We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Inn

Dorset Inn
8 Church St., Dorset, VT 05251
+1 802-867-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dorset Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Dorset
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Dinner at The Dorset Inn…always a treat! All of us here love food and enjoy sharing that with you. The warm and welcoming ambiance of the historic red dining room and cozy New England tavern allows guests to relax and enjoy the food, the wine and the friendly hospitality. As a member of Vermont Fresh Network, we support as many local farms and businesses as possible. Our cuisine is an uncomplicated, bistro-style that demonstrates classic culinary techniques and traditions with regional influences and reflects the freshest ingredients available. To showcase Vermont’s four unique seasons, the menu changes frequently.
Boca Raton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Located on the lovely village green, you may choose to be seated either in the Tavern or in the more formal Dining Room. In either case, the food is delicious and ranges from a hamburger to a finely prepared fish dish, to a grilled steak, to a fabulous vegetarian entree, etc, etc. The wine, beer and liquor list is extensive and fine. The service is attentive and cordial. It can get pricey because everything is a la carte, but it is always delightful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner in Vermont!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed this past week for three nights at the Inn @Manchester. Based on their recommendations and previous experiences at the restaurant, we decided to take the short 10 minute drive up to Dorsett for dinner at the Dorset Inn. The Dorset Inn is Vermont's oldest continuously operating Inn. We have eaten there in prior years but the recent upgrades have made Inn even more beautiful. You have the option to eat on the front porch or in the main dining room but we chose to eat in the cozy New England tavern.The menu is the same as in the main dining room – you have the choice between classic Tavern favorites or the main courses from the Vermont Fresh Network. My wife and I both thought is a buttermilk fried chicken entrée, normally we do not get the same item but we were very pleased we did. It was outstanding. I started with the classic wedge salad and my wife had the Caesar salad – they were both excellent. The wine options were also very good. We enjoyed our dinner and will definitely return when we're back in the Manchester area. The Dorset in compares very favorably with any of the better restaurants in the Boston area. I love the old New England charm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We decided to have a special dinner and chose The Dorset Inn. Really all that we hoped for, super food friendly and efficient service and a selection do beverages that is truly incredible, great wine list ,a selection of single malt scotch that I challenge anyone worldwide to match all topped off by deserts that were awsome. If you enjoy great food and hospitality you have to experience The Dorset Inn.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarsdale, ny
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ye Olde Tavern Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It's a solid standby that delivers good food in a fairly stifling environment. The value is good if not outstanding though (like most of the places up here) the real action seems to take place in the tavern where the locals hang. Good mussels, interesting (and typically overpriced) wine list.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great dinner at the Dorset Inn. The dining room is filled with antiques and fresh flowers, really lovely. The menu has something for everyone, ranging from seafood to fried chicken to a few more casual choices like lobster roll and black bean burger. There is also a large wine list and a menu of specialty cocktails. My main course - fried chicken, was served with mashed potatoes, kale, and mixed vegetables - a heaping-full plate of tastiness. My dining companion enjoyed the lobster roll, which was filed with large hunks of meat. We had no room for dessert, which was regrettable because the dessert menu looked excellent! This is a place for relaxed dining. We arrived at 6:15 and left just in time for the 8 pm curtain call at the Dorset Playhouse, so plan accordingly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorset Inn also viewed

Dorset, Green Mountains
Dorset, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.