We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like China Moon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Moon

China Moon
72 Commons Dr, Derby, VT
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Newport, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I like China Moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We go to the China Moon from time to time. No complaints. Don't expect a lot of choices of real Chinese food. It's very Americanized but there are a number dishes on the buffet that are really good. They are constantly adding fresh food to the buffet the food is always warm. Very clean very helpful staff

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Clean place and ok service, but the most important was the food which was disgusting and cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I went shopping in Vermont, and try this american chinese buffet. It's a clean place and service was ok. Cheap place to 'eat'...

The main things was the food, which was disgusting, everything cooked in the same fat with cheap sauces, mixes of spices poorly done, so an horrible taste on almost everything. I don't know if their steam tables were functional but almost everything was warm to cold. Nothing hot.

We had to quit on our hunger. Volume seems to be their key of success, but not quality. They don't know how to cook. We enjoy much more taking an hamburger to A&W or something like that instead eating that kind of 'food'.

We will never go back to this restaurant. We have seen much better so many times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Chinese buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

American Chinese food in a rather large buffet style place with the AC blaring. Bring a jacket because it's cold inside. Atmosphere matches the temps and the food. Don't expect anything great - it's Americanized Chinese food, a bit greasy, lukewarm but no culinary surprises. However, can't complain for the price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rrver Jct, VT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“night with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Food was good, plenty of choices, food was very warm. the wait staff was very helpful, over all a clean placed to eat. We enjoyed our visit and would patronize this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Charleston, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great buffet! One of my favorites.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There is a wonderful assortment of food. First are the appetizers like egg rolls, shrimp, soups. Main dishes include my favorite Alaskan crab legs, along with many chicken, pork and fish dishes and a choice of several rice and noodles. Desserts are cakes, cookies, cream puffs, and ice cream all for a low price between $10 and $12 depending on the day of the week. Lunch is even less.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Moon also viewed

Derby, Northeast Kingdom
 
Derby, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to China Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.