We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1273 Vermont Route 105, PO Box 308, Derby, VT 05829   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Derby B&B and Inns
canaan,ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A couple of week's ago my wife and i went to a family reunion in up state vermont. We found a B & B on the internent and it turned out to be, lake salem inn, the first thing that caught my eye when we arrived was the way it was beautifully landscaped. When we met the owner's MO & JO they where warm and pleasent. We stayed in the wyoming room, which was on the 2nd floor. The room was warm and cozy and the scenic veiw of the lake was perfect. And in the A.M. the breakfest was absolutely outsanding. We would recommend lake salem inn to anyone. Thank you for a very pleasent stay. Joe & Deb

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

my husband and i stayed here for one night on our way up to quebec city. Mo responded to my last minute inquiry very quickly. we were getting in late so they left a light on for us and the keys in the door. the fireplace warmed the room and we slept well. when we woke up the next morning we were in awe with the view outside our window of the beautiful autumn leaves and the lake right outside our room.

we ventured into the main house the next morning and enjoyed breakfast with another couple that were staying there. the house was tastefully designed and decorated. mo and her husband were very hospitable and have a nice little place there. as we were just passing through, we hope to have the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the lovely Lake Salem Inn for a weekend with our 6-month-old daughter. We had an absolutely wonderful stay. Mo and Jo are fabulous hosts and the inn is perfect. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the inn is right on Lake Salem. The Library Room where we stayed was a large room with plenty of space for us and our baby. The breakfasts were delcicious and prepared with fresh ingredients. Mo and Jo went out of their way to give us directions and suggestions for the area, and were so accomodating and friendly. We felt right at home - even with an infant! We will absolutely stay here again and I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

To make the long story short, we were on a long motorcycle trip and found ourselves in need of a fine country inn. We arrived, without reservation, at night and found ourselves treated to hospitality and friendliness above and beyond the call.

Our room was apart from the inn offering us privacy and a nice view of the lake. The room was clean and comfortable. The main house, where breakfast and dinner is served, is beautiful. The meals were as outstanding as the surroundings.

There are kayaks and a canoe for the guests.

We had a great time with the owners Joe and Mo and their guests Jay and Judi. All in all it was a great stay and the highlight of our trip.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Lake Salem Inn is a fairly modern inn built with being a B&B in mind. The room was confortable enough but I don't think they need to have all the little signs stating "don't do this" or "don't do that," The owners prepare a very nice meal (bring your own bottle) at about $30 a head. It is probably about the best bet for food as the area doesn't seem to have too much in the way of restaurants. The conviviality of the other guests during the meal was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojoe, Owner at Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
A little note regarding our "notes"

1) We have a nice, tiny sign reminding guests to please only flush toilet tissue - this came about due to major plumbing problems in the past.

2) Since teeth whitening products have taken the market by storm, many of our expensive towels have been damaged by the bleach in the products and most people just aren't aware of this problem. Since the towels can no longer be used, we have needed to purchase new sets of towels.

3) Doorbell sign is there because you need to push really hard to make it ring.

All hotels, motels and B&B's have their own unique signage to protect their property. Hope this explains the little signs! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

My wife and I wanted a relaxing time after 2 weeks of busy activity. I specifically looked for a B&B that was in a less-busy part of Vermont, and tried to find hosts that were well-informed about the area and S. Quebec. The Lake Salem Inn B&B was a very good choice. The breakfasts were pleasing, and we opted for the (optional) dinner at the B&B for one of the nights - nice, varied selections from a modest-sized menu; very tasty, local ingredients where possible. Mo and Joe were helpful suggesting other things to do in the area, what to see on a lazy day trip to Quebec, and provided a canoe for an evening paddle on Lake Salem. Enjoyed meeting other guests, too. The rooms were well-appointed and the bed was quite comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — open scenic grounds and cozy environment
  • Disliked — our room was about 100 ft. away from the main house (and breakfast) and we had to dash through a morning shower to eat.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

First thing we noticed when we were showed our room is that there's no airconditioning. There is a window fan but when it's raining really hard like it was when we were there windows have to be closed. A ceiling fan would have been much better. Stifeling at night. We stayed in the Zen room. Breakfast is between 8-8:30. No room for flexability at all. Can't sleep in if you want to, and besides windows have no curtains on them to keep out the morning sun. When we left to go out for a while in the morning we were handed a key to the house. When we got back we handed the key back to Joe. Later that evening we went out for dinner. When we got back the house was locked up. We waited around for a time, then my husband went around back to see if there was any way to get into the house. We felt like robbers breaking in. The back door wasn't locked so we went in. When Mo got back her reaction was this is not our whole lives. We go out when we want. No I'm sorry--- I should have told you to keep the key until you leave. We felt like we were an inconvenience to them at times. We won't stay there again.
We did like feeding the chipmunks. The food was fresh but not anything out of the ordinary. Does not measure up to other B & B's we've stayed at.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — felt like intruders in their home
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojoe, Owner at Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 21, 2007
Our rooms are described on our website along with photos of the rooms. The Zen Room states specifically that it is a light filled room. Unfortunately our guests accidentally left their house key on our kitchen counter. We were unaware of this. We were very nice to them and they said all was fine. The back door is always left open and they simply walked around on the porch to get inside. We strive to make our guests happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1273 Vermont Route 105, PO Box 308, Derby, VT 05829
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it's time to escape the ordinary. Our beautiful inn is located on Lake Salem. Free use of kayak or canoe. Fish, swim, boat, hike, bike, snowmobile, ski, and more. Close to the Canadian Border. Breakfast included. Specials. Dinner available by reservation. BYOB ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Salem Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.