We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Mountain View Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Burke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Mountain View Farm
Save
You added Inn at Mountain View Farm to your Saves list
Darling Hill Rd., East Burke, VT 05832   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 East Burke B&B and Inns
Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here last week to celebrate our anniversary and to do some biking on the Kingdom Trails. They have a mid-week bike special that is a very good value. You can bike right from the inn. Being mid-week, we had the place to ourselves one of the nights. The views are beautiful and the property itself is gorgeous. The rooms are nice, but we hardly spent any time in ours. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Michael for bike route advice and a shuttle to a trailhead! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you want a view from your room, try to stay in the farmhouse. The Creamery rooms, while very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was without doubt the highlight of our recent tour across the New England area.

Arriving at the farm was spectacular. It's hidden away up at the top of a hill, with staggering views of the surrounding landscape. Having been cooped up in small apartment in New York City for a few months, stepping out the car and into this space was like being given a new lease of life. I just wanted to explore! Luckily for me, the Inn not only has plenty to explore in the immediate vicinity (the herb gardens, animal sanctuary, fields...etc), it also seems to be a way station for various trails in the area - the Kingdom trail cuts right through the farm.

Anyway, once we made it inside, we were greeted by a very well kept (if slightly old-fashioned) interior. We'd arrived a bit late, so reception was closed, but some very informative notes explaining how to find our room and the other information we required had been left for us.

The public spaces around the inn - the sitting rooms, terrace and dining rooms were all fantastic. The dining room provided some lovely views of the farm, whilst the terrace had a stunning view of the mountain and was a great spot for late morning coffee (and delicious homemade lemonade).

Our room was perfect too - spacious, comfortable, quiet and relaxing.

One of the highlights was the breakfast - a few options, fresh juice and breads available. I went for the blueberry pancakes and they were delicious - light, fluffy, not too sweet. Really perfect.

Everyone we met at the farm was very friendly and seemed to genuinely care about providing an exceptional, tranquil stay for their guests.

My only gripe - and given the above, it is a minor one - is the price... it is a bit steep in my opinion, but given the environment, the food, the people and the atmosphere, they can justify it.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place enough. Everything from the young friendly cat (Dashley?) following us around being very affectionate, to the goats, horses, idyllic landscape to the food, rooms and people - all of it was wonderful and I will cherish the few fleeting hours i had to spend there for a long time.... and then hopefully add to them when we inevitably return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Beautiful property, We stayed in the main inn. The bathrooms wew small but were originally intended for single workers. If you turned the bathroom light on the fan (noisy) also came on. The rooms were pleasant but a little dated in terms of upkeep. Ragged wallpaper edges and chipped paint. We booked through a welcome center and were told there was a corner room available. After we arrived we realized there was only one other room booked and it would have been nice to have a choice. It rained overnight and there was a metal fan just outside our window which rain dripped on all night. Also, the room across the hall had a much larger bathroom. I thought the price was high for the amenities, but they do honor AAA .Breakfast was delicious. The staff was friendly and it is a charming property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We chose to stay here to break up our trip between CT and Quebec and we are thrilled we did so. The place is gorgeous....very well kept....and the staff lovely and very helpful. We did stay in the highest price room (reasonably priced and good value) and we are glad we did. Stay in the farm house if you can. The rooms in the main inn have small windows and are not as nice as the farm house. Pick up a bottle of wine on your way to the inn so you can enjoy it while sitting outside, with a fire if its cool, and watching the sunset over the distant mountains. Also, plan on mountain biking if it is good weather. We are novice mountain bikers and we loved the 3 hours mapped out for us by Mike, the chef. He kindly brought our bikes from the rental place in the town of East Burke to the inn so we could start our ride right behind the inn. Also, drive up to the top of Burke Mountain and hike up the fire tower for an insanely gorgeous 360 view. Willy's in town is a good spot for a casual dinner and is minutes from the inn. The general store is good for lunch. The only thing to double check here is your reservation....they did not have record of our reservation but fortunately they were not busy and we did not have a problem.

Room Tip: Select a room in the farm house if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the lodge with a group of friends this summer to ride at Kingdom trails. The lodge and its surroundings are breathtaking, peaceful and welcoming. The surrounding farm and buildings are idyllic and the common areas of the lodge make it feel like home. Breakfast on the veranda is lovely and a great way to start the day. The owners and staff at the lodge made us feel incredibly welcome and the chef, Mike, went out of his way to show us the trails and give us pointers. This is a fantastic place to stay for all types of people from a romantic getaway to a group of friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We just spend 3 nights and 4 days in the Great Northeast Kingdom riding mountain bikes and enjoying the beautiful Vermont countryside. We stayed at this picturesque inn that has direct access to the trails. We started each day with a delicious, hardy breakfast on the front porch of the inn. The views looking across rolling fields to Burke Mountain are incredible. After breakfast, Mike, the chef at the inn, gladly mapped out biking routes for us to follow based on our ability and we spent the day biking the best trails we’ve ever experienced! When we got back after biking, lemon aid and homemade cookies were waiting! In the evenings we sat outside around a fire and watch the sun set over the mountains. This is a wonderful, quintessential bed and breakfast, not a four star resort, so don’t expect king size, pillow-top beds, large bathrooms with soaking tubs and flat screen TVs. Expect a tastefully decorated, comfortable room with a small bathroom, a helpful, friendly staff; and gracious hostess/owner who loves the mountains of Vermont and is willing to talk with you about a property she truly loves. Can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: I suggest a corner room if you can get it for privacy and an extra window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Went with my husband and another couple Sunday-Wednesday in July for mountain biking at Kingdom Trails. The Inn met every expectation and then some. Perfectly restored & kept buildings, well appointed & quiet rooms, beautiful landscaping, fresh produce from the grounds and friendly staff. Felt like I was staying with friends vs. an at inn.

Mountain biking trails are literally in the backyard. Breakfast included was superb! We loved the "if you take it replace it policy" in the kitchen - great to see some places still operate on an honor system. Left our bikes unlocked in the barn - really nice.

Minor drawbacks, but definitely won't prevent me from returning: If you want amenities (pool, hot tub, full dining) this is not your place. However, good dining options are a 3-5 minute drive or 20 minute walk away.

Tip: Go mid-week for 20% discount on rooms, and includes pass to Kingdom Trails. The Chef, Michael, is also an expert Mountain Biker who is available to guide you through the expanse of trails. Also - loads of other outdoor activities are nearby. We kayaked and canoed in wetlands...gorgeous and peaceful.

Room Tip: Go midweek for best prices. Rooms are all very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Mountain View Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountain View Farm

Address: Darling Hill Rd., East Burke, VT 05832
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > East Burke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Burke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A working-farm with several barns, farm animals, gardens, hayrides and sleigh rides. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Mountain View Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.