We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinco de Mayo in Vermont!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Inn

Dorset Inn
8 Church St., Dorset, VT 05251
+1 802-867-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dorset Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Dorset
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Dinner at The Dorset Inn…always a treat! All of us here love food and enjoy sharing that with you. The warm and welcoming ambiance of the historic red dining room and cozy New England tavern allows guests to relax and enjoy the food, the wine and the friendly hospitality. As a member of Vermont Fresh Network, we support as many local farms and businesses as possible. Our cuisine is an uncomplicated, bistro-style that demonstrates classic culinary techniques and traditions with regional influences and reflects the freshest ingredients available. To showcase Vermont’s four unique seasons, the menu changes frequently.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cinco de Mayo in Vermont!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Cinco de Mayo at the Inn was fantastic! We sat at the bar where I enjoyed Ancho rubbed, applewood smoked beef tacos with fresh pico de gallo, which were melt-in-your mouth delicious. My friend had the special pasta dish, which was also fabulous. Both were perfect with a nice cold beer on tap. The bartender was friendly and funny and had us engaged in conversations with other folks at the bar. All-around, another wonderful dining experience at the Dorset Inn!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cavendish, Vermont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Dorset Inn has been a staple in the tiny village of Dorset for many years. And their menu continues to be diverse, innovative, and delicious!

A group of professional associates met there for our regular monthly get-together, the Inn being one of our regular rotational spots around Southern Vermont, and once again had a wonderful luncheon. In addition to their regular menu, they also have a daily changing seasonal menu, dependent upon whatever is locally available for the season.

While most of the group had sandwiches or one of the daily specials, my only complaint stems from my meal. Having a fresh salad with a house-made dressing, it was delicious and definitely fresh; however, of all the meals it was definitely the smallest and not in proportion to the cost. What was listed as a 'luncheon salad' was definitely more the size of an appetizer salad, and at $10.00 was seriously overpriced for the amount of salad. And, in comparison to the others' orders of sandwiches and sides, it was very noticeable that my meal sized salad was the same size as their side salads. Something to keep in mind as you consider your choices.

The sandwich selections were definitely large and very filling, including a couple of the group who could not finish their sides after eating the sandwich. And all agreed they were definitely pleased with their choices.

For those going to the Dorset Playhouse during the summer season, it is well worth driving down early to have dinner at the Inn prior to the Playhouse production. They also have a fair wine list, with some interesting choices, at a reasonable mark-up comparable to most restaurants..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at Dorset Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are so happy that you have chosen The Dorset Inn as one of your regular luncheon spots and that you return on a regular basis. We have passed your comments regarding your salad on to our chef who will make sure it is handled from his end. We certainly want our dishes to reflect the care and thoughtfulness with which they are created and also to be consistently of excellent quality and value. This is very important to our success and is what keeps folks coming back again and again. We hope you look forward to your next dining experience at The Dorset Inn -- we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food -- fabulous room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Somehow reasonably good food with good wine served in a quintessential New England Inn setting with real log burning fireplaces just tastes better. I loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“On the way to the Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sat on the porch sipping wine and enjoying the evening, prior to going to see a play at the Dorset Playhouse. Was wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food in a quant town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food was fantastic. Could be the best scallops I have ever had. Make sure you don't arrive during their daily meeting because you will be waiting awhile for service. If you are going to the show be sure to let them know so yo will make it on time. The fireplace has great tables near it that adds to the romance of the inn.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorset Inn also viewed

Dorset, Green Mountains
Dorset, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.