lot of charm.I have seen a few reviews were people whined about petty things go stay in a big chain hotel. I go away to relax and thats what you get at Lake Morey Resort! Wireless worked great also. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Jr suite has a cool living room but no view. Terrace rooms are huge with awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for taking part in winter carnival once again. I must say the winter weather cooperated this year providing for ideal skate and ski conditions throughout the season. This hotel is held together by more than just screws, nails, and wood. The charm is a result of decades of caring family ownership. When these walls talk, and sometimes they do, its stories are priceless.


Hope to see you again,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We've visited this inn 2 times in 2 months this winter. First with my husband to skate on the groomed 4.5 mile lake behind the inn and relax. The place closes down early when nothing is going on (front desk, door and lobby closed, locked, lights out when we returned at 10:30pm). The next time we brought our kids for winter carnival and we all had nice time skating, movies in their movie theater, family games, swimming etc. There is little to do (seemingly nothing) in the immediate area which is typically what we look for but I wanted to try nordic skating and found the clean quiet inn to be a bonus...also free skate rentals for guests.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We're glad you took the opportunity to try our nordic skate trail, and enjoyed our offerings during school vacation week. Lets put it this way, last Sunday I boiled sap into maple syrup- a six hour endeavor that consists of watching water evaporate (kind of like watching paint dry). So seemingly not much to do in this area?

Enjoy

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had a meeting in the area and had spent a night there a few years ago. I booked the hotel several weeks in advance but received an email that the restaurant would not be open unless I was part of the conference; I didn't think much of it. The night I arrived there were many people there for a farm conference. However, it ended the next day and when I returned that evening, mine was one of only 3 cars in the lot, and the front door was locked with lobby lights out. No more guests on my third and final night, a Friday. As a solo female traveler I felt very uneasy and did not sleep well. I wish they had informed me what their hotel is like in the off season and given me the option of staying in an almost empty resort. At least they still had coffee available in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Certainly at times it is quiet here at the hotel, particularly during the 'in-between' seasons of November, December, and April. I apologize you felt uneasy, though we do have staff who occupy the hotel throughout these quieter times to ensure everyones safety.

Happy Holidays,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed overnight recently and found the hotel desk staff helpful and pleasant, we were upgraded to a lakefront room, great view, room was large and updated, same with the bathroom, morning buffet was good, typical of most buffets and the meal voucher paid for the breakfast. We were expecting from past reviews to find a tired building-it was but the grounds were well kept, hallways could use updating, especially the carpets. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your input. All hallway carpets are being replaced this winter during the off-season. It will be an extensive project, but easier just to finish the task all at once rather than over a couple seasons.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you in the future.

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Morey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Morey Resort

Address: 1 Clubhouse Road, I-91, Exit 15, Lake Morey, Fairlee, VT 05045
Location: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Morey Resort is located in the picturesque Connecticut River Valley directly off I-91 (exit 15) in Fairlee, VT. The resort sits right on the shores of Lake Morey offering breathtaking views. The resort, originally built in 1905 offers 133 guest rooms with many different room types to choose from. In addition to clean, comfortable guest rooms the resort boasts an 18-Hole Championship Golf Course, Waters Spa, boating, biking, hiking, and tennis for the warmer months. When winter arrives guests can enjoy the Lake Morey Skating Trail, the longest maintained skating trail in the U.S. In addition to the 4.5 mile skating trail the resort also has a full line of Nordic skate rentals along with figure and hockey skates. Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, sledding, access to the VAST snowmobile trail system round out the winter fun. The Lakeside Dining Room with spectacular views of Lake Morey and the surrounding mountains serves breakfast and dinner daily during season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. We work closely with local vendors to provide our guests with the freshest ingredients possible. The Steamboat Lounge is open daily during the season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. Many nights you will find live entertainment from some of the area's most talented musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Morey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Morey Hotel Fairlee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Morey Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.