We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for the spectacular views and trail access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Mountain View Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Burke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Mountain View Farm
Save
You added Inn at Mountain View Farm to your Saves list
Darling Hill Rd., East Burke, VT 05832   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 East Burke B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Stay here for the spectacular views and trail access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's hard to overstate how sweeping and beautiful the views are from Mountain View farm -- it's a great spot for leaf peeping in the fall. The farm itself adds to the scenery, with multiple buildings adding to a classic landscape. We stayed in the Creamery, which houses the breakfast room and common area on the first floor. Our room (Westmore) was spacious, nicely appointed, and included a couch as well as a bed; while the bathroom was large, it contained a very small shower. Breakfast was a little disappointing. The choices were fine, but the hot food was not well prepared. Cold, wet weather prevented us from using the web of trails around the farm, but in better weather they would have been very appealing.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the Creamery, choose a corner room: they have more windows and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our second time staying at the inn. It is a beautiful, gracious place, homey, comfortable and classy.
Being there for foliage was exceptional!
Cait at the front desk was very personable and helpful.
Thank you for a tasty breakfast Sylvie.
VIEWS!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The purpose of our trip was to MTB on the Kingdom trails (amazing I might add) and this location has direct access to many of the trails which is what brought me to the Inn; I really did not focus as much on the place itself. What we found, however,was a truly beautiful and relaxing spot. The views from the property are amazing. The staff was wonderful and the home cooked breakfasts are just the way to start the day with several choices available and cooked to order. Each morning after breakfast we walked the property enjoying the gardens, animals and historic structures. The rooms, simple, clean and comfortable; all we needed for a good night’s rest after a day of cycling. Evenings, post dinner, were spent by the fire pit, gazing at the stars. It really was a slice of heaven and one of the most memorable weekends we have had. Thanks to Kate, Sylvie and Mike for everything you did to make our stay a great one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Inn at Mountain View Farm is in a stunning location in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. The grounds are beautiful with georgeous gardens everywhere. Our suite "Danville" was lovely and spotless. All staff were so friendly and accomodating. On our first night a bonfire was prepared for just ourselves and the one other couple staying as well.
The breakfast were scrumptous and served with a smile and friendly conversation. We even enjoyed the company of a cat greeting us each day on the porch of the farmhouse. My suggestion to the owners would be to update their website because the current information on the Animal Sanctuary is not accurate. There are far fewer animals and you are not allowed to interact with them. This is definitly not for families with children (not much for kids) as their focus seems to be more on weddings and catering events.
I would also mention that the mattress was wrapped in a plastic cover that was then covered with another plastic mattress pad. Unless you are in your later stages of pregnancy and afraid your water will break, I can't imagine the need for something so hot and uncomfortable to be on a bed. My husband and I removed it or we would have never been able to sleep on the bed.

Room Tip: The Danville and Peacham suite are tastfully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here last week to celebrate our anniversary and to do some biking on the Kingdom Trails. They have a mid-week bike special that is a very good value. You can bike right from the inn. Being mid-week, we had the place to ourselves one of the nights. The views are beautiful and the property itself is gorgeous. The rooms are nice, but we hardly spent any time in ours. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Michael for bike route advice and a shuttle to a trailhead! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you want a view from your room, try to stay in the farmhouse. The Creamery rooms, while very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was without doubt the highlight of our recent tour across the New England area.

Arriving at the farm was spectacular. It's hidden away up at the top of a hill, with staggering views of the surrounding landscape. Having been cooped up in small apartment in New York City for a few months, stepping out the car and into this space was like being given a new lease of life. I just wanted to explore! Luckily for me, the Inn not only has plenty to explore in the immediate vicinity (the herb gardens, animal sanctuary, fields...etc), it also seems to be a way station for various trails in the area - the Kingdom trail cuts right through the farm.

Anyway, once we made it inside, we were greeted by a very well kept (if slightly old-fashioned) interior. We'd arrived a bit late, so reception was closed, but some very informative notes explaining how to find our room and the other information we required had been left for us.

The public spaces around the inn - the sitting rooms, terrace and dining rooms were all fantastic. The dining room provided some lovely views of the farm, whilst the terrace had a stunning view of the mountain and was a great spot for late morning coffee (and delicious homemade lemonade).

Our room was perfect too - spacious, comfortable, quiet and relaxing.

One of the highlights was the breakfast - a few options, fresh juice and breads available. I went for the blueberry pancakes and they were delicious - light, fluffy, not too sweet. Really perfect.

Everyone we met at the farm was very friendly and seemed to genuinely care about providing an exceptional, tranquil stay for their guests.

My only gripe - and given the above, it is a minor one - is the price... it is a bit steep in my opinion, but given the environment, the food, the people and the atmosphere, they can justify it.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place enough. Everything from the young friendly cat (Dashley?) following us around being very affectionate, to the goats, horses, idyllic landscape to the food, rooms and people - all of it was wonderful and I will cherish the few fleeting hours i had to spend there for a long time.... and then hopefully add to them when we inevitably return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Beautiful property, We stayed in the main inn. The bathrooms wew small but were originally intended for single workers. If you turned the bathroom light on the fan (noisy) also came on. The rooms were pleasant but a little dated in terms of upkeep. Ragged wallpaper edges and chipped paint. We booked through a welcome center and were told there was a corner room available. After we arrived we realized there was only one other room booked and it would have been nice to have a choice. It rained overnight and there was a metal fan just outside our window which rain dripped on all night. Also, the room across the hall had a much larger bathroom. I thought the price was high for the amenities, but they do honor AAA .Breakfast was delicious. The staff was friendly and it is a charming property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Mountain View Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountain View Farm

Address: Darling Hill Rd., East Burke, VT 05832
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > East Burke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Burke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A working-farm with several barns, farm animals, gardens, hayrides and sleigh rides. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Mountain View Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.