We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Essex the perfect backdrop.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Essex
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Essex the perfect backdrop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My huband and I were fortunate enough to be part of the "Downton Abbey Experience" last weekend for the Vermont Public Television Fundraiser. It was the ultimate experience in gastronomical pleasure and the Essex was the perfect backdrop. We drove in late Friday afternoon and the Essex was lit up like a snowy beacon, dressed in all her holiday finery. They really know how to make a weary traveller welcome with their polite staff, well appointed rooms and warm hospitality. Saturday night's arcade replete with the most delicious of meats, cheeses, breads, cookies and desserts was FANTATIC and the crowd rose to the opportunity with their level of enthusiasm, costumes and participation. The guests outfits were beautiful and everyone was caught up in the moment. The Sunday Brunch was out of this world and I am sure that no one who attended will forget this experience soon... Mrs. Pattimore eat your heart out...we have Chef's Arnd, Shawn and Christine.

Room Tip: The rooms on the end of the hotel facing East were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    251
    102
    77
    36
See reviews for
139
481
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed a night at this lovely resort. We took advantage of side by side massages which were beyond excellent and ate at Amuse for dinner and breakfast. We also consider ourselves "foodies" and were very pleased with both the taste and presentation of our food (rib-eye steak and lamb shanks) and an excellent arugula salad with pumpkin and pepitas. We didn't get dessert but when we left Amuse, the staff had put out chocolate/cherry cookies which we grabbed and thoroughly enjoyed. The only negatives: a rather soft bed and a somewhat noisy heating system you cannot regulate. However, the location, ambiance, and amenities outweigh the negatives and we would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, around the corner from the elevator (room 205) and it was quiet and eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A great Downton Abbey themed weekend. The food prepared by the Essex was fantastic. The rooms were cute and clean. The beds comfy. Did not explore the health club and pool. Maybe next time. The staff were very friendly and nice. Only waited a few minutes to have the room ready and the staff called me to let me know it was all set. The restaurants are very nice with a clean decor.

Room Tip: It was just one night so no great advice. A little hallway noise but that is typical. 219 no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Essex for 2 nights with my family but I wouldn't recommend it. Here's why:

1) The heater was broken BOTH nights. The heat was out of control! We had both windows open and it still felt like being in a sauna. The staff didn't exert much effort to fix it and did not follow-up with us about it. I had to keep calling throughout the night. They didn't even bother to make us happy by offering perks or discounts. Unacceptable!

2) Way too far from Stowe. Lets face it, if you're travelling hundreds of miles to Vermont and staying at the Essex to go skiing, then you want to be at Stowe Mountain but its too far. Its a 45 min drive (with good weather).

3) The staff was not very welcoming. They were nice, but didn't go out of their way to make us feel at home. For example, we were struggling with a bellhop/wagon full of luggage, but they didn't even open the front door to the lobby for us.

The good part:
- Its clean, has good restaurants and is dog-friendly

Suggestion: stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge. Yes, its pricey but worth it, and its dog friendly too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear James,

We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your standards during your recent stay.

There is frankly no excuse for your issues for the heater. I immediately made our facilities staff aware of the issue to ensure it is properly addressed.

Regarding our distance from Stowe, you are certainly correct. While we pride ourselves on being centrally located between downtown Burlington and the ski areas, we understand that people certainly like to be closer to the mountains. It’s for that reason that we partner (and offer discounted lift tickets) with Bolton Valley Resort and Smuggler’s Notch-- both of which are less than a half-hour from our Resort and offer world-class skiing.

Finally, I must apologize for our bellman’'s absence. I will certainly address that issue with our staff. It is not reflective of our level of customer service, and I appreciate the feedback.

Again, thank you for your candid review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are locals who haven't been to The Essex in years. We were very impressed and definitely plan to return. The food was amazing and the service impeccable. Our room, in the third story of the main building, was well appointed and comfortable- although a couple of things were a little shabby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here recently for a quick business trip. Got in a little before dinner and it was already getting dark out so couldn't really talk about any drive-up impression. The check in was fast and very, very courteous.
My room was a corner king on the third floor. My impression when I opened the door was "wow, that's a really red room". After the shock wore off, I was happy with my accomodations, as the bright colors on the wall were definitely not something you'd see at a chain hotel, which in the end, was refreshing. Everything about the room was completely adequate.
I ate dinner in the tavern, which was so crowded I couldn't get a seat at the very large bar. Nonetheless, service was very good. I had filet medallions and lobster mashed potatoes with a Switchback (local beer). All were excellent.
If you can get this hotel at a decent price point, it's a slam dunk of a deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently celebrated our anniversary and I found a advertisement on GroupOn for the Essex and decided to surprise him with it. It was more beautiful and elegant than the pictures made it appear. As soon as we arrived, the staff warmly greeted us, the white lights illuminated the whole resort nicely in the freshly fallen snow. The room was very nice and the pool/fitness room was great. The only thing I wish is that they provided a fridge in the room for left overs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa. As the Burlington area’s only AAA Four Diamond hotel, The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.