We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Colchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Colchester to your Saves list
Quality Inn Colchester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84 South Park Drive, Colchester, VT 05446 (Formerly Vermont Maple Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“average hotel, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed for one night. Our room was a little small and worn looking, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had our heat turned down as low as possible, but it was still pretty hot in the room. The staff were nice and the breakfast area is sunny and nice to eat in. This was a good price for what you get, especially compared to some other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do apologize about the heating situation in your room during your stay. We appreciate any and all feedback we receive from our guests. We hope you return in the future and we look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    135
    67
    52
    36
See reviews for
109
109
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We've been staying here on and off throughout Oct. while looking for an apartment and working in the Burlington area. Overall, it's been fine. I've stayed in nicer places, but they could do a lot worse. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The beds are reasonably comfortable, there's always plenty of hot water, and breakfast and wifi are included. Depending on which room you're in, the wifi can be a little slow. The breakfast is always the same and, with the exception of the waffles, its pretty mediocre. It's your standard free hotel breakfast of mini muffins, yogurt, bagels, bread, greasy sausages, weird egg patties and terrible coffee. They do allow dogs and one of the rooms we stayed in had a smattering of dog hair on the floor. The only time we had a noise problem was when we ended up with a connecting room. It was in that room that we also had a bit of an odor problem when our neighbor sprayed A LOT of really nasty cologne right by the connecting door. After that we made sure to ask for a non-connecting room. You can also get a room with a fridge and microwave at no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences your stay with us may have caused. Guest comments, whether negative or positive, are the best way for us to grow and improve. We are pleased to hear that the pros outweighed the cons. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The staff was very helpful and attentive, however, I am not sure that the "manager" whoever this may be, is putting much attention to the bed linens. Every morning we woke up with the contour sheets off of the mattresses. One of our group observed the staff trying to make up one of the beds and it was a huge struggle trying to fit them over the corners of the mattress. Complete your good service by providing appropriate contour mattress sheets. I heard another patron mention this upon leaving and she was told "they are working on it"...whatever that means. Just do it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. At the Quality Inn Colchester, we strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible, as well as our best services and amenities. We would like to take the time to apologize for any inconvenience your experience with us may have caused, and ensure you that your feedback has been heard. Our front desk, maintenance, and housekeeping staff are all working hard at taking the necessary steps towards correcting these issues. We appreciate your business as well as your feedback, whether positive or negative, guest comments are the best way for us to make room for growth and improvement. We thank you again for choosing the Quality Inn of Colchester, We do accept that we cannot meet every guests expectations but we try our best. Please give us another chance to win your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinned with Apathy, BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Quality Inn at Colchester has seen better days; the owners really need to invest in refurbishing this hotel. Despite its tired appearance the attitude and enthusiasm of the staff compensated and ensured we had an enjoyable stay.

Sadly the nearby MacDonalds also disappointed, but our waffle breakfast and accompanying cereals, juices etc the next day set us up nicely for our journey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I’m sorry for the inconveniences you experienced at our property during your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback as this is helpful while we plan for guest room and public area improvements. Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for your very valuable comments about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We regularly travel to Burlington Vermont throughout the year to sail in the summer and enjoy the outdoors in the winter and have stayed at the Quality Inn for at least the past 8 years. Originally it was a Fairfield Inn, then the Vermont Maple Inn and now its a Quality Inn. During the past two years the inn has gone through many positive changes under the leadership of Vik the hotel manager. The mattresses were changed, the breakfast room tripled in size and a workout room with decent equipment was added. The breakfast has been expanded to included bacon/sausage and eggs. Just recently the room furniture was replaced, the heating/air conditioning systems refurbished and room fridges are being installed.
Since we stay at the inn so often and there is a low employee turnover we have come to know the staff by name. They always give us a warm welcome and are attentive to our needs.
The inn is well situated just off the I-89 and is minutes from downtown Burlington. It is adjacent to Juniors Italian Restaurant, McDonald's and Burger King.
If you are looking for a good, clean, comfortable, moderate priced place to stay the next time you are Burlington then the Quality Inn Colchester should be at the top of your list. Maybe we will see you there! Nancy & Derek

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with our hotel and we truly appreciate that you provided a honest warm opinion. Our aim is to provide all of our guest with a unique stay and excellent customer service. We are glad that we have met your expectations and I will be sure to pass along the good news to the rest of the team. Thank you again and we look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Breakfast Buffet is a farce. The so-called eggs would be better described as hockey pucks, and the bacan and sausages were the most fat-filled greasy things we have every seen. Staff had to be asked to clean off the tables and resented doing it.
The room had dust all around the edges of the room and around the heater/air conditioner it was about 1/2" thick. Mold around the bathtub and the sink had no finish left on it.
A tired hotel in need of shut-down and total renovation, including replacing the current disgusting breakfast buffet. Mcdonald's is gourmet compared to this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We try our best to accommodate each guests needs. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring. Since your stay at our hotel, we have had some renovations and upgrades done. We are also under new management; and we have a new team of staff. We hope in the future you give us a second chance. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hotel is conveniently located close to Burlington. The only negative points were the noisiness of the room that we had: The AC (or sth. similar) outside the room was humming all night. The room was so clairaudient you could hear every waterdrop from the room above and water running in the bathroom. Horrible for me. My girlfriend slept quite well. So it might be a personal issue of me. However, the breakfast was great and the price even greater.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay at our establishment.. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the conditions of your room. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance department and we have taken further steps to ensure that this has been resolved. We are sorry for any other inconveniences you may have had while staying with us. Thank you again for taking your time to express this valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Colchester

Address: 84 South Park Drive, Colchester, VT 05446 (Formerly Vermont Maple Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Colchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Colchester 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary FULL HOT breakfast each morning, with make your own waffles, high speed wireless internet, seasonal outdoor heated pool, fitness room, 24 hour business center, 24 hour coffee/tea service in our lobby and fresh baked cookies served each evening. We are conveniently located just off of I-89 exit 16, with several dining options adjacent or close by. We are also only 3 miles from the Burlington Waterfront & Lake Champlain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Colchester
Colchester Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Colchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.