We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not quite great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barrows House

Barrows House
Route 30, Dorset, VT 05251
802 867 4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Dorset
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wells, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, not quite great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The overall dining experience at Barrows House was lovely. I've gone here several times and each time received a friendly welcome and outstanding service. I would highly recommend their house salad and seafood or steak dishes. However, we found that some soups and the Mac and cheese plates just fell short of our expectations. The atmosphere is awesome; a beautifully revived bar and seating area and a lovely patio all alive with conversation. Would I recommend the Barrows House? Yes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at Barrows House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We appreciate all of your feedback on your dining experience at Barrows House. It always helps us to hone our skills and make any needed adjustments. Hopefully, on your next visit we'll earn 5 stars for food, service & ambiance! We'll look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good menu variety, patio dining was dog (and toddler) friendly. Truffle mac n' cheese? 'Nuff said ;)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New Blood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I ate here a few weeks ago for the first time with my girlfriend. The last time I ate here was last summer and WOW!

The restaurant and bar have been transformed beyond belief! The food was awesome and the ambiance was great!

We enjoyed dinner outside on the patio and later had after dinner drinks at the bar.
The scallops were incredible as was the steak frites! The beet tartar was also a big winner.
The blueberry mohito was refreshing and I enjoyed a number of draft beers served in well chilled glasses.

I've been back twice and enjoyed the food and service both times. A big plus for our area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All in one place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A group of us stopped by the other night to check out the new Barrows House. What an amazing surprise. Great food, cool cocktails, and a campfire! It was a nice touch at the end of the meal to sit outside next to the firepit and have an after dinner Drink. We will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I surprised my fiancée with an overnight stay for his birthday and we both loved everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had been looking forward to this surprise for many weeks. And everything about our stay was excellent. Our room was very nice. We stayed in the Owl's view.
We had hiked to Lye Brook Falls before checking in so We were happy to see the large jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. We enjoyed a nice soak before dinner. The bed was very comfortable. The pillows and down comforter were like sleeping in the clouds.
We had a delicious dinner and then enjoyed the outside fire on the patio.
Everyone was so friendly and helpful and helped to make this birthday celebration special.
We walked over to the Dorset Inn for a very nice complementary breakfast. There were several options on the menu. Kristen was our waitress for dinner and breakfast. She was very sweet.
We highly recommend The Barrows House. It truly is an beautiful country experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrows House also viewed

Dorset, Green Mountains
Dorset, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Barrows House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrows House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.