We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, had a pedicure, swam and soaked and steamed and saunaed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed, had a pedicure, swam and soaked and steamed and saunaed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Come early and spend the whole day in the spa and salon; eat lunch by the fire in your bathrobe. The women are friendly and skilled at what they do and the atmosphere is exceptionally clean and very beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    280
    119
    80
    42
See reviews for
155
532
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at this resort for a weekend in February. We took the cooking class and booked a day at the spa. We both had a great time! The food was fantastic and the cooking class was SO much fun! The spa was amazing, so calm and relaxing. I had the best facial I have EVER had and so did my fiance! We upgraded to a room with a 2 person jacuzzi and it was so nice! The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The spa is a bit pricey, but I felt was worth every penny! We spent all day there enjoying the amenities. We will definately be going back again! We will try the summer this time. Oh, and the staff are GREAT! Jason Butkus was fantastic and so was our chef Kerry :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Had a great weekend. The spa and pool area were top notch. The room was very roomy and comfortable. Enjoyed the bon fire and found the staff extremely helpful

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with some unique features - a cooking school and spa on the premises, as well as an exercise and rock-climbing area that I didn't see. My husband enjoyed his cooking class, and I loved my massage. I felt totally pampered. There are two restaurants - an informal tavern, and a formal one. We ate several meals in the tavern and it was excellent. The desk staff were very helpful. There are cider and cookies in the lobby in the afternoon, and a cozy library with a table for games. The room was charming and well-lit. However, considering the prices for the room, the class, and the massage, it was puzzling that there was a bottle of water with a $3 price tag in the room. Surely that should have been complimentary. The tuition for the cooking class also had a beverage fee added on (they had some wine during class) and a gratuity for the teacher - which all came an additional 50% of the tuition. I have taken many adult ed classes, and never had to "tip" the teacher. My main disappointment was that one morning, we ordered room service breakfast (it was excellent), spent a quiet morning, and then left around noon to go sightseeing. We made sure to remove the "Do not disturb" sign. When we returned that evening, the room had not been made up. We were told that housekeeping leaves around mid-day, so we missed our chance. We were stuck with dirty breakfast dishes, coffee mugs, towels, etc. until the next day (the desk did say they could bring us new towels if we wanted). There was no information about this policy, and I was shocked that a hotel of this caliber would allow this to happen. It ruined an otherwise delightful getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I'd never written any e-review, good or bad, but my stay at the Essex demands a statement from me on TripAdvisor. I can't speak to the hotel's culinary end; so I won't. I was there with some family for a 3-day ski trip to different VT ski resorts. For $380 a night for a deluxe one-bedroom, the place is highway robbery. First and foremost, their outdoor hot tub is not hot, maybe 93 F degrees. Hot tubs have to be 102-105 F. After two complaints, nothing was done to remedy the issue (and the pool? chilly -- shrinkage for sure), and in fact, the last night we were there the tub was closed doe to "frost-bite concerns." Think about that one for awhile, 'cause I'm still scratching my head. (We went in anyway for something to do.) The room's pullout sofa's mattress was right out of a 1950's prison exhibit -- totally concave, coils pressing up, beyond comprehension at $380 a night, let alone $89. And if bathrooms don't have vent fans, don't put smoke detectors right by the bathroom door so the detector's don't go off at 6:30 am, waking the whole floor, as ours did. (We forcibly disconnected it.) And a kitchenette with a dishwaher, a microwave, two-burner stovetop ... and no oven? Talk about a culinary challenge at $380 a night, with limited posts, pans, or accessories to boot. Carla and Kristy at the front desk were very nice and understanding. It ain't there fault. Kristy comped us a night and a decent cot without me having to ask. It's a shame that good employees such as them are left playing for losing management and ownership. the Essex is a joke at the rates they're charging. Heck, the Chateau Frontenac in Ville du Quebec is under $300 a night, if anyone wants a price comparison.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Excellent service helped save a getaway to the Essex resort.
My wife and I spent two nights at the resort. We stayed in the main Inn and our general impression of the resort was that it was nice, but not luxurious. The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately, we had a couple temperature issues throughout our stay: the outdoor hot tub was well below a comfortable temp for the first day (the spa staff informed us that maintenance would be addressing the issue and it was fixed by the next day) and we lost heat in our room the 2nd night. The hotel staff was quick to address our concerns with the heat and offered to move us to a seperate room, or provide blankets etc. for our comfort if we preferred to stay. The front desk staff also helped us with reservations and a few other requests; in general the service they provided helped to make up for any of the issues we had with the actual facility.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Was really looking to a getaway weekend here but it ended up being a rather bland experience sadly. The restaurants are great though. My main problem was with the very dated looking rooms--they appear not to have been updated since the early 90's. They just don't go with the rates they charge for the rooms which are not cheap at all. Nice big tub but with horrible bright flourescent lights in the bath I don't know who would want to take a bath in there. Not a very good bed either. I'm also not sure if it was the hot tub and/or the pool, but one was so over-chlorinated that even after showering, my skin burned by the time I got back to my room. Overall not a horrible experience, just bland.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa. As the Burlington area’s only AAA Four Diamond hotel, The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.