We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend in VT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrows House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barrows House to your Saves list
Barrows House
PO Box 740, Dorset, VT 05251   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Weekend in VT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I spent two wonderful days in Dorset at the Barrow's House. The newly renovated space has a lovely modern feel, which I prefer. On Thursday night, we enjoyed a good (not great) dinner at the House's restaurant. Thursday is trivia night, so there were many locals there - a fun night! The next evening we dined at Chanticleer as recommended by Andrew (the NJ Glass Guy as I call him). The food and service were fantastic! Glass blowing was super fun as well. Overall, service at the Barrow's House was great. From our initial greeting by the friendly and helpful Jason, delicious breakfast at the Dorset, and our exit with another informative gentleman (totally forgot his name) this was a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask locals before venturing to local sites because seasonal weather variations may alter your plans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

For a number of years we had gone to the Barrows House for a spring weekend. We had stopped going for the past several years because the Inn had not been living up to our expectations. When we read that the Inn was sold and under new management, we decided to give it another try.

It was great! The rooms have been redone along with the restaurant and bar area. The rooms are upgraded and are very comfortable. The whole weekend was outstanding.

We will return.

Room Tip: We opted for suite with a fireplace. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Barrows was so accommodating - Richard and Linda both provided the highest level of service. Breakfast at Dorset Inn was worth the short walk/drive. Delicious! Newly-renovated and comfy beds and linens. Cardinal's Retreat was a perfect fit for our foursome. They even had a working fireplace with a perfectly built fire all set up. The thermostat was outside our door, but otherwise perfect.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innfan1796
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Another visit to Vermont this time for a ski trip. The Dorset Inn was sold out, so we decided to stay at their sister property 1 block away. What treat! It was a different look & feel than The Dorset Inn, but just as great. Rooms in the inn are beautifully renovated. Food is fantastic! It's a little more contemporary. There's a wide array of snacks & apps for more casual dining with many local beers on tap. We especially liked the truffled popcorn and the shrimp tacos. Take a hot toddy out to the fire pit after dinner. It's a winter wonderland out there! Service was very friendly. We saw some of the same staff we know from The Dorset Inn. The folks at the front desk were kind enough to upgrade our rooms. We decided we love both inns there in Dorset! Hope to be back this summer.

Room Tip: Some have fireplaces and jacuzzis. There are rooms in main inn and outbuildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Larks Ledge, one of the Aerie Suites, last weekend for two nights. Our friends, another couple stayed in the adjoining suite, Pipers Peak. We arrived late at night, and the inn made it very easy to find our keys and make our way to the suites. They were gorgeous, very rustic and romantic with nice preservation of its history(1800s).The two suites have an adjoining door that can open up, so we could socialize easily with our friends, yet still have privacy.The next morning we went for our complimentary breakfast and we're given a wonderful tour and thorough history of the Barrows House. Breakfast is complimentary for guests each morning, and is served at the sister location, the Dorset inn, a two minute walk away. We had dinner at The Barrows house and it was wonderful all around. We are already excited to go back to Barrows House, maybe to enjoy the patio and fire pit in the summer, or to a wedding there!





  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just spent two nights at Barrows House Inn in Dorset. Immaculate, warm and comfortable. Danielle who greeted us upon our arrival and started with a tour, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We stayed in the room called Finch's Folly, two sided gas fireplace, large bathroom and a very comfortable bed, just what we needed after a day of skiing at Bromley which is an easy 20 minute drive. The shared living room has a large wood burnig fireplace and comfortable sofas.The food! Breakfast was served just one block away in their sister inn, The Dorset Inn, and was included in the price of the room. Not to be missed, full breakfast menu, hot, homemade and delicious. At this time of year, the two inns trade nights serving dinner. Danielle made reservations for us at The Dorset for our first night and we intended to go into Manchester for the second. We went back to The Dorset the second night as well. The filet mignon was terrific. Everything was cooked perfectly. The deserts were amazing. The staff was professional and courteous. The restaurant and bar at Barrows House is very attractive and we look forward to eating there when we return, which we will soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I came for a weekend getaway (his Christmas gift) and it was relaxing and perfect. We were able to stay in Wren's Nest, which is it's own stand alone room with a whirlpool tub and fireplace. The staff was very nice and we were greeted with a tour. We ate at the restaurant, which is about a 20 step walk from our room, the first night. The food was incredible (try the duck confit grilled cheese or baked Mac and cheese) and the drinks were great (and strong). The next morning we had the complimentary breakfast at the Dorset Inn which is about a 30 second drive down the road. It was the best breakfast we've ever had. The hash with poached eggs and hollandaise was perfection. We also had dinner there that night which was very good. Dorset and nearby Manchester were so charming. Book lovers,like me, should go to Northshire bookstore. On Sundays there is also a wonderful farmers market with great local food. There were a couple negatives but that would just be me being nitpicky. The good far out weighed the bad. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway, this is the best place to go. I'll tell everyone to come here and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrows House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrows House

Address: PO Box 740, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrows House offers 27 guest rooms and suites located in the Main Inn and separate cottages throughout our 6 acre property. Guests can enjoy use of our pool, tennis courts, and outdoor patio dining -- complete with a firepit! Barrows House was recently purchased and the guest rooms and grounds have all been completely updated and renovated. We have transformed the Inn into a quintessential New England Bed & Breakfast. Barrows House maintains the charm of an old Inn while providing guests with modern amenities. Our newly renovated Gastropub boasts an expansive bar, craft beers on draft, an outdoor patio for dining, and nightly specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barrows House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrows House Hotel Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrows House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.